We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm-to-table at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Grass Grill

Sweet Grass Grill
24 Main St, Tarrytown, NY 10591-7623
914-631-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Grass Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Tarrytown
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Westchester County
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Farm-to-table at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although it looks like a standard river-town upscale pub, Sweet Grass Grill delivers currently trendy farm-to-table-seasonal-locally-sourced-sweetness-and-light offerings. I would imagine they pull in many diners surprised by vegetarian shepherd's pie and parts of the pig one does not normally eat. However, they do offer a number of non-crunchy granola items for those just looking for a burger and a beer. Speaking of which, credit to the purveyors for offering an eclectic collection of mostly local draft beers instead of the taste-free swill most major American brewers foist on our indiscriminate public. Well-chosen wines by the glass and a decent collection of the now-standard funky 'tini drinks are available served by a very friendly waitstaff in a adequately-sized dining room (2 really). In short, Sweet Grass Grill really rewards the foodie but is also a good choice for those less concerned about their chicken's upbringing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    45
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mohegan lake ny
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pretty Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sat To Have A Drink At The Bar Before Dinner. Both Bartenders Introduced Themselves And Wanted To Make Sure Our Table Would Be Ready. The Atmosphere Was Great, And The Food Well, Outstanding. We Starded With The Mussels, My Wife Ordered The Chicken, And I Went For the Pig Cheeks, Yes You Heard Me Correct. DELISH. A Must When your In Town

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Attentive polite service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I wandered in for lunch. We didn't have a reservation,. but they found a table for us anyway. The food was real good, and the staff was polite and attentive. My wife was able to find gluten-free options, and we goth enjoyed our meals. The pumpkin bread pudding for dessert was real good. The first time it came out, the kitchen put honey mustard sauce on it instead of toffee. We all had a good laugh about it, and they quickly replaced it with a fresh one. We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, creative, well-presented and perfectly cooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fresh, creative, well-chosen assortment of complimentary tastes, well-presented and perfectly cooked food; Wow! do not hesitate to eat here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A wonderful menu with vegetarian options and seasonal variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I appreciate not only what this restaurant represents in terms of sustainable locally sourced food, the end product demonstrated the chef's skills preparing each dish. The Seared Salmon with horseradish parsnip cream was done perfectly. I enjoyed the paring with brussel sprout, bacon, potato hash.

I happened to arrive early so the service was quite good. As I review the menu again on-line there are so many appealing dishes, items not typically found (like spaghetti squash) that I am looking forward to returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Grass Grill also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Sweet Grass Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Grass Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.