We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to celebrate a special occasion...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Castle Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An amazing place to celebrate a special occasion...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I took my wife here for her birthday and stayed in one of the tower suites. Truly amazing, huge, huge multi-room suite with views up and down the Hudson River. The pool area and grounds are immaculate and cozy. And let's not forget about the spa.... one of the finer spas in the country in my opinion.

As this hotel/castle is situated on one of the highest points in Westchester county, you can see forever and get a sense that you are on top of the world.

Stay here and you will feel like European Royalty from check-in, to check-out.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, General Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear seejoefish,

We are thrilled to know you were made to feel like European Royalty from check-in, to check-out when you stayed with us for your wife's birthday. Thank you for sharing how truly amazing, and huge your Tower Suites room was and that you had amazing views up and down the Hudson River. We are pleased to hear you found the pool area and grounds immaculate and cozy and that your spa experience was a wonderful one.

Thank you for choosing The Castle to celebrate such a special occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
27
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very attentive to all our needs. Staff was polite and made us feel welcomed at all times. The room was very clean and well decorated. We also visited the spa and had a very relaxing afternoon with stress melting away..the staff there was also wonderful I would definitely visit again and recommend my family and friends to stay at the Castle Hotel & Spa.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, General Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Hprc23,

We are glad we could "melt some of the stress away," as part of your weekend get-away at The Castle! Thank you for sharing how wonderful your weekend stay with us was and that our staff made you feel so welcome and was attentive to all of your needs throughout your stay. We are happy you had a relaxing spa treatment at Thann and that you found our rooms comfortable and beautifully decorated. We hope when you want to get-away again, we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were greeted by a Sara Nisbeth who was lovely. She gave us a tour of the hotel, dining area, restaurants and room. Her knowledge far surpassed any tour of any other hotel we've taken in the past. She was friendly and we felt at home. We asked many questions and she was able to answer each and every one. She is an asset to your staff.

Room Tip: Actually the tour showed a variety of rooms that would satisfy any person and if they can't fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, General Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Donna T,

We are thrilled to hear your visit to our hotel was enjoyable and that you were amazed at the elegance and charm of The Castle! Thank you for sharing that Sara Nisbeth, one of our associates gave a wonderful tour of the hotel, dining area, restaurants and room. We are glad her knowledge far surpassed any tour of any other hotel you've taken in the past and that you found her friendly and she made you feel at home. We will be sure to pass-on your glowing accolades on to her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A hidden gem in the hudson valley! Located in tarrytown ny i booked the mind body and soul package get away! It was the perfect package for the most relaxing stay. I would book the Castle again the next time I need to get out of the city for a day! Its the perfect location and the best services!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, General Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Missytraveler1221,

We are thrilled you found us to be a hidden gem in the Hudson Valley! Thank you for sharing that the Mind, Body and Soul package was the perfect package and location for the most relaxing stay, offering the best services. We'll look forward to welcoming you back when you take another get-away for NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful little spot to truly get away - not much to do at the hotel except relax. The spa wasn't large but absolutely gorgeous with all the requirements. The rooms were large and modern. We had some issues with the air conditioning but they fixed it ASAP. Jimmy was a delight at the bar.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, General Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jordan7T,

We are thrilled to hear you had a very relaxing, enjoyable stay with us recently. Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed the Castle and your room accommodations, the gorgeous spa and that Jimmy, at the bar, was a delight.

Making our guest feel welcome and well cared is our number one priority and we are happy to know we provided a relaxing retreat for you. We look forward to hosting you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed there for a few days last month. It was part getaway, part business. The hotel was really lovely and the staff accommodated our every need. We felt catered to and appreciated as guests. The room was very large and spotless. The main areas of the hotel are nice, quiet, and decorated with an old-hotel kind of glamour. The (smallish) gym and spa are modern, and luxurious. This is not a trendy hotel, but it ably provides some much needed respite from city life. In that vein, the hotel provided complimentary papers (NYT and WSJ) and delicious coffee every morning.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear rsm617,

We are thrilled we were part of a wonderful business and pleasure get-away! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff accommodated your every need, making you feel catered to and appreciated as guests.

It makes us happy to know you found your room comfortable and that you loved the decor and quiet of our hotel and that you were able to enjoy the spa while you were here. We hope when you visit the NYC area again, we can welcome you back. We'll have the newspapers and coffee waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a secret. I didn't tell her where we were going. I hadn't seen it in person either so as the car rolled up the driveway the experience was jaw dropping. Historic landmark so you know all is as it was with few improvements. Five course tasting menus compete with painted ceilings, grand pianos, chandeliers animals carved in stone on fireplace. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. Down comforters, comfortable robes (mine could have been bigger) room service. The spa was in a word enlightening. I didn't know what it meant to relax like that. Massive windows in meditation room. The massage was.. You guessed it great as well. It's kind of expensive but you get what you pay for I plan to get some more soon as I can.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear DYLAN D,

Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your Valentine stay and that both of you had such a wonderful stay and "jaw dropping experience" here at the Castle! We are glad from the decor, to your comfortable room you felt relaxed and pampered from the moment you arrived. It makes us happy to hear your spa experience was "enlightening" and that you finished your evening with a wonderful dining experience at Equus! We are happy your surprise was a success and we are looking forward to having you both back to stay again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Castle Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on sprawling hilltop acres overlooking the Hudson River, the main tower of Castle Hotel & Spa forms the highest point in Westchester County. Castle Hotel & Spa is a medieval-style structure that was meticulously transformed into a luxury hotel, offering guests royal-quality service, luxurious guestrooms, and the award-winning Equus restaurant which features Auberge-style, natural French-inspired cuisine. The luxurious new THANN™ Sanctuary Spa is an oasis of peace and tranquility where a holistic treatment approach aims to rediscover inner physical and mental wellness. Only 25 miles north of Manhattan, Castle Hotel & Spa opened as a luxury hotel in 1997; 16 years after being designated a historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Castle Hudson
Castle Hotel & Spa Tarrytown, NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.