We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything but the moat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Castle Hotel & Spa
400 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free use of Spa Facility
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything but the moat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Truly a magnificent place. The original castle has seven rooms: wait, they weren't rooms they were suites with as many as three rooms in each suite. The newer section has huge well appointed rooms with sitting, study areas. Add to all this is the splendor and ambience of the dining, hallway and the grounds and you can't go wrong. Especially if price is not an issue. You really get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good morning,
Thank you for choosing Castle Hotel & Spa for your recent getaway and for taking the time to write a review for us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our Castle ambiance and our 1,000 square foot luxury suites! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle and we are still working on digging that moat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Castle Hotel and Spa in Tarrytown, New York is absolutely wonderful! There are only 31 guest rooms, which makes the experience very special indeed. The food, accommodations, and staff are 5-Star! The Thann Sanctuary is the perfect spa! In short, it is perfect for anyone visiting the area, or just for a weekend get-away.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing Castle Hotel & Spa for your recent weekend getaway! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our intimate property, Equus and THANN Sanctuary Spa. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle soon for your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We arrived on beautiful fall day to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Prior to our arrival we informed the staff that our package included a spa treatment and that an "early arrival" will be accommodated See below email:

"This package includes a one night accommodation in a deluxe room, a four-course dinner for two in Equus, along with breakfast the following morning. VIP Treatment Room in THANN Sanctuary Spa for a half hour prior to your treatment and one hour after your treatment. You will experience a 90-minute Swedish Massage. Room taxes, restaurant taxes and gratuities and spa gratuities are included. (Beverage tax and gratuity not included).

Your early check in time is 2:00pm and check out is 11:00am"

Upon arrival the staff looked confused and mentioned we "cannot guaranty" early arrival time and that your room will be ready. Say what????

Role back the video tape. Perhaps some coordination was in order with the staff. Why send any email referring to any early arrival time? Only to have hopes dashed. So now we had arrived "early" cutting time off our first destination in Tarrytown to be sure we where with time for the Castle. So what would any way-ward traveler do? So I proceed to insist this is not what I was told via the email (see above). Asking for a "map" for the lay of land only again to be told by the staff "we do not provide any maps of the facility" Ok now by this point I am heated.

Walking around the lobby upset and not sure of my next steps I was fortunate enough to bump into a general manager by name of Gilbert Baeriswil. Informing us of our situation he immediately looked into our situation, and wouldn't know it..a room was ready. Thank you Gil.

Some suggestions for your staff:
If a couple purchases your "VIP Anniversary Package" and the price is nothing to sneeze at.
1) Accommodate the guest with smile and ensure that they will be helped. Not a confused I doubt that look.
2) Give the people a tour or preferably a map of the facility..buy some time Calm them.
3) Offer the guests some coffee or a treat, guide them make them know they are welcomed and you will do your best to be sure their stay is wonderful.
4) Finally do not "whisper" thinking your guests cannot hear you saying "Well, they should know that check in time is four."

Well that is our story the rest of the stay was perfect our SPA treatment was fantastic our meals exceptional and our room very relaxing. Thank you Castle and Gil for your hospitality.
The desk staff..well that is another story.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, General Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Good morning,
Congratulations and thank you for celebrating your 30th Anniversary with us at Castle Hotel & Spa.
We appreciate your candid feedback in regards to the check-in procedure. Rest assured, I have addressed with our staff, all this could have easily been alleviated and expedited.
I’m very delighted to read that you enjoyed the rest of your stay once we got you in your room.

Congratulations. We look forward to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

10/11/13 - Spent the weekend here in Tarrytown to celebrate our third wedding anniversary. We got in around noon and checked into the Marriott. We chose to begin our day at the Castle on the Hudson since it was still rainy out. The bartender was hands up fantastic, impeccable service!! This is definitely a $$$$ place. We had a total of four drinks and two appetizers - our bill was $160. What's can you expect, it's a four-star castle/spa!! When you arrive you have to use valet parking (just so you're not taken off guard.)

It was so good that we returned the following afternoon so that we could sit outside for a few cocktails and to gawk at the wonderful fall foliage. In the back courtyard there was a wedding taking place!!

Hope you have a good time and that this review helps!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Good afternoon,
Thank you for joining us at Castle Hotel & Spa last weekend. Your review is extremely important to us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed yourself so much you came back to join us in Equus the following day! We hope you come back to the Tarrytown area soon and join us at our hotel next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

My husband and I celebrated an important anniversary at the Castle Hotel & Spa and we could not have dreamed of a better experience. From check-in to check-out everything was magical. Outstanding service, warm hospitality, wonderful staff, amazing suite, great dinner, lovely breakfast outdoors on the patio - added touches such as champagne and a special anniversary dessert - what can I say? It was just perfect.

Room Tip: Stay in a castle and fulfill your dreams!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
We at Castle hotel & Spa are so glad to hear you and your husband had a magical time while at Castle Hotel & Spa and enjoyed your dining experience at Equus. We look forward to celebrating many more anniversary's together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

While the Hotel has a unique charm, the staff are trained to treat guests like they are doing you a favor helping you.
Given the proximity to NYC we were hoping for a better experience that we would want to return to.
The Spa treatments were expensive and did not live up to their billing. This Hotel seems to be better at marketing itself than delivering on what could be an awesome place.
This was one and done for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Castle Hotel & Spa and we apologize for the experience you encountered with our staff. We appreciate your feed back and take our standards very seriously and will utilize your feedback to address such challenges immediately. We hope to welcome you back soon and to provide you the utmost in hospitality at the Castle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was here for a wedding and I was stunned by this place and its grounds
From the Valet Parking to the ceremony to the reception everything was just perfection.
Food was outstanding and the staff very polite and prompt to help. This castle is also known among the Brazilian Community as the "Castelo da revista Caras" where they take celebrities from Brazil for the season and advertise pictures and people in a Brazilian Magazine known as "Caras" so it was very nice for me to be there since I'm Brazilian.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on sprawling hilltop acres overlooking the Hudson River, the main tower of Castle Hotel & Spa forms the highest point in Westchester County. Castle Hotel & Spa is a medieval-style structure that was meticulously transformed into a luxury hotel, offering guests royal-quality service, luxurious guestrooms, and the award-winning Equus restaurant which features Auberge-style, natural French-inspired cuisine. The luxurious new THANN™ Sanctuary Spa is an oasis of peace and tranquility where a holistic treatment approach aims to rediscover inner physical and mental wellness. Only 25 miles north of Manhattan, Castle Hotel & Spa opened as a luxury hotel in 1997; 16 years after being designated a historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Castle Hudson
Castle Hotel & Spa Tarrytown, NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.