We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend getaway from the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel & Spa
400 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY 10591   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tarrytown
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“nice weekend getaway from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a small group, including a young baby, and needed a hotel close to the city for a quick family getaway. Tarrytown is a lovely little burgh, great restaurants and views. Very quaint.

The hotel is very close to the center of town, but be warned - you need a car to get around. Parking, as far as I know, is free, but valeted.

Pros: insanely comfy beds! Large rooms, free minibar (drinks only), nightly turndown service. Nice continental breakfast included. Lovely grounds and pool area.

Cons: Minibar isn't restocked, not much difference in size between a suite and a regular room, not baby-friendly (they provided a crib, but it's not a hotel for kids). Window treatments are a bit heavy, so rooms tended to be fairly dark. DIRECTV service was out for most channels.

I wish I'd known about the pool - lovely little bar area. Restaurant is quite fancy, not the best option for vegetarians, and drinks were quite expensive.

My real issue was that check-in time was 4pm, and our room wasn't ready until after 5pm. We had three rooms and they were able to accommodate us fairly quickly (by 4pm) for the other two. We were offered sparkling wine upon arrival.

I think they ought to upgrade their bathrooms (eliminate the bathtub and put in a nice steam shower) and bathroom products - which were "wood" scented, by the way!

I'd recommend this hotel to friends looking for a quick getaway from NYC as long as they rented a car! Not a great choice for families, but excellent for couples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just 1 hour by Metro North train from Grand Central or 30 mins driving from the craziness of Manhattan is a quiet retreat; an old castle that houses a great getaway with attaching spa (see my review of Thann Spa.) The service here is exceptional though the food is slightly off on occasion. Enjoy a glass of champagne whilst you check in - to me, that's always a good sign of things to come! Plenty of facilities to keep you entertained over the weekend - tennis courts, a gym, pool, restaurant, but why bother? Just lounge in the beautiful gardens and watch the steady flow of weddings and cocktail parties that take place under the lovely old trees. People watching is so much more fun! Regular weekend packages on offer. And do check out the spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I arrived on a Very Cold Spring day with -15 temperature, and upon arrival, they served me a warm welcome drink with made me feel very much at home.
The staff are very helpful, and the rooms are huge.
The restaurant is beautiful but the food is only so so.
But it is only 40 minutes from NYC, so taking a short break here is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Visit Woodbury Common outlet Mall which is 25 minutes away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was a perfect getaway for a weekend. We stayed at the castle for one night and bought the spa package. the package included two 60 minute massages, deluxe room, and lunch on Sunday. When we arrived at the castle, they automatically upgraded us to a junior suite and told us the breakfast is complementary. both were very pleasant surprises.
The castle is gorgeous, the spa is luxurious, servise is gret. my husband and I were able to really relax and enjoy the place.
Since we had the Sunday lunch included at their famous restaurant, we decided to venture out for Saturday dinner into town so can't say how good their dinner is. but lunch was very delicious.
overall, we had a great experience!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon,
Thank you from Castle Hotel & Spa for your generous review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you and your husband enjoyed our THANN Sanctuary Spa Escape Package and that we were able to exceed your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back to the property soon! enjoy your weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

After Hurricane Sandy my boyfriend and I drove north to find gas, out of desperation. Unfortunately, we got stuck in that nor'easter, along with everybody else up in Westchester. After frantically searching the Internet on our phones and calling all the hotels around only to be told there were no rooms, we landed on this place called Castle on the Hudson. Not only did they have one room left, they held it for us for the entire two hours it took us to travel the 1.4 miles to get there.

After arriving at the Castle we were treated with an astonishing level of respect and kindness, even though we weren't at all dressed for a stay in a luxury hotel - We had left the city right after work. Everyone from the front desk to the bell boy was more than kind, they were human. And our room was exemplary - a beautiful four poster bed, a bose sound system, and a bathtub you could swim in, complete with terry cloth slippers and robes. The room was classic and cozy. A true respite after what had been a nearly 4 hour nightmare.

We both hope to go back again for a planned visit to enjoy this truly unique hotel.



*Tripadvisor didn't have an option for Nov 2012, so I had to choose 2013 to save the review.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon Tamara,
Thank you from Castle Hotel & Spa for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you got to our property safe and sound and enjoyed your time with us even in the nor'easter we were experiencing. We look forward to welcoming you and your boyfriend back to our property as we have recently underwent a $12 million renovation with the addition of a new Spa that I am sure you will both enjoy! Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

On the way driving to Pennsylvania from New England for a business trip, we decided to break the drive and spend the money to stay in a castle. The room was enormous, every bit of furniture was massive and solid, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Everything here is fairly pricey — the excellent Manhattan cost $22 plus tip, making it the most expensive I've every had — and the steaks in the dining room cost $49 plus plus. We weren't very hungry so we ordered sliders, which some other customers and the barkeep had praised, and they came to $22 — which actually turned out to be a kind of bargain. At home we purchase 3 sliders for $11, but these were twice as big, had a better roll, and came with fries, which at home would cost $3.00. The breakfast was among the best we've ever had in fine hotels in Europe, Asia, and the US.

An idea for someone wanting to take a 2-4 day vacation in NY and stay at a fine city hotel: If you're willign to pay, say, $500/night, it would be better to stay at the Castle, drive the 30 minutes to Manahattan, pay for parking and return at night. 330 Minutes isn;t much of a drive since it can take that long to get from one part of Manahattan to another or from Manahattan to increasingly fashionable Brooklyn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good afternoon George,

Thank you for choosing Castle Hotel & Spa! We appreciate your lovely review on Trip Advisor and wish you a wonderful business trip. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My daughter and I who have been to other 5 star spas loved our afternoon at Thann Spa. The service was excellent. Message was the best either of us had ever experience. Great facial but not a fabulous one. The common lounge area was lovely and relaxing with teas and h'ordervse. Very nice touch. Locker room had all amenities and was a great end to a fabulously relaxing day. Worth every dollar spent.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for your recent visit with us at THANN Sanctuary Spa. We hope your experience with your daughter was enjoyable and memorable and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your Swedish Massages. If you could please share with me why your Nano Shiso Anti-aging facial was not what you expected. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you again for choosing THANN Sanctuary at Castle Hotel & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY 10591
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on sprawling hilltop acres overlooking the Hudson River, the main tower of Castle Hotel & Spa forms the highest point in Westchester County. Castle Hotel & Spa is a medieval-style structure that was meticulously transformed into a luxury hotel, offering guests royal-quality service, luxurious guestrooms, and the award-winning Equus restaurant which features Auberge-style, natural French-inspired cuisine. The luxurious new THANN™ Sanctuary Spa is an oasis of peace and tranquility where a holistic treatment approach aims to rediscover inner physical and mental wellness. Only 25 miles north of Manhattan, Castle Hotel & Spa opened as a luxury hotel in 1997; 16 years after being designated a historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Castle Hudson
Castle Hotel & Spa Tarrytown, NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.