We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Don't Miss" - Friendly, Delicious & Reasonable $$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lefteris Gyro

Lefteris Gyro
1 North Broadway, Tarrytown, NY 10591
914-524-9687
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A "Don't Miss" - Friendly, Delicious & Reasonable $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have eaten at Lefteris many times -- lunch, dinner, inside, outside ... always delicious, friendly and efficient service, generous portions, and fairly priced. This old-style Greek gyro-and-eats shop is a Tarrytown landmark. From sandwiches/gyros/souvlakis-on-pita, to entrees (with rice or french friends) and from chicken to lamb to pork to delicious fresh fish, everything on the menu is outstanding. All entrees come with a ginormous Greek salad and pita points with homemade tatziki. Greek wines are good and reasonable by the glass or bottle. Entrees are large enough to share, particularly if you share an appetizer or two: the calimari are memorable. The only reason this didn't get a "5" is that you have to deal with competitive parking, and it's kinda small and noisy. However, for a vintage Greek diner, it's one of the best-in-class in the lower Hudson valley.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    90
    20
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne,NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice find in a quaint town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had lunch outside at this Greek Restaurant. A very nice meal. A delicious chicken Gyro, my wife had a greek chicken salad with chicken which she enjoyed very much. Its not the fanciest of places ,but definitely worth it especially sitting outside. The waiter we had was a little coarse and unfriendly,but it was busy too, so I attributed his behavior to that. Try this place. I recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE NH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Leftaris ... not just Gyros . . . order the FISH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Friend of mine flew into White Plains but local hotel full so stayed in Tarrytown. Zipped across Tappan Zee from northern NJ at 5:30PM...NO traffic at this time of day. 1st time in Tarrytown; pleasantly surprised. Nice town to walk around with shops, theater, restaurants. Being right on the Hudson doesn't hurt either. Leftaris Gyro at 1st glance name infers just gyros...that is fine... but we saw a board with a variety of fresh fish listed (and the prices). Greeter was very personable and accommodating. Small place but had outside seating...June 5 evening and sitting outside was the way to go. Excellent service! Initially pita bread (aka Syrian bread) was served...also a nice ample salad with feta cheese, olives, etc and tasty dressing. I ordered the swordfish, the other person the tuna. Both fish entrees were excellent; good portion. I expected high prices for NYC area but at $19.95 I thought the price was excellent! Will be back....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

You feel like you have been invited to somebody's very crowded and loud home, but in a good way. It's pretty authentic and the portions are huge, so consider sharing. I couldn't understand a word the waiter was saying, but he was very nice (I think). Try it, the place is packed for a reason...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Opa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped for lunch in this corner Resturant and had a delightful experience. We visited the Rockefeller home as well as Union Church in Tarrytown NY and when to Lefteris for lunch. We both have a gyro sandwich and it was some of the best lamp I have ever tasted. Service was terrific and the atmosphere authentic Greek. I am sure the broiled fish is exceptional as well as the other dishes. We highly recommend this venue.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefteris Gyro also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Lefteris Gyro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lefteris Gyro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.