We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson East Syracuse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson East Syracuse to your Saves list
Howard Johnson East Syracuse
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   6590 Thompson Road North, NY Thruway I-90 Exit 35, Syracuse, NY 13206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Rome, New York
1 review
“Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were very clean. The sink had no strainer or plug, needed a frame around the overflow. One room had a frig but no coffeemaker or TV remote. We had only one hand towel, two washcloths and four bath towels in my room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay. We appreciate the compliments and the comments regarding areas where can improve. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the issues that you have expressed, thanks to your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    24
    28
    25
See reviews for
31
31
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entire hotel appeared run down. The sign on the building was a *banner* but the one on the road was permanent. Weird. The desk clerk was dead asleep when we walked in and I had to bang loudly to wake him up! The desk clerk was very terse and not welcoming at all. The entrance was weird. The inside entrance doors was missing (as in there was obviously one there and now there's not).

The room had cracks in the ceiling and walls, pealing wall paper, worn carpet. Room had no clock, the iron was missing and an old 17 inch tube TV. The entire place looked like no one had bothered to update anything since that TV was new. (1989?)

The room used weird motion sensing controllers that turned out the lights once we sat still reading for very long. Pretty darn inconvenient to get up, walk back to the door and hit the switch again every 10 minutes! The bathroom used the same type of sensor, except that it was OUTSIDE the bathroom, so no amount of movement would ever keep it on.

Beds were ok with very flat pillows. No real complaint other than the pillow. I learned long ago to bring my own.

But, on the bright side, the room was clean and we saw no sign of bed bugs.

Overall, Even though I make frequent trips to Syracuse, and normally stay near Carrier Circle, I will never be staying at this hotel again. In fact, I'm not sure I would even consider another HoJo after this. There were 5 other hotels within 300 yards with identical pricing. No reason to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good accommodation for the cost. Quiet. Comfortable, Convenient location. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience. It is great to hear of how you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel. We hope to impress you again during your next visit and we thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Came all the to syracuse to watch our beloved alma matar MSU kick some serious butt on their way to the final 4. We booked this place due to its closeness to the carrier dome. only about 15 minutes away, which gave us more time to pregame. fit 4 big guys pretty comfortably. The prices were a little high but expected that due to the busy weekend of the sweet 16. still well worth the long trip from michigan. the front desk knew we were the partying type so we kept the breakfast open a little late just for us. hot waffles in the morning are a great hangover cure. Alam at the front desk rocked.

Room Tip: Alam, front desk dude rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
It's great to hear from you and we're so glad that you enjoyed a five star experience with us! Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff, Alam, to make you feel comfortable and at home. I have shared your compliments with him and the rest of our team and thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize Alam for a job well done! We can't wait to give you another five star experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I stayed here because I was "won" this hotel as part of a Priceline deal. It is not nice. It seemed clean enough, but the room reeked of smoke (even though it was non-smoking). I called the front desk to ask if they had any other rooms available but they were booked up for the weekend. Also, in the morning the water randomly turned off and I wasn't able to brush my teeth... just to give you an idea of what it's like there.
We stayed here during the March Madness NCAA weekend and ended up staying here because the entire city was booked up. It was tolerable for one night but I would definitely not recommend it if you have somewhere else to stay. The front desk clerk seemed nice, but the location is really run down, the walls are paper thin and it's smoky! I wish I had better news to report. Oh - there was free WI-FI!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I regret to discover that you weren't thoroughly impressed with us during your most recent stay. Unfortunately, despite our efforts to ensure that nobody smokes in non-smoking rooms, it does occasionally happen and I hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke that you experienced. We apologize for the issue with the water supply as well. We are working to take care of all of the issues that you addressed and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Unfortunately, we had to take a smoking room since all others were booked, so that we knew would be an unavoidable issue. However, there were burn holes in the bedspread that were the size of golf balls, the toilet was falling through the tile and was tilting, the bathroom was clean but needed repair DESPERATELY, the carpet was filthy, there was hair in the shower, the heater rattled....We will NOT be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It is disheartening to learn that you were not impressed with our accommodations, amenities and services. I do apologize for the issues that you mentioned. It is important to us to hear from you on the issues that you experienced so that they can be quickly addressed. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay. We hope to see you again someday and to transform your opinion of our hotel and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson East Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson East Syracuse

Address: 6590 Thompson Road North, NY Thruway I-90 Exit 35, Syracuse, NY 13206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson East Syracuse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson East Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited University/Carrier Circle Hotel Syracuse
Ramada Hotel Syracuse
Ramada Motel Syracuse
Ramada Syracuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson East Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.