We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carrier Circle

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Carrier Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6491 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 31 hotels in Syracuse
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The room's a good size, and comfortable. It's nothing fancy or special, but for the price you pay it's a great choice. The staff were very welcoming, the breakfast was your basic complimentary breakfast. No real complaints as the price of the room was very reasonable. We were able to park right outside our room which was a nice feature.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for the nice comments, it is our pleasure to make you comfortable and welcome. We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel and it is nice to hear that we are succeeding. Please come back again and thank you for your business!
Sincerely, Kathy Shue GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
54
40
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Old Forge, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Big room, clean, two queen beds, $84 per night for 3 people, good breakfast. Very friendly receptionist. That's all we wanted. I probably could have given it five stars. It doesn't take 200 characters to say that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello and thank you! You covered exactly what we strive for- clean, quiet, friendly, good value and yummy breakfast. We really appreciate you taking time to review us and will look forward to hosting you and your family again.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stopped at the Carrier Circle Comfort Inn while getting into the city for an overnight and had not stayed at this property previously. It was nice to find a very reasonably priced option for a good night's sleep - pillow top mattresses were nice, and the complimentary breakfast was very well stocked with a nice variety cold and hot. The location is also good for business in the Carrier Circle area, and shoot down Thompson Road and you get to 690 and access into the city or suburbs for shopping or dining. Adequate amenities and facility for price point and helpful staff were pleasant finds to match. We'll stay again...look forward to it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello and thank you for making my Monday morning very pleasant! I'm so glad you stopped here on your trip and especially that you had a good stay; the breakfast and our location certainly do make for a good value, as well as the reasonable rates. The team here works hard to make it a clean, friendly "home away from home" and your kind words are appreciated!
Thank you again, we'll look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were visiting with family and had a double queen room to accomodate everyone. When we arrived it smelled like my aunt's face-powder box had exploded in the room and the floor outside. Overwhelming scent. There was an oder that I couldn't pin down or locate the source. My wife thought it was an old urine smell, and she only got whiffs of it around one of the beds, but couldn't pin down the source either. We didn't notice until the scent bomb smell was gone the second day. My daughter and son-in-law both said after we got home from the trip that the room smelled awful, but they didn't want to say anything because we were paying for the room. It was only after my wife mentioned the smell that they said the room smelled really bad.

The other thing I didn't like was the mildew in the bathroom tub/shower. There was a black line that was hiding in the gap where the bottom and top of the tub/shower unit mated. You have to bend down to see it under a lip. The wall paper was coming off the wall in a few places. There is a wear and tear issue that I'm willing to go so far with, but mildew like this is unacceptable.

We were so busy, and we weren't coming/going the same times as the kids, so we didn't ask for another room in our short stay, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Matthew,

I'm very sorry that your stay was not enjoyable, especially since you were here for 3 nights; I see that we called you at 7:21 to check on your room, as we always do after our guests check in, and it says "fine" as reported by whomever answered the phone in your room. We would have been happy to move you to another room had we known that you were unhappy. I assure you that we work very hard to maintain a clean, friendly hotel and sometimes guests are sensitive to the cleaning products we use and I certainly apologize if that was the case. I have addressed the hidden mildew issue and thank you for your comments, we always want to improve and appreciate your time for this review.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were heading back to Long Island from our trip to Niagara Falls and Toronto. We picked Syracuse to stay overnight because we wanted to divide up the driving. Nice, clean, comfortable place to stay. Very reasonably priced too. And we had a coupon too which made it even better. Rooms were big and they had a full, complimentary breakfast which was very nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. In fact, I left my red sweater there and they mailed it to my home the next day! Thanks Nicole! We would definitely stay there again if we're ever in the area. Oh, and we had dinner at the Texas Roadhouse a few miles down the road. It was perfect. Great food, beer and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review and for staying with us, we really appreciate it! Our central location and complimentary breakfast make us a great value and we are always glad to help our guests anyway we can, Nicole will be very happy to see this! Thank you again and come back soon!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in a double non-smoking on December 22/12 for one night, on the 2nd floor. The rooms were comfortable and clean (not updated, but still in good shape), the beds decent, lots of pillows. The breakfast provided on the Sunday morning was on the verge of awesome, the waffles are terrific and there are lots of options. My only complaints are the wifi was unavailable for the entire stay, and the evening desk clerk could have been a tad friendlier. Oh, and the drunk teens falling out of the elevator I could have done without, but that wasn't the hotel's fault :) Otherwise, with it being close to shopping and entertainment, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello and Happy New Year! Thank you very much for the nice review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The team here takes great pride in maintaining a clean, friendly "home away from home" so we really appreciate your kind words. Breakfast is a great value-added feature and I will confess it is hard to stay away from the waffles, hard as I try! Thank you again and please come stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friends & I stay here when we go to Syracuse for girls shopping weekend and it meets our needs. We spend very little time in the hotel and this one is great for us. The rooms are clean and the service is good. Complimentary breakfast is great.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bonus prep area outside the washroom which is great if you are travelling with fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words, and especially for making us your destination for your shopping trips. So glad you appreciate the great value here and also for patronizing our beautiful malls and outlets, all of Syracuse thanks you! We will look forward to seeing you again soon,
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carrier Circle

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Comfort Inn Syracuse Hotel
Comfort Inn Syracuse
Syracuse Comfort Inn
Address: 6491 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carrier Circle 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Exit 35 off the NYS Thruway (I-90) this 100% Non-smoking hotel features; complimentary hot breakfast buffet, business center, fitness center and free high speed wireless Internet. Our central location puts all of Syracuse at your fingertips, minutes from LeMoyne College, Syracuse University, downtown and the new Destiny USA. We always have a comfortable clean room waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.