We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carrier Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Carrier Circle to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6491 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Patchogue, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were heading back to Long Island from our trip to Niagara Falls and Toronto. We picked Syracuse to stay overnight because we wanted to divide up the driving. Nice, clean, comfortable place to stay. Very reasonably priced too. And we had a coupon too which made it even better. Rooms were big and they had a full, complimentary breakfast which was very nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. In fact, I left my red sweater there and they mailed it to my home the next day! Thanks Nicole! We would definitely stay there again if we're ever in the area. Oh, and we had dinner at the Texas Roadhouse a few miles down the road. It was perfect. Great food, beer and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review and for staying with us, we really appreciate it! Our central location and complimentary breakfast make us a great value and we are always glad to help our guests anyway we can, Nicole will be very happy to see this! Thank you again and come back soon!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    86
    52
    15
    7
See reviews for
71
51
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in a double non-smoking on December 22/12 for one night, on the 2nd floor. The rooms were comfortable and clean (not updated, but still in good shape), the beds decent, lots of pillows. The breakfast provided on the Sunday morning was on the verge of awesome, the waffles are terrific and there are lots of options. My only complaints are the wifi was unavailable for the entire stay, and the evening desk clerk could have been a tad friendlier. Oh, and the drunk teens falling out of the elevator I could have done without, but that wasn't the hotel's fault :) Otherwise, with it being close to shopping and entertainment, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello and Happy New Year! Thank you very much for the nice review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The team here takes great pride in maintaining a clean, friendly "home away from home" so we really appreciate your kind words. Breakfast is a great value-added feature and I will confess it is hard to stay away from the waffles, hard as I try! Thank you again and please come stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friends & I stay here when we go to Syracuse for girls shopping weekend and it meets our needs. We spend very little time in the hotel and this one is great for us. The rooms are clean and the service is good. Complimentary breakfast is great.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bonus prep area outside the washroom which is great if you are travelling with fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words, and especially for making us your destination for your shopping trips. So glad you appreciate the great value here and also for patronizing our beautiful malls and outlets, all of Syracuse thanks you! We will look forward to seeing you again soon,
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We got a large room, everything was clean---the bathroom was newly renovated---flooring tile, granite counter and a new tub...even a romantic dimmer spotlight in the tub area ;)
No restaurant, but a lovely presentation for breakfast off in the lobby corner---muffins, bagels, eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, toast, cereal, coffee, juice and yogurt etc.
The exercise room was adequate but could use some more attention.
Staff, including maid service were very good.
The thermostat was finicky on the heater in our room, but we figured its quirks out and did not even bother to mention it....
The hotel accommodated smokers but our room was in the nonsmoking area and we did not have a problem.
Pets are allowed in another section....good for those who need it---we were not bothered at all with barking or anything---
All in all, it was great value for the money!
LOVE the gorgeous fireplace in the front lobby---enjoyed a coffee and reading a magazine there one chilly evening!
There was a McDonald's about as far a walk as the parking lot so that was handy.
The inn is very close to many restaurants and shopping malls etc.
We even went roller skating!

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for taking the time to post it! I, too, enjoy a good value and I really believe you get it here with a nice, clean room, complimentary hot breakfast and friendly staff. We are continuously updating and renovating the rooms, as well as the public areas and the fitness room, though adequate, is on my "list". We are also now 100% smoke free!
Please come see us again when you are in Syracuse and thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Comfort Inn Carrier Circle for three nights while on a Black Friday shopping trip to Syracuse. We had no complaints. The room was quite large, the facility was clean, and the complimentary breakfast was good. It was close to the shopping that we wanted to visit. We even made use of the small fitness centre. It is lacking a pool and a restaurant but for the price we didn't expect the hotel to have these facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for braving the Black Friday crowds and staying with us! So glad you enjoyed your stay, we are very lucky to be so close to such great shopping destinations and of course, we have a great team that keeps the hotel neat, clean and friendly.
Thank you again, and please come back soon!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stayed at this Comfort Inn at Carrier Circle in Syracuse. Although we visit the Syracuse area regularly, this was our first stay at this particular motel and at Carrier Circle.

We had no major complaints about the hotel; however, we are unlikely to stay there again. In terms of location, Carrier Circle is not exactly central and this Inn's location is bordering on desolate, with an abandoned building on one side and huge vacated parking lots on the other (it appears that some major industry has left the area). All to say that there is nothing attractive about the physical setting.

The Inn itself was fine. Rooms were clean and a good size, breakfast was fine, internet was good, staff was nice. I had requested a first floor room in advance, but when I arrived was told that this was not possible since people with pets get first priority. I was also SHOCKED that one patron brought her dog with her to the breakfast area where it mingled in close quarters with visitors. This is ENTIRELY inappropriate IMHO; she should have been asked to remove the dog from the eating area.

The room was large enough but drab. Bed was not terrible but could use a new mattress. For some strange reason, there was no lamp on one side of this king size bed, so lighting was a bit of an issue. The TV was a Phillips flat-screen. Picture was good except the setup was such that it would take more than 5 seconds for the channel to change each time. Any one who chronically flips through the channels would be frustrated.

All in all, this visit was "just OK"; we would likely try another option for our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were in a non-smoking room. But as we enter and exited the room, there was a strong smoke smell. The corridors of the hotel too smelled of cigarettes. The rooms were clean but everything is old. the bad tub was super old too.
However the proximity of the hotel to I90 was a big plus to us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuegirl, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at this hotel, I appreciate the input and always want to improve. We are continuously upgrading and renovating the rooms, as well as the public areas, and bathtubs are definitely on the list; I am also pleased to tell you that we will be 100% smokefree by Jan. 1, 2013. Thank you again for writing in and for staying with us, I hope we will see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carrier Circle

Address: 6491 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carrier Circle 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Exit 35 off the NYS Thruway (I-90) this 100% Non-smoking hotel features; complimentary hot breakfast buffet, business center, fitness center and free high speed wireless Internet. Our central location puts all of Syracuse at your fingertips, minutes from LeMoyne College, Syracuse University, downtown and the new Destiny USA. We always have a comfortable clean room waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.