We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 University Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Syracuse
Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“NYE2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We attended the hotel, with 3 other couples, as part of the NYE Gala package offered. We did extend our stay for an additional night and chose the queen size suite (Parlor) for our 2 night stay. This was recommended when we booked and was perfect for getting together with the rest of our group before going out. The staff at this location that we met definitely surpassed all of our expectations and surely make this hotel the successful place that it is. Nadia (I hope I remembered) at our check in set the stage with her incredible first impression, Jeff (Engineer) for assisting with the heat and ensuring everything was top notch.......Finally our main contact.....Chris from the NYE guest services......her personal attention made you feel like you were exactly where you belonged.

This hotel is a great place to stay, but if you have the option to attend a NYE celebration here.........Chris and the team will take care of everything from a 3pm check out, breakfast until 2pm, and all the festivities before hand.

We will all be back and I would recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello PMDMA,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We're glad that you chose to celebrate New Years Eve with us, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Hearing that our staff exceeded your expectations put a smile on our face, we strive to make our guest feel comfortable and at home with us throughout their stay.

We hope to see you again, and once again thank you for your comments. Happy new year!

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    112
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
79
20
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

An alumnus of SU, I came back for a football game for the first time in nearly 10 years. Location cannot be beat if you are attending a game or exploring the campus. While room was large and clean, it seemed really dark and a bit outdated. Didn't eat in any of the restaurants, but did attend the tailgate before the game - a lot of fun.

Was wavering between a 3 and 4. What put me over the top was location and the hotel shuttle driver who returned to the airport with my iPhone that I left in the van...he was a life saver!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello floricuse,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. Welcome back to Syracuse, we hope the football team was able to pick up a win for you! We're pleased that you found convenience with our property's location on the main campus. Great to hear that you were able to join one of our tailgate parties, and that our shuttle driver was able to assist you with your phone.

Once again thank you, and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Syracuse.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for five nights while visiting family in the area. The location is good if you need to be in the Syracuse area. The room we were in was recently renovated and it was quite nice. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. We did not like the breakfast, even though it was included in the room rate through AAA and we chose not to eat breakfast there after the first morning. We'd stay here again although it is a bit pricey plus you have to pay for parking in their parking structure, but we'd definitely forego the breakfast next time around. And they do accept dogs, that's a plus!

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room, preferably a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello RobertaW3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We hope that you had a good visit to Syracuse with your family! We're happy to read that you enjoyed your guest rooms furnishings, and that you enjoyed the bed. The mattress and bedding are part of our Sweet Sleeper selection, so were happy to hear that you found comfort in them. We do apologize that you were unhappy with the breakfast selection. We have shared your comments with our director of food and beverage and our Leadership team.

Once again, we thank you for your comments, and we hope that if your travels bring you back to Syracuse, we will see you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We did a road trip to the US in mid-October and our first stop was Syracuse. I stayed at this hotel because I had a cash and points reward with starwood, but as it turns out, this hotel is in the perfect location! It's right in the middle of the campus of SU, which is absolutely beautiful, and also centrally located in Syracuse.

Every service was nearby (pharmacy, good restaurants, etc.), and walking around the campus was a very pleasant experience.

The hotel itself is newly renovated, the lobby and common areas are great (although the pool area is very small). There was a microwave on the main floor for general use which was very appreciated, and the business centre was 1st class. There is a parking garage with an attendant connected to the hotel, for a nominal fee, well worth the convenience.

The room itself was decent, in our case we didn't get much in a way of a view, but very large and spacious, with complimentary water and a fridge. The room did feel somewhat dated (mainly the bathroom), but it was clean and comfortable.

In general I recommend this hotel for a stopover or even extended stay in Syracuse.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing either University Avenue or the upper campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello JandK786,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We're glad to see that you enjoyed our general location. We love being on the campus of Syracuse University, and as you mentioned we are surrounded by the local shopping and restaurants. We're happy to read that you found our business center the Link 1st class and that you found convenience with our refrigerators, microwaves and parking garage. The next time your travels bring you back to Syracuse, give us a call and we will get you that campus view for your room!

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed there when we went to drop off our son to college - very convenient, bang in the center of SU. Big rooms, comfortable, clean. Oh yes, got the "pay your birth year" offer!! Cool. Convenient car parking as a courtesy

Room Tip: All rooms are good, choose any one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello themuscatbonedoc,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. As you mentioned we are on the campus of Syracuse University, and we love it. We are in the middle of all of the campus activity, and we're happy that you found our location convenient. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the hotel, and you were able to take advantage of one of our promotions.

Once again thank you, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Syracuse.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for a night during September at the Sheraton. The rooms are nice and large and location is excellent (best part is that is near to Starbucks). If you are a tea person, carry tea bags with you as they only provide a coffee maker in the room. Overall it was a good stay and I will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Skasera,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. Happy to hear that you found convenience in our location being on the campus of Syracuse. In our guest rooms we do offer a variety of Tazo teas, so we do apologize that you were not able to find and enjoy the tea in your guest room.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Once again, a very good stay on the hill. Clean room, very friendly staff, convenient to SU. Sitrus on the Hill and excellent option for a light meal. Will always return. Very, very expensive on family weekend. Wish parking was included for the $$$ spent.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello ScottgNJ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We're happy that you find convenience when staying with us during your visits to Syracuse. Glad to hear that the staff in which you encountered was friendly and helpful, and that you were able to stop by Sitrus during the busy Family Weekend. In regards to the parking fee for special event weekends, we have shared your comments to our executive committee for discussion.

Once again thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Sincelrely,
Michael Gates
Guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 801 University Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center. Located on the scenic campus of Syracuse University, we'll keep you close and connected to the best of Central New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel Syracuse
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel And Conference Center
Syracuse Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.