We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run before they GOTCHA!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 University Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Run before they GOTCHA!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Been here for business several times, same deal each time. Just not the good kind of reproducibility. Indeed, a dated property with cosmetic updates. It appears very clean, and the carpets are immaculate compared to other hotels--which is usually a really good sign in a hotel--but, bottom line, nothing really works here. GOTCHA!

You arrive at the airport and there's a free shuttle offered, but they don't advertise on the courtesy board and by the time they get out there on demand, you can be there by taxi. So it's free, nominally, but in reality GOTCHA!

You check in and then leave the spacious lobby and go upstairs to the floor wing exposed to the wind. So your room is whistling all the time. OK, I can live with that, the weather's not their fault. But then you realize after a while that the temperature is extreme in the room and the fan is running hard, but the controls won't do anything.GOTCHA!

Then you fire up your laptop to get on to the free Wifi. The computer finds a strong radio signal, but you futz forever trying to get the thing to actually connect. Turns out, if you go to the lobby or use the computer late at night, it's OK but good luck any other time. GOTCHA!

The lobby and meeting areas seem to be perennially filled with students from the college just hanging out, seems like it's a supplement to the campus library. GOTCHA, unless that's what you came here for.

Try making a call with the landline in your room. Look real quick for a notice of free 800 calls, don't see any kind of notice, figure you're OK or small fee. Pick up the phone and futz with the difficult buttons to dial. Enjoy your bill when it's $2 for even the shortest 800 number called. GOTCHA.

Bottom line, if you need a hotel that makes your arrival experience with their airport shuttle easy, a comfortable room that does not have major noise or climate control problems, working internet, or reasonable incidental fees, go elsewhere, as I suspect most business travelers will. If you need a place on campus and just to sleep for something in town on a weekend, you'll likely be OK if you get the room at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear traveler99Michigan:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to learn of all the problems you experienced.

In December we upgraded our wifi service in an attempt to provide our guests greater bandwidth and better address the needs of today's wireless technology. However we have experienced some sporadic challenges. We are working with the vendor to ensure that this addressed as quickly as possible.

I am sorry that you felt you were being taken advantage of when using our telephone service. That certainly was not our intention. The charges are listed on a card placed on the desk. It is possible that the card may have been missing when you looked. I will follow up with housekeeping as a general reminder.

I am somewhat confused about your comments related to the students. As a member of the University community we often welcome students attending events at the hotel. Last week, there was an orientation event that was taking place in the hotel. I apologize if you were inconvenienced by their presence in the hotel. I can assure you we expect appropriate behavior from all of our guests and we have procedures in place to monitor this. However, we are not the library and like all visitors we do not allow loitering in our lobby or other places.

Again - I do thank you for your feedback. We take this very seriously and I have shared your comments with the entire management team in an attempt to improve any deficiencies our guests experience.

If I can be of further assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    129
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
93
22
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while in town for a dog show at the fairgrounds. We found the hotel very late 80's in decor and style - little windows - typical sheraton decor.

Restaurant was pretty good - above average food - great servers and not overpriced

hotel is located pretty central to the campus and easy to get in and out of and parking is extremely convenient

Front desk staff were friendly and overly helpful

The mattress in our room was awful - we asked for it to be changed - we are not sure if they did or not as it was not really better that evening.

We would stay here again, and they were very welcoming with our dog - even brought us the sheraton dog bed and bowls for the room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear CormarToronto,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent stay. While I am glad that you found the staff and the service met you needs, I am sorry to learn that your bed was uncomfortable. As you may know Sheraton prides itelf on the Sweet Sleeper bedding and I am sorry that you did not experience that.

Again - thank you for sharing your experience and if I can be of any further assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Dir of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice Sheraton, very nice hotel for a city of this size. Slept well in the rooms which have walls that insulate the nearby sounds (i.e. quiet rooms). The hotel is close to campus and many hospitals/health professional schools. The breakfast buffet was very good and only somewhat overpriced as opposed to ridiculously overpriced as most large hotels like this are.

The hotel is expensive so be warned, but it is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear hamptondragon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay. We appreciate all of the feedback that we receive and I am glad that we were able to meet your needs.

Happy New Year,
Julie Martin
Dir of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed for one night in a very comfortable room, well-equipped with electrical outlets (although one was non-functional), free WI-FI, a radio with decent sound (increasingly hard to find in hotels these days), a comfortable bed, and plenty of drawer and closet space. I made the mistake of ordering room service dinner and was subjected to a truly awful veal parmigiana; the meat was utterly tasteless and was so tough that I gave up trying to cut it and resorted to stabbing the hunk with my fork and gnawing on it like a cave woman. The accompanying salad was ok, though. If the food had been acceptable, I'd have given five stars.
The exercise room was well equipped, but it did not have a changing room attached to it, so I had to change into my gym clothes in the lobby Ladies room and then walk across the lobby to the gym. This wasn't a dreadful tragedy, but as a 65 year old woman, I prefer not to have to traipse around in hotel lobbies that way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear TheFrogLady:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel. We appreciate all of the feedback that we receive.

Please accept my apologies that your room service meal was less than acceptable. I have shared your remarks with our Director of Food & Beverage and I am certain that he will follow up with the appropriate staff members.

I am glad that your guest room accomodations met your needs and that you found your room to be comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Dir. of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent a night here while visiting Syracuse and carring out some outlets shopping. Hotel is right on the University campus. Parking cost about $13 but you can go in an out and stay all day on day of departure. We stayed on club floor room was quiet and comfortable and had chairs with a cute little ottoman. Overall a well maintained hotel, pleasant staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear MandLD,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with the Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Central New York. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Dir. of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you're staying in Syracuse, this is a good choice. I stay there most of the time as I am a Starwood member and like the Sheraton hotels. I think this is a good location in Syracuse, a town where there are few really nice hotels.

If you can do the concierge level, you can get a decent buffet breakfast, which is nice and doesn't require table service, which you get downstairs.

This hotel is across the street from Starbucks, which is convenient.

There are workstations downstairs if you need to use a computer and printer.

Room Tip: Try club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Pascal482,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! I appreciate your feedback and I thank you for highlighting some of the things that makes the Sheraton Syracuse a great place to stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Syracuse soon!

Warmest Regards,
Julie Martin
Dir. of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a very convenient location for an event we were attending in the Carrier Dome. The room was very nice, beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Check-in was a nightmare. The staff had to be aware that a lot of people were checking in that day (two high school marching bands and their families were staying there), but the rooms were not ready. I first tried to check in around 2:30 and was told the room wasn't ready and to come back at 3:00 - this was understandable as their check in time isn't until 3:00. I came back at 3:00 and was told the room wasn't ready and they didn't have any idea when it would be ready. I tried again at 3:30 - still not ready. In the meantime, I wanted to get over to the Dome, so asked if the shuttle was running over there (as it was last year) and was told they didn't schedule a shuttle driver that day. Overall a good stay, but the lobby was chaos as hundreds of people were being told the rooms hadn't been cleaned yet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sue_S_8:

Thanks you for taking the time to rate our hotel and to share your experiences, we do appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests. Please accept my apologies for the delay in check-in for the day of the HS band competition. We clearly failed in our mission to satisfy every guest on that day.

We have discussed this process as a management team and are committed to handling this event differently in the future.

Thanks again for your response!

Best Regards,
Julie Martin
Dir. of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 801 University Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center. Located on the scenic campus of Syracuse University, we'll keep you close and connected to the best of Central New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel Syracuse
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel And Conference Center
Syracuse Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.