We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad air conditioning and rooms that smell like smokers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 East Genesee, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
NY
1 review
“bad air conditioning and rooms that smell like smokers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

I stayed here several times while interviewing at SUNY. The rooms are quite nice and the desk and bed are lovely. The parking structure is somewhat scary at night and everytime the non-smoking room smelled of smoke. The air conditioning is old and turns off when you leave the room so it never gets very cold. After one night that it didn't work at all, they promised it was fixed and then I had to move to a room at three in the morning when I had to interview all the next day. Desk staff seem relatively unable to problem solve, the hallways noise is bad and the elevators are incredibly slow. They had several large noisy groups while I was there. But it is very convenient to get to SUNY and SU.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bad airconditioning, smells like smoke
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    193
    103
    57
    38
See reviews for
133
113
35
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We were stopping through on the way to Niagara Falls and figured we would be safe choosing from the Renaissance chain. We arrived late at night - the night staff was not interested in being helpful or friendly. Signs everywhere remind guests that it's a non-smoking hotel, yet our room smelled distinctly of cigarettes. On first glance, the room looks OK, but then you smell it, you see the freeway outside, and you see the signs or wear and tear that no one has bothered to replace.
If it weren't so late and if we had any idea where we were, we would have left.
I left the room to get a soda (vending machines are on alternate floors) and got into a different elevator than the one we took to the room. The elevator interior floor and walls were splashed with liquid of some sort and smelled awful.
We would absolutely never stay there again and would never recommend the hotel to anyone. In fact, it's tarnished my impression of the Renaissance chain (we have a nice one near our home).

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

I was totally fooled by the website (and I'm a Marriott Gold Elite member!!!) -- shame on me.

Hotel is literally 50 feet from a major interstate highway. We heard trucks all night long -- not pleasant at 3 AM when tractor trailer trucks are roaring outside your window.

Hotel is rundown and rooms are a bit shabby. We are NOT neat freaks but I do expect a room to be vacuumed once a month.

Very nice people at the front desk, but do yourself a favor and avoid the disappointment of a tired hotel with rundown furnishings located just yards away from a major highway.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

Our family of four are in this double double room that cannot be more than 200 sq ft. It's one of the smallest hotel rooms I've experienced in North America. Apart from the office chair at the desk, there's no other place to sit besides the bed.
The work area is right where the TV is, so there is this TV (nice LCD) right around your head as you try to do anything at the desk. You block others' view, you can't see much of the TV yourself, you can't hear yourself think...you get the picture. Very silly setup.
Carpet has lots of stains on it, and many places already fraying. Scratch marks on various parts of the wood surface of the desk (and other parts of the furniture).
Bathroom is very small. Hard to get in and close the door. Hard to get out too if the door is shut, without stepping back into the shower again.
Coffeemaker is next to the bed, but not plugged in. In fact, no plug accessible there. So I have to take the whole thing and plug it in at the desk, right under the TV. Maybe I can do that on the bathroom counter, but it really is a bit small for the coffeemaker tray to go.
In-room safe works, so that's good.
On the plus side, the people seem very nice and friendly. Greeted by three or four different staff people last night as we checked in. Front desk person was very helpful with restaurants etc.
Free internet in room, so that is good.
Location is good for us, since we are just passing through. It's right off I-81 so that's well-situated for us.
I used points for this stay. At the going rate published at marriott.com, I'd have been very unhappy if I were paying cash for this. Marriott wanted 183 for this room. Must be kidding!

This room cannot be worth more than $120 a night.
Definitely will seek other places to stay next time.

  • Liked — free parking, free internet, the people
  • Disliked — tiny room, tiny bathroom, poor aircon, the room itself
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery AL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

Judging by the exterior, you'd think this hotel would be a run-down, 1970's experience, but it's not. Actually, I think it as among the VERY BEST experiences I've had at a chain hotel.

The room interiors are very hip.

My room had a nice, large TV right above the desk.

The bed was great and the room was very clean.

I spoke only with one staffer, a college-aged kid at the desk, but he was very competent and service-oriented.

No problems at all. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Liked — Hip decor, clean
  • Disliked — Syracuse is not that attractive a city
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

I paid extra for the Concierge Room access (2nd floor) but it wasn't worth it. They had very little food, hot or cold, in the evening or morning. Cheaper to get room service for breakfast. Drinks very expensive in this club room and added to bill by the gal in charge.

Pet friendly hotel, nice lobby, friendly staff. Parking free, very close. Room very small, but liked the LCD WS TV and internet setup in the corner. Internet charge was $10 a night so didn't use. TV didn't work without calling maintenance.

Bathroom/shower (no bath) room was very small and uncomfortable. Wash basin outside in bedroom. Room service fair - my sirloin steak was tough...but my dog loved it. King bed was comfortable ... lighting was strange.

  • Liked — Pet friendly
  • Disliked — Club room had poor food selection or variety. Hotel difficult to find.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown,NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

My friend and I have stayed ay this hotel many times and always find ourselves enjoying a drink or two at the lounge. You meet many different folks from many places . Recently , we met 2 Australian fellows and a woman on a curling team.... Fun and nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 East Genesee, Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.