We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's Just Say Its close to the Highway!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 East Genesee, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Let's Just Say Its close to the Highway!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

What can I add to the previous reviews, it's more or less already been said! Our room was on the 7th floor and yes we had an awful lot of road noise, to cover this we had on the air condition unit but not sure which was worse probably the traffic noise. Having said this the staff in the restaurant were lovely and the food was good and reasonably priced. Just wish I'd read the hotels reviews a bit better and taken more notice....... Would I stay here again NO!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Greetings 77belle,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your most recent trip to Syracuse. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative; it makes us a better hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest. Next time you visit us we can try and get you higher up or a room away from the highway if available. However, I will be sure to pass along your kind comments about our restaurant staff to the manager for him to share with everyone. Hope to see you again.
Kelly – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    207
    106
    58
    38
See reviews for
136
118
34
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for a wedding this past weekend. The friendliest staff at the hotel. NOT at the restaurant. Gloria was out server she was moody and rude. Pretty sure she was extremely bored. Made for awkward service. The room was clean and well decorated. It was very small, but nice all the same.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Greetings Maria K,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your room while staying with us and enjoyed the staff. I am terribly sorry that you were not able to enjoy your experience in the restaurant. I will be sure to pass that along to the restaurant manager so that he can use this review as a training tool. I do hope that you give us a second chance the next time you are in Syracuse.
Kelly – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you are expecting consistent standards and a good night´s sleep, this is not the place. The rooms, many of which face the elevated highway, accompany you with the constant noise of cars and semi trucks, unless you turn on the room AC and then you will have the blasting wall unit providing loud "background" noise all night. Although the hotel was not fully booked and I was a 4-night guest, I could not get a quiet room. I was moved from noisy room looking directly on the highway to another equally as bad. They were "so sorry" that they could not help me.
Amenities are not correctly or completely replaced - never know what you will have in the room.
The staff is friendly, but do not solve problems, just smile and say they are sorry for any inconvenience. So much for customer service!

Room Tip: Many rooms face the highway, avoid this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear AvidTraveler987,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. I appreciate that you have chosen our location for you recent stay and that you found our hotel staff friendly. I regret to hear though about any inconvenience that you may have had due to unwanted noise levels. We take comments such as these very seriously and rest assured that we will look into these concerns. I have forwarded your comments to our hotel management for proper action and fix.

We hope you give us a chance to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

So our child is graduating from Syracuse. I must book two hotel rooms for this occasion. There is a 2 night minimum at all the hotels and I finally secure two at the Crown Plaza and the price is around $425. a night per room. The rooms look out on the thruway and parking garage respectively , which are about 50 feet away. Thankfully the windows seem to have not been cleaned for months somewhat obscuring our view. We are allocated 3 bath towels for each room sleeping two people. When more towels are requested three towels are allocated for our two rooms.
When in the bathroom my husband has to step into the shower area to shut the bathroom door. The a/c unit is set so there isn't a way to control the fan. It is controlled by temperature only. Each time the unit goes on it sounds like a wind tunnel and feels like it will blow the room into the thruway. The internet connection is for free...but I can't get access. I call for help which comes in a timely manner. It turns out that the system is down for the whole hotel. The staff is upbeat and friendly, but this is a major money maker for the company and for the amount charged they are out of their league.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Greetings Branden B,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review as well as staying with us during graduation weekend. Sorry to hear that it took so long for the towels to get to your room. On the other hand happy to hear that engineering was able to get to your room in a timely manner. Next time you find yourself in Syracuse you can always give us a call in advance and we can see if we can get you away from the highway etc and get extra towels in the room.
Kelly – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was reading some of the reviews and I don't get it. It's Syracuse! Not Maui. What view?

I have stayed her 3 times now for different events surrounding my son attending SU. Note that I have also stayed at Sheraton, Residence Inn and Embassy Suites. The CP is the best value for the location. This hotel is walking distance to SU and has everything you need. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, nice restaurant, great bar and easy, cheap parking.

The breakfast buffet was a great deal and good options. The front desk is helpful. Yes, there is no view of whatever view people are hoping for but I go there to sleep, eat and shower. All of those are good.

The only minor (and I do mean minor...Not game changing) complaint I would have is that our maid did not give us coffee (only decaf) and she did not replenish the shampoo, which I love because it's minty.

If you have bigger expectations, go to the Plaza in New York City.

Room Tip: Rooms close to elevators are convenient but annoying when people are coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Greetings E M
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Syracuse as well as your kind review! I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the staff. I will make sure my housekeeping department is placing both coffees in the rooms, I’m sorry that you only received decaf. Hope to see you soon!
Kelly – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were disappointed in this Crown Plaza because we have been to several in different parts of US and have always been pleased. Our room overlooked the Interstate, but luckily we were high enough that no noise from cars and trucks. The location was great because we wanted to see the Stickley Museum and do some antique shopping so hotel convenient to interstate. We ate in restaurant and pleased with meal for a hotel restaurant. No covered walkway from hotel to parking garage and elevators confusing to get on with luggage and cart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Greetings Susan K,
Thank you for review as well as staying with us during your trip to Syracuse. Happy to hear that the noise from the highway did not disturb you while you were sleeping. Hope you were able to find man good finds while antique shopping.
Kelly C. -- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland suburbs of DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was one of the rare times my Priceline cheapness has let me down. I booked this through an "Express Deal", and our stay has me questioning if I'll take that kind of risk in Syracuse again. Which is sad, as the purpose of our trip was the admitted student event at the university-- and my son committing to Syracuse, so we've 4 years of stays ahead of us.

My disappointment has primarily to do with the location of the room--- on the second floor, literally parallel to I-81. They'd added an additional layer of window, but the road noise was still very noticeable, especially the lovely rumble of semis. If I were staying longer, I'd have asked to move rooms. If I ever end up here again, I'll request the highest floor possible, on the east side of the hotel.

I was also disappointed by the bathroom. It was very trendy, but small and some sort of brown discoloration (or dirt?) was in the corners of the dark grey/black shower surround. Anyway, it didn't belong in a hotel of this caliber.

And, oh, they there were only two bath towels in the room, and they were scratchy. Had to ask for more, and had to call twice to get them.

So, overall the stay left me wanting- noisy, horrific view, and not as clean as I would hope.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor on the east side. (opposite the highway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Greetings SGwantsmoretravel,
Thank you for your review as well as staying with us! Congratulations to you and your son on choosing SU, we do home that you will give us another chance so that we change your mind. We would love to become your home away from home while visiting your son in college. We do have rooms away from the highway that I am sure you will find much better just ask upon arrival and we will try to do our best! Or you can call prior to arrival and well note your reservation. Hope to see you soon.
Kelly C. – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 East Genesee, Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.