We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 East Genesee, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Northwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while I was in the area on work. It is about a 10 min drive from the airport and is right on the motorway network so very handy. I was 'upgraded' to the Executive Rooms by virtue of having Platinum Ambasador with the Priority Club loyalty programme.

The room, as everyone has said, it a slightly odd shape - when you get into the room the size was fine (I had 2 queen beds) but getting in the door feels a bit snug and you are on top of your neighbours door. The room was modern and had all the amienities you could want. The bathroom was very modern and had a nice rain shower. The bed was very comfy and there was a fridge that you could put stuff into should you wish.

All sounds great but I had 2 issues - you can hear everything in the next room - my neighbour had their TV on (normal loudness) but I could hear everything - I actually checked to see if the connecting door was ajar it was that lound! The second is the fancy lifts - great to get up and down but they beep constantly - like a hearing test! It drove me insane! Oh there was a third - the air conditioning is VERY loud!!

The bar is good and the barman super friendly. I ate in there one night and the food was superb - plus you can get the menu from the restaurant next door too so a good selection.

I do love Crowne Plazas and this one asthetically is great - but they need to sort out the noise issue!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings aks120LasVegas,
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor! I am sorry to hear about the noise discrepancies, we are happy that you brought this to our attention as all feedback helps us strive to become a better hotel for our guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the in-room accommodations, staff and Library Lounge. We hope that you consider staying with us again during your next trip to Syracuse!

Best Regards,
Emilie L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    194
    103
    57
    38
See reviews for
133
113
35
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here with my son for a basketball tournament in Syracuse. The location is downtown and is very convenient. The hotel is very nice but showing some age. The rooms appear to have been updated recently. Ours had a flat screen tv and a rain shower which was a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings DBWITT,
Thank you for your kind words and recommondation to fellow TripAdvisor members! We appreciate you noticing our recent updates as we completed a $5 million renovation in 2012. We were built a few years back, but we are holding up stronger and prouder than ever! We hope you and your family can revisit again real soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a great hotel for a business trip. The rooms are small but the amenities are outstanding. There is an outlet center with a gazillion ways to hookup and plug in. This hotel is great if you have a conference and in town but not so great for a family trip. Rooms are too small but perfect for one person to sit in the room and get work done. The staff was friendly and the buffet breakfast is more than enough, very generous.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be the same size but if you're sharing a room with a coworker, ask for a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings Desi63085,
Thank you kindly for your review and tips shared here on TripAdvisor! All feedback is very important to us and we strive to make our property better with each suggestion. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities such as our in-room work stations, breakfast buffet, and time spent with our staff members. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My stay was reserved as part of a sales management conference. The conference center is located across the breezeway and certainly adequate for a conference or meeting of any size.
While the location is not in the high interest area of Syracuse it does have easy access to the main roadways which was great for our group coming in from all over the state. We went to Destiny USA for dinner and Wonder Works.
For me the key factor of a quality hotel room is a comfortable bed and hot strong shower which this hotel exceeded my minimum standard for both. Great room set up and work space for the business traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings Kristine M,
Your kind words are greatly appreciated by all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Syracuse, thank you for sharing your feedback! Even though it looks like you were here on business, we are pleased to hear that you got to enjoy some of Syracuse finest such as Destiny USA. Destiny USA is up and coming with new attractions every month, so if you get to visit us again, there will be more for you to explore. Thank you for the comments on our 7-layer of comfort beds and our rain showers, we know how important these two amenities are, and are happy that you enjoyed them. We hope you are able to visit us again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night while visiting a friend in Syracuse, and I was pleasantly surprised that 'the round hotel' was so nice.

Spotless newly renovated rooms and lobby. The bed was great.

The rooms are pie shaped and on the smaller side but still, a great place to stay. The shower is a style I've so far only seen in European hotel rooms. It has only a pane of glass for the half of the stall where the spout is and the remainder is open. Water didn't get everywhere though. No tub, which is a drawback for some but the shower really was nice.

I'd stay again any time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings Dale B,
Thank you for sharing your kind words here on TripAdvisor! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here in Syracuse and at the Crowne Plaza while visiting your friend. Our beds have seven layers of comfort; we are glad that you had a good night's rest. As a round shaped hotel, our rooms are oddly shaped, but we like being unique in that way! Thank you again for your kind words; we would be honored to have you back at any time!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel in April to attend a concert. The location is lousy!!!!!! Really, there is not a whole heck of alot to do in this area of Syracuse. We ended up driving to the large mall just to the north of hotel on the highway......we would highly suggest going to the mall for any meals and definitely if shopping is on your agenda.
Where to begin......the parking was weird, to say the least.....most of the parking spots are on the ramps so beware of the next car's door slamming into yours!!!! We visited when there was some kind of conference, and the elevators were jammed.....you have to plug in your floor number and then wait......some people had been waiting for 20 minutes as they were on a high floor and really couldn't haul all their stuff up the stairs. We were lucky enough to be on the 5th floor and so were able to carry everything up. Not appreciated very much though.
There were not any restaurants or bars that were close by. There was a lobby bar that the conference attendees were enjoying but I can't comment on whether it was good or not.
Our room was pretty spacious, but the bathroom was pretty strange. Only a toilet and stand-in shower with a rain head that was at one end of the shower. You literally couldn't get in the shower without opening the door of the bathroom and trying to close it once you got in!!!! Very weird set up. The vanity with the sink was in the main room, close to the bed!!!! The bed, though, was very comfortable.
The front desk staff was about as friendly as they could be considering the sold out night.....pretty busy and not many of the rooms were ready. We had to wait until about 5:30 pm. Thank goodness for that big huge mall!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would liek to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize that you had a not so grand experience while staying at our facility. We strive to make each guests stay a pleasant experience. We do have a few restaurants that are right within walknig distance but other was just a few minutes away. We try to accommodate for all needs.

Again thank you for the review and hopefully you will try our facilities again in the future so we have a second chance to make your experience a better one.

Thank you,

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I travel often and found myself at this Syracuse hotel. The staff was very nice. The room was updated. The linens were nice. The clock was impossible to figure out. The bathroom was updated with a 1/2 glass shower enclosure and some kind of rainfall contraption in the middle of the shower. I found it weird and difficult to use. I didn't really want to wash my hair but couldn't really shower without putting my head directly under this thing. I wondered what the heck one would do if traveling with a child-no tub-no way to just spray them. The location was OK but it was a bit of a walk to the downtown area. The breakfast buffet was very good and the man working there was outstanding: Very friendly and kept everything clean, fresh and appetizing.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room with a tub if traveling with a young child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our hotel was not completely up to the standards you were looknig for. With being a circle hotel we have an odder shape to construct with. Hopefully the next time you are in the area you are able to use our complimentary shuttle service to take you to your destination.


We look froward to seeing you in the future.

Thank you again,

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 East Genesee, Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.