We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 East Genesee, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Syracuse
London, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were heading home after our tour of Cape Cod and Boston and really - this was a great way to end our trip. This hotel is very modern and very nice. The hotel staff were extremely helpful. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so very pleased to hear that we were able to end your trip on with a good stay. We strive each day to make sure each guests leaves our hotel wanting to come back again.

Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you back soon.

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    173
    90
    57
    36
See reviews for
123
104
35
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My flight was cancelled (due to super storm Nemo). Last time I got stuck in Syracuse overnight due to flights, I stayed at the Best Western at the airport... so depressing... but that's another review. This time I decided to stay at the nicest hotel on the board. I'm so glad I did.

- The rate was very fair compared to discount hotels (perhaps due to Friday night)
- The shuttle driver was very nice, very professional & helpful and right on time
- The man who checked me in asked what type of room I wanted, offering low floor or higher up (I picked higher room for nice views & he put me on "penthouse" level) and put me on "quiet side" (though I didn't know to ask for that as hadn't read reviews) with no change of my very reasonable rate.
- Library bar/casual dining type room is very nice and comfortable with friendly staff.
- Rooms are nicely decorated. I like a little high style and this delivers. Very nice showers!

So wish me luck to get back home to Dallas today but if I'm stuck in Syracure for the weekend, I still may not mind as I'll come back to Crowne Plaza :-)

Room Tip: If you like views, ask for that as I think part of hotel faces other buildings (college?). As noted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel. I am glad to hear that while the snow kept you in Syracuse longer you were able to enjoy the time here at our facilities. Hopefully next time you are in Syracuse you will be able to enjoy a bit of nicer weather and be able to see what our city has to offer beyond the hotel.

Thank you again and I hope your trip home went well.

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had to come to Syracuse for a NYS Board Exam and since I had never been there before googled downtown hotels. Boy am I glad I picked the Crowne Plaza. I had the most wonderful stay there is not enough I could say about this place. I was lucky as I booked a two nights stay so I really got to enjoy this marvelous hotel.

My room was VERY clean which in itself is a big plus with me. Not one thing seemed like it was rundown or needing attention. I did have a room that was on the side of the highway but the noise did not bother me one bit. I guess if you are very sensitive to that kind of stuff as for a room not on that side. All staff were so pleasant and helpful even when I had to ask for directions not once did it seem that I was being a pain because I had to ask them to repeat just to be sure I had it right. Redfields at the hotel is a very good place to grab something to eat especially if you don't have the time to leave and go elsewhere. Otherwise there are plenty of local establishments that I am sure the hotel's free shuttle could take you if walking is not favorable. The hotel also has a lounge bar that is open in the evenings and I did stop in and have a cocktail. Service was very good...Evan and Matthew are both top notch employees who made me feel right at home.

I had such a good experience here that I am already planning on coming to Syracuse again with the family and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear about the wonderful stay you had while traveling through Syracuse. I am glad you were able to enjoy the different amenities we have to offer at our hotel. We strive to make our guests feel warm and welcome. Thank you again for the wonderful review and I hope your exam went well.

Warm Regards,

Emilie Lonergan
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deering, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I arrived late in Syracuse and needed a place to stay with my daughter and our dog. I googled pet friendly and found the Crowne Plaza listed. The staff was fantastic, pleasant and helpful! The room was very clean, neat and comfortable. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast and a quick run in the gym. The park across the street was where we brought the dog for her walk. Not the nicest park, tons of crows but certainly adequate. Parking is free which is amazing for a hotel in the city. I will definately choose the Crowne Plaza next time in the city.

Room Tip: we faced the parking lot, not pretty but nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear about the wonderful stay you had while traveling through Syracuse. If you ever have a chance to come back to the area when its a bit warmer the park across the street is an even better area to walk your dog through. I am glad we were able to accommodate for your family. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Emilie Lonergan
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our second time staying in the Crowne Plaza Syracuse when in town visiting friends, and both times our experience was wonderful. Our last visit we had a room right on I-81, and I was concerned about noise, but it turned out to be absolutely no problem at all. Rooms are extremely clean, beds comfortable, restaurant breakfast was great; love the clips they provide to pull the curtains really tight to provide a "blackout" effect. The hotel ran shuttle service to the Carrier Dome every 15 minutes, which was much appreciated by the guests. The exceptional staff are the reason our stays have been so great; they are very kind, professional, and accommodating. This is not a 5 star property, but the cleanliness and staff are better than some true 5 stars we have stayed in elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about highway noise, request a room not facing I-81.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. I am truly pleased to hear that the shuttle service worked out well for you. I am glad you chose to come back and stay with us again and hopefully any future stays with us will be as good or maybe even better than these past two.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Emilie Lonergan
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was my first visit to the Crowne Plaza Hotel. I was so pleasantly suprised as I didn't know a lot about the hotel or staying in Syracuse. The staff was exceptional and very helpful, the room was beautiful and very clean. I was especially thankful for the shuttle service. My daughter had an interview at Upstate Medical and the shuttle dropped us right at the door and when I called for ride back to the hotel they were there in 10 minuets. Everything about this hotel was first class!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very pelased to hear about the wonderful stay you had with us. I am glad we werwe able to accommodate your needs while here in Syracuse. I hope your daughters interview went well.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Emilie Lonergan
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler and like the Crowne Plazas because they are usually pretty well-run and nicely kept. This hotel is no exception. Staff are friendly and well-trained. Rooms are clean and nicely appointed with comfortable beds and modern furniture. They have a free shuttle from the hotel to anywhere within 3 miles which includes a number of restaurants and the mall.

A few minor irritations here - as others have noted, it's very close to the interstate and as a result there's a lot of traffic noise. The shuttles (there are two) are pretty busy so you can't just show up at the front desk and ask them to take you somewhere, you have to go to your room and phone Guest Services to make a reservation. In one case, the wait for the shuttle was 45 minutes so I ended up walking a half mile in 10 degree weather in a suit and high heels (not fun especially when I got to the hotel and saw a shuttle driver hanging out in the lobby with the shuttle parked out front). There are quite a few homeless people in the neighborhood and what appears to be a psychiatric hospital across the street. No free breakfast but they do have a buffet that runs around $11 which is better than many four-star hotels.

Food and service in the restaurant and bar were pretty good, by hotel standards at least. I would stay here again, but plan to spend my evenings in the hotel or wait on the shuttle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreaciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am glad to hear that your overall stay went well. I do apologize for the shuttle service not ebing able to pick you up as stated. We try our best to accommodate the complimentary shuttle and sometimes we are not always able to do so.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you travel through syracuse.

Warm Regards,

Emilie Lonergan
Front Office Manager
cpsyracuse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 East Genesee, Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.