We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Super Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Farrell Road, State Fair Blvd & Farrell Rd, Syracuse, NY 13209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Bayside, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Super Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights visiting the nearby New York State Fairgrounds. The hotel was fine, same as most other chain hotels: clean, everything worked in the room, friendly staff. But, the on-site italian restaurant was superb! Reasonable prices, good selection, extremely friendly waitresses. We had Jeanne as our waitress both nights. She was great! If you stay here, don't even bother looking for another dinner place. Eat here! A couple of tips: The hotel, being nested near interstates, is somewhat hard to find. Use your Garmin with the address and you will not have problems. If you need gas, there is indeed a gas station a few blocks away. A little tricky to find. Again use your Garmin. My wife has arthritis and has trouble with stairs. If you have no trouble, get the 100 numbered rooms and you will have very close parking. But, there is a staircase from the 100 rooms up to the lobby/restaurant area. If you have trouble with stairs, get the 200 numbered rooms which are lobby level. Parking is fine for these rooms also. In short, if you are visiting the New York State Fair, this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    35
    9
    30
See reviews for
42
31
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Based off of the previous reviews, I wonder what happened to this hotel. My room ( actually rooms) where absolutely freezing so if you like things cold this is the place for you. The only staff member I encountered that was Beth, who I found out later was a manager. If you are hoping to sleep in, or have privacy you can forget it. There is only curtains that covered the entire windows were all but sheer. I felt very uncomfortable and exposed when I had to change clothes. There was absolutely no customer service, to the point one associate actually used explicit language when I called them about my flight delay, and was met with complete indifferent when trying to make arrangements for airport pick up. This was not what I have ever gotten when I have stayed at other Clarion hotels. This hotel missed an excellent opportunity to capture a great deal of business from my organization.

Room Tip: Have the hotel check the heating and cooling unit hours before you plan on checking in. I was put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth V, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We at the Clarion Inn & Suites thank you for your review. Your comments are helpful in improving hotel's services and training the staff. It is disappointing to learn that your stay was unsatisfactory. I apoligize for the difficulties you experienced while staying with us.

Thank you for your valuable feedback,it is through your comments that we are able to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff were pleasant and the rooms were clean. I really have no complaints about this hotel. The best part was the new restaurant however. They were extremely friendly, had amazing food, and was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Staff was freindly and accomodating. Great room that was clean and roomy with a flat screen HD TV. Beds were comfortable and wireless worked very well. Convenient to thru-way...... Restaurant was also a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is really a pleasant experience i had at my stay at Clarion inn at fairground. Friendly and helpful staff,Nice hot breakfast ,Clean rooms,nice italian food in restaurant,close to where i visit. Overall my stay was very enjoyable.I also recommend this place to transient people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed two jacuzzi suites during the New York State Fair.

One room had a really, really funky odor. I'm not sure if someone had overflowed the jacuzzi or what the cause of the odor might be. We asked the front desk if we could change rooms and was told that there weren't any other jacuzzi suites available. The room otherwise seemed okay.

The worst part of staying in the jacuzzi rooms was that the rooms didn't seem larger than a standard room and given the footprint of the jacuzzi there is only the beds, TV/stand, and a small table with one chair in it in the room and that was it. One chair!! That meant that if you had two or more people in your room that they'd have to sit on the bed most of the time. Just seemed really odd and was really annoying after a while.

Ate at the hotel restaurant. Wasn't impressed at all. They only had one waitress working and it took forever to get our food, which was mediocre at best. They do have "groupon" style deals for it online if you do a little searching. Still wasn't worth it in our opinion.

We swam in the pool, which was okay but basic. I don't think it was heated, but I'm not certain.

Bar was nice and the bartender was friendly. That was the highlight of our stay, which isn't saying much.

Most likely would not stay here again. Obviously I realize this isn't a Four Seasons, but I do expect certain minimum standards and I think it was lacking in most of them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night while traveling from city to city. The room was clean, quiet and everything was working. Flat screen TV. Fast wifi. Nothing to complain about and all that for $45 plus tax, booked via priceline.co

Couple of things to mention: the side entrances do not have ramps, only stairs. So if you're in the side wings and don't want to carry your luggage you have to enter via the front. There is also not much choice for food in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 100 Farrell Road, State Fair Blvd & Farrell Rd, Syracuse, NY 13209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.