We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Genesee Grande Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Genesee Grande Hotel to your Saves list
The Genesee Grande Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip for a weekend trade show in a nearby mall complex. Great clean hotel, cool lobby, quiet location in Syracuse. Prompt service with a simle in the bar. Was nice and close to my venue. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear ChR0n1k,

Thank you for your kind words. It is our upmost pleasure to provide you with a comfortable stay while visiting Syracuse. Hopefully you found the time during the trade show to enjoy our great restaurant or explore our area. We are satisfied to hear that we meet all of your requirements during your trip and welcome you back anytime that you are in need of a place to rest and enjoy.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    99
    61
    21
    7
See reviews for
60
67
18
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
holmdel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were staying at one of their sister hotels and couldn't get the room for an additional night, so stayed here (which was where they sent us to have a full breakfast, not worth it). I felt like a kid again, travelling to a grand hotel w/ my parents. It was beautiful, very classy. The staff, very attentive. Further from pretty much everything you want to visit, but they have a car service that will take you anywhere and pick you up. The drivers act like mini tour guides, and loved the convenience. Parking was free, which was a welcome surprise. Free WiFi; coffee and newspapers in the lobby in the AM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Held a small group meeting at this location recently and it's tough to beat this property for price & value. The staff is very efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean and neat, and the amenities in terms of the restaurant, bar, and meeting rooms are all good.

The location is quiet, parking is free, the complimentary shuttle service is a nice plus, & while it's not in the midst of some sort of restaurant row, there are a few other options within walking distance. The Syracuse University campus is a comfortable walk (if the weather's cooperative).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay. Pricey breakfast, dinner so so.
However, we would return due to the courteous and friendly staff.
Would suggest that for the price, complementary continental breakfast,
Tea and coffee should be included.
Shuttle service is a nice touch. Drivers extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We took advantage of the "Labor Day" special and stayed there for two nights. Very clean room that seems to have been renovated recently. The room has a safe. We had a very quiet and comfortable stay there. The hotel is a little bit far from Armory Square if you want to eat downtown where the restaurants are located. We could walk but we have been told that it was a bit "sketchy". However, the hotel offers free shuttle to downtown and also the airport. Very convenient. There is also a very good and free parking.
Check-in, check-out was also very quick and efficient.

Room Tip: The "standard" room was just perfect, large enough for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pros: I saved money by booking through priceline (otherwise I would have been mad if I had paid full price).
Clean
Eco-friendly
Staff friendly and helpful
FREE SHUTTLE -2 mile radius and airport (besides being Clean, this was the redeeming factor in our rating)
Convenient to Armory Square and SU

Cons: Beds very soft!
Awkward room layout, not large enough to fit a table to eat at- or a double bed.
Our room was just big enough for my yoga mat to fit on the floor.
AC was super LOUD- woke us up when it went on and off (every 15 mins)
Barely enough room in the bathroom for toiletries.

I called ahead and let them know it was a birthday trip and they said they would do what they could for us to help us celebrate. NOTHING was done.
We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Awkward room layout. Awkward bathroom layout with no counter-top space.

Best room air-conditioning I've ever had in any hotel stay.

Best bedding I've ever had in any hotel stay.

Good food and service in the restaurant. They we're repaving the parking lot and it's obvious this is a very well maintained facility.

I stay in hotel rooms many-many nights per hear, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Genesee Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.