We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Genesee Grande Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Genesee Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Genesee Grande Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in Syracuse
Clearwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I just had to write and tell about this hotel. I recently stayed there for over a week and the entire time, from start to finish, was impeccable. The hotel was spotless and the staff was unlike any I have seen anywhere else! They could not have been friendlier or more helpful. I also have to say that the food is the unbelievable. It rivals five star restaurants that I have eaten at. From breakfast and lunch, to dinner and desserts, everything was superb. This hotel is an independant and they definitely have it right. Marriott and Hilton could take some lessons from them!!!! Great job! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    91
    57
    22
    7
See reviews for
55
65
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Always enjoy staying at this gem of a property when we visit Syracuse! The rooms are well appointed, and very clean. Also enjoy the newly added breakfast/coffee and tea bar. The staff is very attentive to our needs as well. A nice independent property!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great location for an overnighter or for business if you need to be close to hospitals or the university. Close to i90 turn-off and just a few blocks away from Starbucks and Chipolte.
We required an overnight sleep for a 2-day drive heading home. There is a very good parking lot (freshly paved), and parking is free (!)
Check-in was fast, but we were assigned a room in the newer "motel-style" wing and the room was disappointingly really rather small. The pleasant front desk manager was quite accommodating to our concern and offered us an upgrade in the original hotel building. We were delighted to be assigned a suite with a queen bed and kitchen. The suite was large, very clean, good bathroom, and most importantly the bed was very comfortable and a splendid sleep was had. Not only was the WiFi free but it was also strong and very dependable. A few blocks away is a few options for meals, and there's a good restaurant on the property.
The front lobby is spacious and very well appointed, and the original hotel property is restored with taste and respect, including vintage style furniture and lighting. Overall, this is probably the numero uno choice for lodging in Syracuse... professional staff, impressive property, very clean, and good value (regardless of upgrading). The Genesee Grande Hotel is a wise choice for a business traveler or for an over-nighter.
Request a room assignment in the original hotel building, it is so much more desirable than the newer extended-stay-style "motel" wing.

Room Tip: Request a room assignment in the original hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Genesee Grande for a wedding. Upon making the reservation, I requested we be near our daughter, son-in-law and 3 grandbabies. Not only were we close, but we were both down a private little hallway! It was almost like we were part of their suite and made it really easy to help with the children. Our room was quite small, but lovely. I did miss a night table on my side of the bed for a drink and my cell phone and used the wooden desk chair instead. During nap time, our grandson wet our bed and I mentioned it to a housekeeper in the hallway. Even though it was late afternoon, we had clean sheets that night. All in all, it was a very nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Impressive! The Genesee Grande is a beautiful, clean, sophisticated and elegant hotel in downtown Syracuse. Its bar and restaurant were top-notch along with the "Road Warrior" suite itself. Would recommend this hotel (along with its sister properties - The Parkview and Hotel Skyler) above and beyond any other hotels in Syracuse. The Stash Partner Hotels Group - their owner - does an excellent job in remaking older hotel properties into cool, modern boutique accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Always a nice stay. However, I tend not to like their mattresses. The staff is nice and property is wonderful. I have stayed in this property before and would stay again. It's sister property the Hotel Skyler is also a property that I would Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was very nice.

However there were little things missing from our room:
No overhead light in the room and no wall switch attached to a table lamp.
(kind of dangerous if you check in after dark)
Security safe in closet is good too hold valuables- but since there is no light anywhere near it - you need a flash light to open and close it.
No soap holder in tub/shower - soap falls off edge of tub consistently
No full length mirror-only one available - over the sink
No desk
Will we stay there again - probably not - but just thought I would mention this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Genesee Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.