We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Suracuse, it's great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Genesee Grande Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Genesee Grande Hotel to your Saves list
The Genesee Grande Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“For Suracuse, it's great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We've been traveling to the 'Cuse for the last 30 years to visit my husband's family. Over the years, we have stayed I'm from low-low budget places to, now that we can afford it, nicer hotels. Syracuse does not have a wide selection of great places, but the Genesee Grande is up there. Now, what would be a 3 star place in other, more metropolitan areas is 5 star in upstate NY. So the GG is really a 3 star but gets extra points for being in Syracuse.

The lobby is lovely. Service is fine but not always polished. The decor in public spaces is fresh and clean. We stayed in. King suite in the newer building - large and well furnished. The bathroom was clean with nice finishes. The bed and bedding very comfy.

We've stayed at lovely hotels all over, and the GG is by far not nearly deserving of rave reviews, but it is just enough taste of luxury to make our trips up north a bit more comfortable. And you do pay - not horrible prices compared to other cities, but it is expensive for Syracuse.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear pbgvluv,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your nice comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and the comfort of your room. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the `Cuse.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    114
    67
    25
    9
See reviews for
71
76
22
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over the Christmas holiday. Service is always very good. Staff goes out of their way to please. The suite is huge. 3 very large spaces. Great for entertaining. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds in any hotel I have stayed in. Good workout room too. Very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Kenneth K,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Genesee Grande Hotel for a 2 night girls weekend. We booked thru Priceline.com (which I won't do again - but that is another review). Before booking on Priceline I called the hotel to make sure we could have a room with 2 beds I was told no problem, that I should get my Priceline number and call back which I did. Again, I was told no problem.

Well we get there and the hotel looks nice - the lobby is lovely - there are 2 buildings. We are told our room is in the building over, we head over there still looking good although the lobby smelled of fish and there is no restaurant in that building? We head to the elevator which has some gooey substance on the outside door looks like someone maybe spilled a milkshake? Go to the room and you guessed it ... one bed and the room is TINY I can pretty much reach my arms across and touch the other side of the room. I call down and tell them this is unacceptable and they said sorry nothing we can do you aren't guaranteed anything thru Priceline. So we head down to the front desk and speak to the manager who tells us again they are booked and there isn't anything they can do - so we tell her we are not sharing a bed and there isn't any room for a cot so we will sleep in the lobby : )
Somehow they found us a room with 2 beds. The room as once again small but clean, the bathroom was also fine and clean (also a bit small).
There appeared to be a climate control unit in the room but it was only a fan and the room got very stuffy at night - we wound up opening the window.
There was a restaurant in the building and a coffee bar but nothing right near the hotel. We walked about a mile to a coffee shop.
Also, the hotel has a HUGE crow problem - we came out in the morning and our van was covered with bird droppings it was gross, the windshield was so bad we went in and asked for cleaner and a rag since we couldn't see the desk clerk told us yes they have crow fans but they aren't set up - they need to be...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear aghmom,

Thank you for your contributions on Tripadvisor. We are glad our staff was able to accommodate your room requests. Please know we try our best to accommodate each guest as availability allows. With 3rd-party reservations, however specific room types cannot be guaranteed until the day of arrival. Again, thank you for your review and we hope you give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for just one night and found it to be very well appointed and quite clean. I was a little concerned about some of the negative reviews but didn't see almost anything wrong with this hotel. It's definitely a 4 star hotel from the lobby with it's nice furnishings and decor to the rooms as well.
Upon checking we were given a room with 1 Queen but needed an extra bed (i.e. room with 2 double or sofa bed). Our room was changed per our request but the room we were given in the tower across from the main lobby it didn't have the extra bed so we went back down and they switched the room to one that did have a sofa bed and a queen bed. Both the original room in the older looking tower and the new room in the low rise section in the main building looked to be identical in the furnishings and decor so I didn't see any rooms that looked to be done up differently.
The room was very spacious with lots of room to walk around, flat screen on the wall, bathroom was nice (granite countertop, marble titles, and spacious too), the bed was comfortable, etc. I'd put this hotel on par and perhaps nicer than some hiltons, sheraton/westin, marriott, etc. It was also nice that the hotel had free wifi and parking which I don't think you get at the Crowne Plaza which is only a couple blocks away. I also thought the downtown location was quite good and easy to get to. There are a few restaurants that are walking distance but downtown Syracuse in this area is pretty deserted in the evenings.
FYI - Breakfast is a la carte and has a varied menu with choices ranging from $6-$15. I'd recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear 14Roger,

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendations. We are very pleased to hear our staff was quickly attentive to your room type request. Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The lobby is beautiful as you walk in with marble, leather seating and a koi pond. This is an old hotel that has been renovated. My room was in the main part of the hotel and was just average. Two full beds, nice linens, desk, dresser and closet. The bathroom had been updated with marble tub surround and new toilet and sink. There is a hair dryer and shampoo etc. I was attending a conference so most of my time was spent out of the room anyway. The conference space was nice and the temperature was perfect, not too cold not to warm. The conference included meals and the food was excellent !! The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The only complaint I have was the parking area was small and looks like it needed repaving. The hotel was centrally located to the university, sites of Syracuse and the “old” town area. Easy on and off thruway exits. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If traveling in the winter ask for a room in the main building so you don't have to go outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Kathy987,

We are so happy to hear your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The reception area and all common areas of the hotel would likely rate four stars by any criteria-absolutely beautiful and set great expectations for our stay. Unfortunately, the room was decided behind the rest of the place. Although bathroom was well appointed, the rest of the room was tiny (about twice as wide and twice as long as the full bed in the room (not even a queen for two adults). Wallpaper was peeling and the furniture seemed to be straight from the 70s. I'd go there again for dinner and drinks, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear MohicanTraveller,

We would like to thank you for your great comments regarding the reception and the common areas of the hotel. We are sorry your room did not meet your expectations. Please know that we have many different room types which may better suit your needs. Please stop by at the front desk and let us show you the other room types next time you are in the area. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is just a beautiful old place, well maintained clean, areas, nice restaurant. The rooms were well lit, very clean with beautiful old well maintained furniture. They have also put in new LCD TVs.
They had a lovely assortment of high end shampoos and conditioners and soaps.
The cons were the TV is mounted to the wall so you either worked, or laid in bed watching TV. The other slight issue is a very old heating system that was turned off to cooling functions ( I opened the window).
The hotel staff also did not know what pillows were in the rooms, I guess I am the only allergic traveler in the world? It tooks about a half hour to get the pillows removed.

Room Tip: Ask for work space as a business traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Bob W,

Thank you for taking your time to write a kind review. We would like to let you know your concerns have been passed onto the department managers to rectify the issues, and also will be used as a training topic for the staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#3 of 30 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#5 of 30 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#1 of 30 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#14 of 30 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Genesee Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.