We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, well appointed, 4 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Genesee Grande Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Genesee Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Genesee Grande Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, well appointed, 4 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for just one night and found it to be very well appointed and quite clean. I was a little concerned about some of the negative reviews but didn't see almost anything wrong with this hotel. It's definitely a 4 star hotel from the lobby with it's nice furnishings and decor to the rooms as well.
Upon checking we were given a room with 1 Queen but needed an extra bed (i.e. room with 2 double or sofa bed). Our room was changed per our request but the room we were given in the tower across from the main lobby it didn't have the extra bed so we went back down and they switched the room to one that did have a sofa bed and a queen bed. Both the original room in the older looking tower and the new room in the low rise section in the main building looked to be identical in the furnishings and decor so I didn't see any rooms that looked to be done up differently.
The room was very spacious with lots of room to walk around, flat screen on the wall, bathroom was nice (granite countertop, marble titles, and spacious too), the bed was comfortable, etc. I'd put this hotel on par and perhaps nicer than some hiltons, sheraton/westin, marriott, etc. It was also nice that the hotel had free wifi and parking which I don't think you get at the Crowne Plaza which is only a couple blocks away. I also thought the downtown location was quite good and easy to get to. There are a few restaurants that are walking distance but downtown Syracuse in this area is pretty deserted in the evenings.
FYI - Breakfast is a la carte and has a varied menu with choices ranging from $6-$15. I'd recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear 14Roger,

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendations. We are very pleased to hear our staff was quickly attentive to your room type request. Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    91
    57
    22
    7
See reviews for
55
65
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheektowaga, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The lobby is beautiful as you walk in with marble, leather seating and a koi pond. This is an old hotel that has been renovated. My room was in the main part of the hotel and was just average. Two full beds, nice linens, desk, dresser and closet. The bathroom had been updated with marble tub surround and new toilet and sink. There is a hair dryer and shampoo etc. I was attending a conference so most of my time was spent out of the room anyway. The conference space was nice and the temperature was perfect, not too cold not to warm. The conference included meals and the food was excellent !! The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The only complaint I have was the parking area was small and looks like it needed repaving. The hotel was centrally located to the university, sites of Syracuse and the “old” town area. Easy on and off thruway exits. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If traveling in the winter ask for a room in the main building so you don't have to go outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Kathy987,

We are so happy to hear your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The reception area and all common areas of the hotel would likely rate four stars by any criteria-absolutely beautiful and set great expectations for our stay. Unfortunately, the room was decided behind the rest of the place. Although bathroom was well appointed, the rest of the room was tiny (about twice as wide and twice as long as the full bed in the room (not even a queen for two adults). Wallpaper was peeling and the furniture seemed to be straight from the 70s. I'd go there again for dinner and drinks, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear MohicanTraveller,

We would like to thank you for your great comments regarding the reception and the common areas of the hotel. We are sorry your room did not meet your expectations. Please know that we have many different room types which may better suit your needs. Please stop by at the front desk and let us show you the other room types next time you are in the area. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is just a beautiful old place, well maintained clean, areas, nice restaurant. The rooms were well lit, very clean with beautiful old well maintained furniture. They have also put in new LCD TVs.
They had a lovely assortment of high end shampoos and conditioners and soaps.
The cons were the TV is mounted to the wall so you either worked, or laid in bed watching TV. The other slight issue is a very old heating system that was turned off to cooling functions ( I opened the window).
The hotel staff also did not know what pillows were in the rooms, I guess I am the only allergic traveler in the world? It tooks about a half hour to get the pillows removed.

Room Tip: Ask for work space as a business traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Bob W,

Thank you for taking your time to write a kind review. We would like to let you know your concerns have been passed onto the department managers to rectify the issues, and also will be used as a training topic for the staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLD OHIO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are attending any event near the SU, this is a great place to stay. I stayed in the adjacent building connected to the main lobby buikding. I believed it use to be an apartment building. The room was huge and decorated quite nicely. There was also a frig in the room-something I do appreciate. There wasn't a coffeemaker: I called the front desk and they sent on quickly to my room. Only drawback was the floor above squeaked when people were moving about in certain parts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear 89506,

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent stay! We will definitely look into the squeaking sound that you mentioned. We look forward to seeing you next time you are visiting Syracuse.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came to Syracuse for my SU reunion, and this hotel was very convenient to campus, about a ten-minute walk. Our room was decent size, nothing spectacular. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very, very comfortable, the TV was huge, although for some reason couldn't make NBC come in. BUT - for $219 a night you should get a coffeemaker in the room and a chair to sit in other than a desk chair.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear HBC_7,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. For your future reference, we do offer coffee makers in the rooms upon request, as well as complimentary coffee in the lobby. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

More personality than a typical chain hotel. Warm, inviting and very comfortable room. The room was not very large, but had all the typical amenities. The bathroom was charming, and not institutional. Great quality TV and plenty of towels and linens. The beds were very comfortable.
The staff was friendly and helpful. About 10 mins after our arrival, there was a knock on our door. A staff member asked if he might come in to replace a light bulb. I had just noticed that one of the three bathroom bulbs was actually out. I was very impressed that it was replaced quietly, without any word from us. Parking is free in a courtyard type area - a big plus in this tight neighborhood. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
CamNJ,

Thank you for your great recommendation on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to hear our staff was helpful and attentive during your stay. We look forward to your return the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Genesee Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.