We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tale of two places...wonderful common areas and substandard rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Genesee Grande Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Genesee Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Genesee Grande Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tale of two places...wonderful common areas and substandard rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The reception area and all common areas of the hotel would likely rate four stars by any criteria-absolutely beautiful and set great expectations for our stay. Unfortunately, the room was decided behind the rest of the place. Although bathroom was well appointed, the rest of the room was tiny (about twice as wide and twice as long as the full bed in the room (not even a queen for two adults). Wallpaper was peeling and the furniture seemed to be straight from the 70s. I'd go there again for dinner and drinks, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear MohicanTraveller,

We would like to thank you for your great comments regarding the reception and the common areas of the hotel. We are sorry your room did not meet your expectations. Please know that we have many different room types which may better suit your needs. Please stop by at the front desk and let us show you the other room types next time you are in the area. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    91
    57
    22
    7
See reviews for
55
65
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is just a beautiful old place, well maintained clean, areas, nice restaurant. The rooms were well lit, very clean with beautiful old well maintained furniture. They have also put in new LCD TVs.
They had a lovely assortment of high end shampoos and conditioners and soaps.
The cons were the TV is mounted to the wall so you either worked, or laid in bed watching TV. The other slight issue is a very old heating system that was turned off to cooling functions ( I opened the window).
The hotel staff also did not know what pillows were in the rooms, I guess I am the only allergic traveler in the world? It tooks about a half hour to get the pillows removed.

Room Tip: Ask for work space as a business traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Bob W,

Thank you for taking your time to write a kind review. We would like to let you know your concerns have been passed onto the department managers to rectify the issues, and also will be used as a training topic for the staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLD OHIO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are attending any event near the SU, this is a great place to stay. I stayed in the adjacent building connected to the main lobby buikding. I believed it use to be an apartment building. The room was huge and decorated quite nicely. There was also a frig in the room-something I do appreciate. There wasn't a coffeemaker: I called the front desk and they sent on quickly to my room. Only drawback was the floor above squeaked when people were moving about in certain parts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear 89506,

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent stay! We will definitely look into the squeaking sound that you mentioned. We look forward to seeing you next time you are visiting Syracuse.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came to Syracuse for my SU reunion, and this hotel was very convenient to campus, about a ten-minute walk. Our room was decent size, nothing spectacular. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very, very comfortable, the TV was huge, although for some reason couldn't make NBC come in. BUT - for $219 a night you should get a coffeemaker in the room and a chair to sit in other than a desk chair.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear HBC_7,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. For your future reference, we do offer coffee makers in the rooms upon request, as well as complimentary coffee in the lobby. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

More personality than a typical chain hotel. Warm, inviting and very comfortable room. The room was not very large, but had all the typical amenities. The bathroom was charming, and not institutional. Great quality TV and plenty of towels and linens. The beds were very comfortable.
The staff was friendly and helpful. About 10 mins after our arrival, there was a knock on our door. A staff member asked if he might come in to replace a light bulb. I had just noticed that one of the three bathroom bulbs was actually out. I was very impressed that it was replaced quietly, without any word from us. Parking is free in a courtyard type area - a big plus in this tight neighborhood. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
CamNJ,

Thank you for your great recommendation on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to hear our staff was helpful and attentive during your stay. We look forward to your return the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a quick overnight here, and wished I could stay longer. Spectacularly comfortable bed and Ii could have cried when I had to get out of it! Very spacious room, with a sitting area, and a big bathroom. Room service delivered promptly and delicious. Lobby is beautiful, and I loved the koi pond. So nice to stay in a place that is a little different. Liked it very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear NYerUWS,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we provided the top-notch service for which we are known. We truly appreciate your comments and are excited to see you again!

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Would have liked to rate this as 'good'
The staff were generally extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great - the belgian waffle was one of the best I have had. Lobby area was spacious, and I appreciated being able to get cups of tea or coffee all day. The room was nice, but dark, with insufficient lighting to sit and read It was annoying to have the two tv's (one in the sitting area, one in the bed area) have different numbers for the same channel. The bathroom was on the small side, as I would expect in a hotel of this age, however I would have expected better towel quality for a hotel in this price range. The mattress also left something to be desired, having a tendancy to roll you to the center. It was very noisy at night due to a wedding party - I would have expected the hotel to have put us on a different floor to aviod this problem. Overall a nice hotel, but as another reviewer said it did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Deborah E,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfast at the 1060 Bistro. We would like to let you know we have corrected the issues about the TVs in your room, as well as the mattress. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Genesee Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.