We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Genesee Grande Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Genesee Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Genesee Grande Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
New York City
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a quick overnight here, and wished I could stay longer. Spectacularly comfortable bed and Ii could have cried when I had to get out of it! Very spacious room, with a sitting area, and a big bathroom. Room service delivered promptly and delicious. Lobby is beautiful, and I loved the koi pond. So nice to stay in a place that is a little different. Liked it very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear NYerUWS,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we provided the top-notch service for which we are known. We truly appreciate your comments and are excited to see you again!

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    91
    57
    22
    7
See reviews for
55
65
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Would have liked to rate this as 'good'
The staff were generally extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great - the belgian waffle was one of the best I have had. Lobby area was spacious, and I appreciated being able to get cups of tea or coffee all day. The room was nice, but dark, with insufficient lighting to sit and read It was annoying to have the two tv's (one in the sitting area, one in the bed area) have different numbers for the same channel. The bathroom was on the small side, as I would expect in a hotel of this age, however I would have expected better towel quality for a hotel in this price range. The mattress also left something to be desired, having a tendancy to roll you to the center. It was very noisy at night due to a wedding party - I would have expected the hotel to have put us on a different floor to aviod this problem. Overall a nice hotel, but as another reviewer said it did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Deborah E,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfast at the 1060 Bistro. We would like to let you know we have corrected the issues about the TVs in your room, as well as the mattress. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a wedding at the hotel and the experience was perfect. The front desk staff was helpful and arranged a room close to the elevator for my elderly mother. The room wasn't large, but it was big enough and well-appointed. The reception was a ton of fun and the food was very good. There is free parking which is a nice plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear DCaprilee,

Thank you for the great comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you want a fresh place and nothing more, this should do it. Lobby is nice and the rooms are spacious, simple and clean. I would stay here again for a quick overnite stay. Oh, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Luv_totravel121,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed there for a 3 day convention. Our rooms were pre-assigned. LIKES: Very clean, comfortable bed, excellent food, comfortable lounge area, charming decor in lobby, bar and restaraunt, courteous staff. DISLIKES: I had to wait until 3:00 to check in, my room: in the older building was smallish and drab. No full length mirror, no coffee maker. Bad neighborhood, not safe to walk in. BIGGEST DISLIKE: I asked twice, and my request was politely declined both times, to be taken by the hotel shuttle to Destiny USA (formerly known as the Carousel Mall), a big area attraction, and not more than 5 miles away. It cost me $15 plus tip each way. I think the hotel has some sort of agreement with the local cab companies. Because of this, I will not stay there again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Nancy F,
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel and our staff. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and the lounge as well. We are sorry that there may have been a miscommunication; our guaranteed check-in time is at 3:00 P.M. and we do offer coffeemakers upon request, as well as complimentary coffee in the lobby .Our Hotel shuttle is based upon availability and primarily used for transportation centers, the Syracuse University campus and downtown. We hope you were able to utilize it to travel to the appointed areas. We truly hope to have you as our guest the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,On
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here while en route to NYC. This is an older hotel that has seen renos over the years. Even with the renos, the hotel has been able to retain its' charm. We were greeted by the front desk staff with a smile and very good service. The rooms are of good size and are kept very clean. The bed are very comfortable and the bedding of high quality. The bar is a great place to go for a relaxing drink. They have a very good wine and beer list and I am sure that there is something there for everyone. I would most certainly stay at this hotel again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Duane L,

What a wonderful review to read! We thank you for taking the time to express your experience. We are excited to have you as our guest again.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clyde, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Genesee Grand in August 2012 and the room was no better than a flop house. The toilet was not even attached to the floor. It wobbled when used. There was a large rip in the carpet at the entry door. The light bulbs were burned out on the light next to the beds. The bathroom floor had schmutz in all the corners and was poorly laid out. The electrical outlet on the desk was broken. The iron was so high in the closet that my wife could not reach it and once i got it down found the plastic housing was broken. The cost for this "first class hotel" was $300 per night!

I wrote the hotel about this abysmal performance and they have not deigned to respond. Stay here at your own risk.

Room Tip: My room was terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Larry B,

We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Please know we strive for excellent guest experiences and we are disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Your comments were addressed by our department managers immediately after your review on TripAdvisor, but it was unfortunate we did not hear about these issues any sooner. We would hope to have you as our guest in the future so that we can provide you with the exceptional experience that you deserve.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Genesee Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.