We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genessee Grand Syracuse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Genesee Grande Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Genesee Grande Hotel to your Saves list
The Genesee Grande Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Genessee Grand Syracuse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very nice hotel - staff is really nice and courteous. One of the waitresses gave us lots of good tips about going to Armory Square. The hotel restaurant is quite good and reasonably priced. The room was very clean, and we were given an upgrade, despite making our reservation through a discounted site.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear 60795Traveler,

We thank you for your wonderful comments about the hotel and the staff. Your review has been shared with all of our staff to enjoy and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    109
    65
    24
    7
See reviews for
66
72
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Bait and switch. Don't stay here.
I reserved a room with two beds the day before my visit but upon check-in I was told that the reservation agent said I hadn't been promised two beds and that if I wanted a larger room with two beds it would be an extra $50 plus tax. It was late, my family was tired, so we paid the extra money. I wouldn't have made the reservation if I was only getting one bed.

There are probably hotels with a worse attitude but I can't remember anything this bad before.

The desk

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Westcoastguy77,

We thank you for taking time to review your visit to our hotel, we apologize for any miscommunication you may have received when purchasing your guest room via Priceline.

After reviewing your reservation, we found that you had made your reservation via this site which unfortunately does not guarantee a specific room type for the rate that was presented.
Our records show that upon you arriving at the hotel one day prior to your original reservation, the discounted rate was indeed honored, but as you requested a different room type, the rate was changed to correspond with your request. In fact for the one-time fee of $50 upcharge you were moved into one of our larger suites for two nights, well below the published rates for that room type.

We would like to welcome you back to the Genesee Grande for future stays and recommend you call the hotel directly after making your reservation if you require a specific room type.
We thank you for being our guest and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Got a very nice rate on this hotel through Priceline. We've stayed in several Syracuse hotels over the years while visiting our daughter in college, and I would have to agree with a review from another site that if it were not for the University (or the adjoining medical center), Syracuse would scarcely have a reason to exist! And, indeed, some of the local hotel properties have proven to be lackluster, at best.

The Genessee Grande is one of those 'tweener' hotels. That is, not really modern and cutting edge sleek or hip, but not really old enough to have that distinctive classic old hotel feel. (The lobby comes close, but it seems to end there.) In all fairness, our room was across the breezeway in the annex, so it may have been a bit more non-descript than those in the main building, but the decor had that 1970s feel about it, even though I suspect (by the looks of things) they've made a concerted effort to keep the place updated and spiffy.

Service was friendly and helpful. The private parking lot in back was a nice perk. (Though it looked security protected when we arrived late at night, only to realize the next morning that it was completely open from the back side.) The neighborhood is OK as far as Syracuse goes. We did walk to a local restaurant, then back from the theater one night. Felt about as safe as I do walking ANYplace in Syracuse at night.

Would happily stay there again. Keep hoping it'll come up in another Priceline bid, but alas, we're running out of college visits so that may never happen!

Room Tip: Do the rooms in the older building have a bit more character?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear PDCE-85,

Thank you for your contribution and kind review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed in the 'Cuse for 4 days. Genesee is a nice boutique hotel.
It has the personal touch and even a live person calls for your wake-up call. I was picked up @ the airport by a Cadillac. Nice touch. Checking in was easy. One of the best parts about the rooms are the beds and pillows. Very soft and comfortable.I probably got some of my best sleep in months here.
The food was good here also.
Being that the buildings are older, the water takes a while to get warm/hot but other than that, there were no issues with this hotel. Very friendly staff and accomodating on every shift.
Just make sure you dont have to go to the mall and dont have a rental. The shuttle will not go there but that is understandable. To and from the airport, and to and from a few restaurants in the area. Not a big deal. Overall, this is an very good place to stay. And, its not far from bars and restaurant, at all. I didnt have to call even once for a complaint.

PS If you are a person who likes bright lights, you wont find it in the rooms. Mostly lamps in rooms but wasnt a problem for me.

Room Tip: Run water in bathroom earlier than 2 minutes to get hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear rodioCT,

Thank you so much for your time and wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear you had a great experience with us and excited to see you next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Clean and friendly hotel. Very helpful and courteous staff. None of the usual "attitude" encountered elsewhere. Very good restaurant. This hotel is a short distance from the state and federal court houses in Syracuse and even offers transportation. I always stay here when in Syracuse.

Room Tip: full kitchen suites are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear 197448562,

We kindly thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the Genesee Grande Hotel. Please know your comments will be shared with our staff to enjoy. We look forward to your return next time you are in Syracuse.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stay overnight mid-week almost very week in Syracuse, and I usually choose the Genesee Grand Hotel. The room sare always immaculate, the staff is very courteous and friendly, and always very accomodating to me. They often upgrade my room when possible, and always give me a choice of room location when feasible. They have an excellent bar and restaurant and great meeting facilities that we also use for our annnual conference. Their in-house exercise facility is as well equipped as many YMCA's, with a full set of dumbells, several weight machines, treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, etc.

Room Tip: Exercise room is in the Mayflower building, across the breezway from the main hotel. I actually pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear MikeNXty,

Thank you for your magnificent review on TripAdvisor. We are proud hear the Genesee Grande is your hotel of choice when in the Syracuse area. We look forward to your frequent return as the Genesee Grande Hotel becomes your “home away from home” in Syracuse.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were booked into the Parkview, owned by the same company, but the Parkview didn't have the 2 double beds we requested (sold out for the Syracuse/Georgetown basketball game) so the manager offered to put us up at the Genesee Grande. Beautiful lobby, friendly staff, spacious room, excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear, Jimbowein,

Thank you for your wonderful review about the hotel and the staff. We are pleased to hear our staff was attentive and accommodating with your requests. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Genesee Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.