We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is 10 mins or less to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Location is 10 mins or less to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Easy check-in, lovely room with comfy bed and pillows, desk area, microwave and frig. Flat screen TV. Not very many channels though. Business center, pool, and fitness center available. Nice lobby area and good breakfast.
10 mins to SU campus, Dinosaur BBQ, etc.
Very close to the Fairgrounds.
I would go there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    73
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
94
31
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great hotel for my one night stay on the college tour circuit. It really is in the middle of nowhere but its a clean, well run hotel. The room was perfect, the front desk was very helpful with questions and the breakfast buffet was always restocked and was exceptionally clean. For those visiting Syracuse University, its less than 15 minutes away and the room rate is far less than you will pay in town. There is also a walkway to the Quaker Steak and Lube restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed here July 4th weekend on a girls shopping trip. The room was nice, it looked as if it was hastly furnished. It didn't have a good use of space, there was a tiny chair in a big corner, but thats not all that important. We reserved a jr suite and it was supposed to come with a couch but they didn't have any rooms with couches so we settled. Good thing we didn't mind sharing beds. Everything else was fine, the breakfast was great as usual, its pretty much the reason we always stay at a Holiday Inn Express. Our first night we stayed, we left to get dinner and since it was raining it made our key to the back entrance not work properly. Luckily the hotel staff heard us fiddling with the door and opened it up for us. It was a bit odd that rain would do this but ok, we got it reprogrammed and moved on.
The hotel on the 4th floor, the wifi is very bad. Unless we sat beside the door, we had little to no wifi signal. We were a bit upset over this because we had planned to use the wifi as a means to communicate with family but we were unable to.

The hotel is at a great location, about 10 minutes from Destiny USA shopping and 30-40 minutes from the Waterloo Outlets. We would stay here again, but maybe not on the 4th floor unless they did something to improve their wifi.

Room Tip: Higher floors have poor wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The staff was efficient and friendly and the hotel was nice and clean. We arrived during a thunderstorm and were on our way to our room in the elevator when the lightening struck and the elevator stopped and refused to go up. It was lightening a number of times while we were in the elevator and even though it kept trying to reset to start again...it did not and we were stuck. The alarm button and call button yielded no results and we were stuck for approximately five to seven minutes with no result. When it finally managed to reset itself and opened the doors for us to leave we checked with the front desk and they were going to send someone to check it out...do not know if anyone did come, but we didn't use the elevator again until the following morning. The stairs to the third floor did very nicely instead. Except for that little glitch it was a pleasant stay. They do provide a morning breakfast which we did not partake of but was available.

Room Tip: If you want to visit the nearest restaurant which is in sight of the hotel...don't bother unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
muckon,

You made it through the storm! Thank you for your review and again we are so sorry it caused you to be briefly stuck in our elevator! We did get that situation addressed immediately and as you mentioned everything was back up and running shortly. We are so happy to hear that despite that bump in the road your stay was enjoyable and you found our hotel to be nice and clean. We hope you come and see us again real soon; hopefully in good weather!

Sincerely,
John Tees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Driving across country at 2am finding a hotel to stop at was the most important thing. The front desk was nice at check in, the room was nice and the bed easy to sleep on. It is in an awkward location and doesn't really have anything close to it. It is a brand new holiday inn so maybe the area will be built up around it. Overall good stay for a quick stop.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
jlmh49,

We agree! A hotel is the most important thing at 2am during a long drive. We are glad to hear the bed was easy to sleep on and the staff was nice. Hopefully you grabbed a cinnamon roll on your way out the door for the rest of your trip!

Thanks for the review!

John Tees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very nice hotel and extremely pleasant and helpful staff. My wife and I have stayed here a couple of times and have been very happy on each occasion . It is pretty isolated but it is very close to the highway so I find that a plus for me. There is literally not another building within 200 yards of this hotel. The only building that is close is a roadhouse/diner that is about 1/2 mile away. I can't remember the name but the food is good and the decor/atmosphere is worth the visit. They have choppers and snowmobiles handing from the ceiling!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
dev0014,

Thank you for your continued business. We are glad you consider our property to be a great place to stay! The name of the restaurant next door is the Quaker Steak & Lube and they do have great decor and food. Thanks again for the 5-star review, see you next time!

Sincerely,
John Tees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here while attending a horse show. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I stayed here last year too and I was not happy with my room. They appear to have upgraded the beds and we were pleased. We would stay here again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
paso56,

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are glad you found our beds to be comfortable and hope you found success at the horse show! See you again next year!

John Tees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Address: 6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.