We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One Night Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel was well priced, loved that breakfast was included. Only negative comment on the room - no fan in the bathroom - with 4 people (2 adults 2 kids) you need a fan in the bathroom. Locationw as not what we expected, in the middle of a field - but within reasonable distance from shopping and great food.

Room Tip: Arrived late and left early so cannot say too much; beds were very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
92
31
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bluff, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i had the best stay ever.i stayed 3 weeks and didnt want to leave Christine kuczynski made sure i got the best directions to eat maria had my room clean the two joes did a wonderful breakfast thanks to all the staff jess erica tristan alyssa great job im coming back next time im in syracuse ny

Room Tip: room 408 is quiet and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Everardo S,

Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to all those mentioned in your post. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very nice hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was awesome and included. When we got there the room we had booked therough the 800 number was not available so was a little dispointed but not for long as John gave us a great room with a cot that was like another bed. The pool was nice and the restaurant the hotel recomended.... Quacker Steak and Lube was GREAT. This out in no where so bring what you need. Very close to the fair grounds. Really enjoyed our stay would stay there again

Room Tip: they are all nice we had 2 queen bed and cot nice size and it also had fridge, coffee maker and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
JoAnn,

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you at our hotel for the recent horse show and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, the Pool was decent sized (but freezing). My only complaint is the lack of towels. We had 4 people in our room who needed to shower and went swimming. Twice I asked for extra towels so we could have dry ones to shower with and swim the next day. The girl gave us old bath mats. An old bath mat may be a sufficient towel for my 3 year old but didn't really cut it for mom. Seems like kind of a silly complaint, but not when you are freezing and dripping though the hallways on your way back to your room. Otherwise though, a great place to spend the night on our way through NY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Lisa,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Also, thank you for your feedback regarding pool towels. I am happy to tell you more are in route!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had to work at the fairgrounds for the weekend and this hotel was close with a good rate. When we arrived later in the evening we were quickly taken care of and were told of a close place to grab a bit to eat (no place to eat at the hotel). The staff was freindly and took good care of us. The brekfast in the morning was nice (loved the cinnamon rolls) but I wished they had fresh fruit. A banana or apple would have been nice. One evening we returned to cookies and fresh coffee, that was a nice surprise. The fitness room is small but nice. I would stay here again from a good experiance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Tristan took us in very late and provided us with excellent service well beyond his scope of support . We really appreciate how much he helped us, and the overall friendliness of the staff. The room was beautiful , well worth a trip from Canada to shop at Destiny. I will be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotels in the Syracuse area are hard to come by. The strange thing is, Mr. and Mrs. ChristianCritic have stayed at and reviewed Holiday Inns before. This particular Holiday Inn was in close proximity to my parents house and to the New York State Thruway, which made it incredibly convenient. My complaints are as follows: the pricing was higher than what was advertised online. The typical $95 a night was actually $105 a night plus taxes and fees. Prior to this stay I have never payed more than night $95 for a stay at the Holiday Inn. Second, the rooms more closely resembled a Super 8 than a Holiday Inn, they appeared outdated, and our room (though non-smoking) smelled quite smokey. My wish for the travelers is that they would find a convenient stay, a comfortable room, and an affordable price. The Holiday Inn Express in Syracuse met some of this criteria but not all. I hope they have plans to make some updates to the rooms (particularly the squishy beds) and ensure that "non-smoking" means just that.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Christian Critic,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your room smelled smokey during your stay with us. While we are 100% smoke free, it can be a challenge to keep everyone from smoking within the hotel. We do have measures in place to rid the hotel of smoke when this happens and we apologize that this was not successfully completed before your arrival. Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are on a plan to continuously update our product. For example all of the lights, pictures, and mirrors in the guest rooms were replaced in 2012 and more exciting changes are in store for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Address: 6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.