We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 31 hotels in Syracuse
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

VERY difficult hotel to find...buy some signs ! Service was no hum. There is nowhere to eat dinner near here and their "pantry freezer" was empty of dinner entrees. Business Center does not allow you to scan, only fax (hello 2012 not 1985). How any people reading this review fax a person anymore ? Elevator made creepy noises and I noticed other small areas in need of repair.

Suggestion to management / owner - instead of putting up posters asking for good scores on your survey, spend a little time in the hotel as a guest and make some changes...the scores will come on their own.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear LifeTravelerSF,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the location of our property and the experience you had trying to locate our hotel. I understand the inconvenience this has caused you. I am also sorry for our elevator and our Business Center fell below your expectations. I apologize we do not have dinner on site. But there are restaurants nearby that is available. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    58
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
81
20
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed there last weekend and didn't have the greatest experience. First off, there was a lot of noise later at night and very early in the morning. I don't know if some sort of dog show was going on but there was constant barking going on. It kept me up for the first night and was annoying. The walls are paper thin and everything, and I do mean everything, can be heard. It was disgusting and unpleasant.

The staff at the front desk on checking in was great but checking out was cold and unfriendly.

On the flip side, the breakfast was awesome and very nicely laid out. The beds were pretty comfortable and the bathroom cleaner than most hotels I've stayed at. Cleaning staff was friendly and courteous.

Would I be back? Probably not. It wasn't in the greatest location which made it difficult to find and overall, I like to have quiet nights to sleep. If that's not happening, I'm not usually very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

very clean.very friendly.very affordable.this place is our new family get away spot.the pool and hot tub were amazing. and quaker steak and lube was walking distance.only 10 minutes from the mall.we can't wait to go back. thanx holiday inn express staff for a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived to the hotel around 10:30pm on Friday night. The staff at the dept desk was very friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. While the water pressure in the shower wasn't very high, the abundance of hot water and adjustable shower head more than made up for it. The hot breakfast was great and the staff kept replenishing items as they ran out. Great stop on a four day road trip from Boston MA to Houston TX.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Viva_La_Viajera,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your long journey across the country. Please come and see us again when you pass through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great room, quiet, pleasant staff, good breakfast selection, good location.
Dining out means a 15+ minute drive from the hotel, but it is worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
LJWKingston,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review. We appreciate your kind words and I will be sure to pass them along to the whole team here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice property, very hard to find in the dark. Could have used an additional person at the front desk when we were trying to check in at 11 PM. Would stay here again-very quiet. The beds and the pillows were a little bit sub-grade, but very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
leedsie,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a good experience. We have also been working with the town on getting additional signage put up. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location is remote, but adequate for a one night stop over from New England to Niagara. The laundry facility was great -(half way through a 3 week tour), and used both the fitness centre and the pool, and Jacuzzi - great for relaxing.
A somewhat disturbed night from other guests in the hotel with running along corridors and doors banging in the early hours.
The complimentary breakfast had a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Lordbinns,

We are glad you enjoyed your stop over at our hotel! It's nice to hear you were able to relax in our pool and hot tub. Also, thank you for letting us know about the noise in the hallway, we'll try and add more rounds through the hallways to prevent that in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse
Address: 6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.