We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect from a Holiday Inn express” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Everything you expect from a Holiday Inn express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived to the hotel around 10:30pm on Friday night. The staff at the dept desk was very friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. While the water pressure in the shower wasn't very high, the abundance of hot water and adjustable shower head more than made up for it. The hot breakfast was great and the staff kept replenishing items as they ran out. Great stop on a four day road trip from Boston MA to Houston TX.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Viva_La_Viajera,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your long journey across the country. Please come and see us again when you pass through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    70
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
90
31
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great room, quiet, pleasant staff, good breakfast selection, good location.
Dining out means a 15+ minute drive from the hotel, but it is worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
LJWKingston,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review. We appreciate your kind words and I will be sure to pass them along to the whole team here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice property, very hard to find in the dark. Could have used an additional person at the front desk when we were trying to check in at 11 PM. Would stay here again-very quiet. The beds and the pillows were a little bit sub-grade, but very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
leedsie,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a good experience. We have also been working with the town on getting additional signage put up. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location is remote, but adequate for a one night stop over from New England to Niagara. The laundry facility was great -(half way through a 3 week tour), and used both the fitness centre and the pool, and Jacuzzi - great for relaxing.
A somewhat disturbed night from other guests in the hotel with running along corridors and doors banging in the early hours.
The complimentary breakfast had a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Lordbinns,

We are glad you enjoyed your stop over at our hotel! It's nice to hear you were able to relax in our pool and hot tub. Also, thank you for letting us know about the noise in the hallway, we'll try and add more rounds through the hallways to prevent that in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I and our 2 year old twin girls stayed here for a weekend in Syracuse. It is a well-run hotel. The hotel was prepared for us and had two cribs set up in our room. The room was spotless and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was very good with lots of choices. We used the indoor pool as well and it was clean even though the water was a bit on the cool side. If you look this hotel up on Google Maps it will appear as if it's in the middle of nowhere - it's a relatively new hotel in an area that the city appears to be redeveloping as a business park. The only nearby restaurant is the Quaker Steak and Lube right beside it. But don't let that discourage you as you can drive to the downtown in less than 10 minutes and it's relatively close to destinations such as the massive Destiny USA mall and the city zoo. Overall it's a very affordable choice and you will be taken care of by their staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
PalladioKingston,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to check out that pool temperature for you. We hope you, your wife, and the twins make a return visit soon!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I am here at least a couple of times a year for work, and I like this property. While the location is somewhat remote,it is pretty close to where I need to go, and it is a comfortable property. Service at the front desk is always top-rate. The room is roomy, clean, and comfortable. The bath fixture are mind, and the shower is fabulous! While it took a call to the front desk to ask how to operate the shower, the effort was worth it. Hot water through a long shower, and terrific water pressure. The air unit was quiet! Wifi was FAST, which is pretty essential for my business travel. A plus? A decent selection of snacks...and beer...in the lobby at reasonable prices. I will definitely continue to choose this property when I need to do business in Syracuse.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Majorgal,

We are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us! We look forward to having you back again and again.

Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

After a day of shopping in Syracuse, we couldn't wait to arrive at the hotel. This hotel is really in the middle of nowhere. Make sure you update your GPS. It would be hard to find it without one. We felt a bit uneased when we finally arrived but we must say that the front desk employee made us feel welcomed and at ease. She was very friendly and helpful with her suggestions of restaurants, which you don't have much choice of. If you arrive and are very hungry, there is one restaurant next to the hotel (Quaker Steak & Lube) which is actually very good and you get 10% off your bill when you show your hotel key. All other restaurants are 15 minutes away. The hotel is very clean with a pool which is great for the kids. The breakfast was great with a lot to choose from. Not sure I would recommend due to the fact that it is very isolated, but if need be, I would return due to the excellent customer service received and cleanliness of the whole hotel and grounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Address: 6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.