We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd place but great for an hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Odd place but great for an hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

After a day of shopping in Syracuse, we couldn't wait to arrive at the hotel. This hotel is really in the middle of nowhere. Make sure you update your GPS. It would be hard to find it without one. We felt a bit uneased when we finally arrived but we must say that the front desk employee made us feel welcomed and at ease. She was very friendly and helpful with her suggestions of restaurants, which you don't have much choice of. If you arrive and are very hungry, there is one restaurant next to the hotel (Quaker Steak & Lube) which is actually very good and you get 10% off your bill when you show your hotel key. All other restaurants are 15 minutes away. The hotel is very clean with a pool which is great for the kids. The breakfast was great with a lot to choose from. Not sure I would recommend due to the fact that it is very isolated, but if need be, I would return due to the excellent customer service received and cleanliness of the whole hotel and grounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
92
31
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, as we were passing through to New York City. This is a very nice hotel with friendly staff. The room was a very good size with microwave and a fridge. They supplied a very nice breakfast, everything there was neat and tidy. I believe that this is a fairly new hotel. Just double check the directions for finding the hotel, they can be a little tricky, but we managed no problem. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel a couple nights because we had planned to go to the NY State Fair, which is located very near to the hotel. For that, it's convenient. I'm not sure what else there is to do in the area. The hotel felt very remote. That's not a lot else around.

Our first impression of the location was not good. We arrived after 7:00 PM, and wanted to find a place for dinner. Since the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, we were looking to the local area. The hotel advertises a nearby restaurant - Quaker Steak & Lube - which is a short walk down a gravel path behind the hotel. As it was starting to get dark, we didn't feel very comfortable walking to the restaurant. The path approached the back of the restaurant. And as we approached, we saw hundreds of motorcycles and people in the parking lot. Apparently Wednesday night is motorcycle night at the Quaker. We turned around and got the car, to look for another restaurant. Driving around the area, we found nothing recognizable, nothing that even looked slightly busy except for a restaurant at another hotel, but that had a 45+ minute wait, and the hostess didn't seem to encourage us to stay.

If you're traveling with family, and are looking for familiar restaurants where you know what to expect, this isn't the location. The second night, we looked up area restaurants and used the GPS to find a shopping mall about 15 minutes away in Liverpool, NY. If you want familiar restaurants, that's the place to head.

This Holiday Inn does offer free breakfast in the lobby until 9:30 AM. We went the first day, and were disappointed. Pancakes are usually available, but the day we were there, the machine was broken and was actually carried away. There were biscuits and gravy, but only one biscuit remained at 9:00, and they weren't refilled. Scambled eggs (pre-formed disks) were out, but they were replenished. There were some cereal and juice options, and the only other hot food was bacon (almost empty). On the second morning, we decided to skip breakfast and got something on the road after checking out.

During our stay there, we did visit the NY State Fairgrounds, which are very close. On our return late in the day, we found that housekeeping had not been to our room. I'm sure the hotel would have taken care of this had we raised the issue, but it was late in the day and we didn't want to have to clear out for a maid to come in.

Overall, I woiuld say this hotel is average. If you take into consideration the surrounding area and location, which isn't the hotel's fault, I would put it below average. Pretty sure we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear DaveLovesDining,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the location of our property as well as the breakfast and housekeeping. We will use your comments to improve our efforts. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were very happy to find availability. We were driving form ontario canada,to New Jersey and did not book anything for our pitstop. After stopping several exits before, we decided on my original choice for our over night stay. The hotel is in the middle of no where, but there was a nice restaurant that met our needs next door. I didn't feel overally safe in the area. We slept good and the breakfast was what we needed to get back on the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to Boston, MA. We rented 2 rooms and found them to be clean and adequate. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. If I was passing through again I wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent 1 night at this hotel. As noted, it's out in the middle of nowhere but you're about 15 minutes from town. We arrived very early - noon - and the young woman behind the desk printed out directions to the Dinosaur BBQ in Syracuse. Would recommend highly - Great food but get there early as it gets very crowded. Our room was ready when we returned from lunch. Clean and nice decor. We had a view of a paintball match going on at the building next door. Went to Quaker Steak and Lube for dinner. As noted in prior reviews, rather pricey even with the discount. Did use the pool and hot tub. Had both to ourselves for over an hour so we really enjoyed it. Overall - Nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We book 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express Syracuse/Fairgrouds. Our purpose in Syracuse was shopping. It was the perfect spot for a drive to Waterloo Premium Outlet and Syracuse's Carroussel Mall. Room was clean, pool was clean, breakfast included and close to the Quaker Steak and Lubes for a diner close to the hotel. Awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Address: 6946 Winchell Road, Syracuse, NY 13164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.