We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum workers were obnoxiously over protective” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Everson Museum of Art

Everson Museum of Art
401 Harrison St, Syracuse, NY 13202
315 474 6064
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 60 things to do in Syracuse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ceramics are one of the specialities at this art museum.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Museum workers were obnoxiously over protective”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

they called members of our party to come back and push in our chair all-the- way at a children's table. Another worker stopped us from using a hands on exhibit, as he didn't understand how to use it, but I read the directions to him and he backed off. The whole experience was awful and embarrassing that I brought our out of town guests there. I felt as though they didn't want us there, and that we might touch something we shouldn't. I even called to complain, and only got an apology and reassurance that the workers would be spoken to. I hope they did, and hope others will have a better experience than we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality art museum worth experiencing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This art museum rotates it s exhibits so that we look forward to periodically returning to see the new offerings. Great area for kids to experience a variety of media; small but pleasant gift shop; helpful staff; convenient parking

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Could appeal, depending on interests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Similar to tastes in movies, I think everyone has genres of art media that aren't their favorites. Syracuse's art museum had that problem for me, but if you enjoy ceramics where the vast majority is brown earthenware, often in bizarre, non-functional designs, then you're going to have a much more positive perspective. There were a fair number of cases of beautiful painted china and porcelain vases and glassware including ancient Etruscan, Egyptian and Chinese pieces and vintage pieces from historic Syracuse-area factories, but you will have to hunt for them in the sea of earth-tone pottery. It might have helped if they had signs explaining what the ceramists were trying to do, and that lack of information was more glaring in their contemporary painting gallery. Ditto for their photography gallery. Their modern art room focused on massive colorfield canvases, one by Helen Frankenthaler, and that room had better explanatory signage. However, if you're not a fan of Mark Rothko-type blocks of color, then that's basically all they have. (Their children's interest exhibit included a cartoon video of a cute journalist puffin interviewing Matisse, but...does the museum have a Matisse? I didn't see one.) On the other hand, they had an incredible antique vase from the Napoleonic era in their one gallery dedicated to antique art along with some paintings by 18th century American artists - good job with the signs there, too. Their atrium is also very pretty (particularly the curved staircase) and the installation of "window box flowers" made from shopping mall packing materials is lovely and the creativity put a smile on my face. Wouldn't go far out of my way for this museum unless you have a love for ceramics, but if you're in the area, it's worth a short stop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canastota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

loved the building and the art and the overall feeling there. Easy to get to in syracuse parking is ok must pay but worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The director of the everson is top notch. The collection interesting and the setting very dramatic. It's really a treasure.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everson Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Everson Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everson Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.