We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and clean - healthy animals & educational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosamond Gifford Zoo

Rosamond Gifford Zoo
1 Conservation Place, Burnet Park, Syracuse, NY 13204
315 435 8511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Attractions in Syracuse
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and clean - healthy animals & educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

No complaints, loved the open picnic area for eating outdoors, clean rest rooms, excellent staff who are approachable. Even the gift shop has inexpensive items so children can get a treat or toy to take home. Stollers are GREAT rental only 3. and worth it as the zoo has alot of acres to explore.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    129
    35
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SYRACUSE, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Cousin reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

9 young cousins and numerous aunts and uncles and one grandma all enjoyed a wonderful day at the zoo. The new elephant exhibit was a big hit and the penguins were the favorite animal to watch by far.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Priced Small Zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nick and I went to Rosamond Gifford Zoo last week (5/10/13). This was our first visit. Lots of new exhibits in fact construction is still in progress. Our rating of three stars is based on the distance from the main attraction for us (Elephants). Rosamond has a huge enclosure with six (6) elephants. It looks to be a beautiful enclosure but you are so far way from the Animals it makes it difficult to observe behaviors of the individuals.

A nice small Zoo at a good price ($4 up to age 18 $8 for adults) Hilly with nice landscaping. No a first choice for us (that would be Seneca Park Zoo) But we will give it another chance to see how the exhibits mature

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great zoo for a city this size.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I try and go here once a year when I am in town. This a clean well run zoo, with a fairly diverse collection of animals. There are some nice large cats, with young snow leopards and young tigers, that are worth the reasonable price of admission. In addition to the predators there are a variety of nice large grazing critters. From similar climates as Syracuse, except the elephants.

There is a nice bird section and a terrific penguin display.

There is a half mile or so walk for the outside animals, a small barn, and a very nice indoor section of primates and animal planet type creatures.

I go every year and can spend a pleasant 2 hours there, kids perhaps longer.

It is so much better then the horrible zoo it was when I grew up there.

It is very similar to the zoo in Providence RI.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WASNT IMPRESSED!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A lot of the animals were not out so i am a little upset i paid $8 a person and didn't get to see much...mainly we got to see the animals in the 1st building (monkey's,birds,fish and a few other small animals like the lemur) The duck/ fish pond is under construction so that was a bummer. The tiger was in his cage eating another bummer, and the elephant was inside, and we could only see one through the glass. There is so much more for the zoo had to offer at least my experience in the past have led me to believe but wasn't not impressed at all this time around! Would NEVER pay to go again during this time of the year! Although during the summer it usually is very busy there is so much more going on. Plus we came at 2:00 (not realizing that they close @ 4:30 and wished someone would have reminded us when we got there-maybe we would have came back another day when we could have spent more time and maybe would have enjoyed it more...

P.S. If you go with children PLEASE tell them not to bang on the glass it drives all of us who can read the signs that tell us not to CRAZY!! Thanks =)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosamond Gifford Zoo also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rosamond Gifford Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosamond Gifford Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.