We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan Your Visit for Non-Traditional Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosamond Gifford Zoo

Rosamond Gifford Zoo
1 Conservation Place, Burnet Park, Syracuse, NY 13204
315 435 8511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 attractions in Syracuse
Type: Zoos
Attraction Details
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Plan Your Visit for Non-Traditional Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A great place to bring the family for a few hours. Everyone goes in the summer, but plan your trip for the off-season - you won't believe how active the animals are!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    104
    30
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The discounted admission in January and February was very nice- only $4 a person. There were a surprising number of animals outside, especially the elephants. A great time and definitely worth seeing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good things come in little packages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a special zoo. Yes it is small but has quality exhibits. We were a group of 6 and all had fun. We enjoyed the day. We loved the walk around such a nice park. It was easy to get too. Parking was plentiful. The restroom were very clean. We had lunch at the zoo and it was fine. The gift shoppe had a variety of items. Prices were fair. I was impressed with the staff, very kind and knowledgable. A great time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Charming, local zoo that has NAKED MOLE RATS and elephant encounters that allow you to pet an elephant that was very cool; food was nice, filling and very nicely priced!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I really loved how close you actually can get to the animals. Especially the Lions! I have never been able to get that up close. All 3 of them were against the window and at first I couldn't believe they were real until they'd blink or flicker their ears. I highly recommend this zoo. Also, it isn't very big which can be good or bad depending on the person. I personally loved it. My boyfriend and I were in and out of there in an hour and a half and it was only $4.00 admisson!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosamond Gifford Zoo also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rosamond Gifford Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosamond Gifford Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rosamond Gifford Zoo to your Saves list