We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse to your Saves list
Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5396 South Bay Road, Syracuse, NY 13212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Picton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a two star, so the price was good for the quality. We used the park and fly service, it was great. We had to leave at 4:30, the girl opened breakfast for us, then took us right to the airport which is a 5 minute drive. The staff was friendly and veryhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    13
    9
    13
See reviews for
23
19
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We were really impressed by the service provided by Tammy. She came and picked us up at the airport as soon as we called. When we told her we had to leave early the next day she put the coffee on early for us.
She provided exceptional customer service.

The room was extremely clean n the bed was really comfortable.

Would definitely recommend hotel to family and friends

Thank you Tammy for your awesome service

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Despise all the desk guy's (Daniel) helpfulness and will to satisfy customers, I will not return there. Once my party of 5 was set to sleep, I was informed that I will have to pay $20 extra because their rate only applied to 2 adults and 1 child... even if my reservation provided all that info at booking. It was too late to move somewhere else that night, but don't expect any business from me again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSura, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I have reviewed you comments regarding the rate discrepancy. The website that
provided you the rate for the number of adults you indicated for your reservation should have been the rate that you were charged. That website should give you a correct rate based on the
information that you entered. I assure you there was no attempt to "trap" you although I can
can appreciate how you might feel this way. The associate who charged you for the additional
people was exacting the policy of the hotel as he was instructed to do. The issue was that the associate was not aware that the number of adults had been entered while the reservation was created online. He has been made aware that many reservations (but not all) created online already provide the rate for the specified number of adults. This was an honest mistake, and there was no deliberate attempt to misrepresent the true room rate. I stand by this statement 100%. We are diligently working to correct any inconsistencies across the web, that may potentially be omitting any portion of the policy of our hotel, when it provides a customer with a room rate. We hope that we can earn your business again in the future, and we appreciate the fact that you provided us with this information about your experience.

Sincerely,

Jason Hassett
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We needed a hotel at the last minute to ride out a storm. Econolodge on line quoted us a 72 dollar rate, that while it may seem expensive, we were in a pinch.
It's very easy to find, just a bit off of Route 81. Because of recent storms, it was hard to find a parking spot due to all the frozen on snow. Luckily, there was a spot right near our room.
The non-smoking room we given was on the second floor, and was clean, fairly new looking, and the tv had lots of channels. Despite reviews here claiming the halls reeked, I didn't notice it. The room was cool when we got there, but heated up quickly with the wall unit just set on low. In fact, we turned the heat off for most of the night because the room was warm enough.
My knucklehead son took a 25 minute shower....(sorry Econolodge owner...) but never ran out of hot water.
When we got downstairs to leave at 6:30 am the next day, the storm had put a foot or more of snow down. The parking lot was cleared, but our car was buried under a couple feet of snow in front of it. One of the hotel employees was helping everyone shovel out, and we were on our way in just a few minutes. Thank you to the Econolodge employee so much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskegon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not happy with Econo Lodge, 5396 South Bay Road, North Syracuse, NY, 13212

I noticed an extra credit card charge of $50.00 for a one night stay at Econo Lodge. When I called the Econo and asked what the extra charge was for, they said I stayed in a room that was not designated for pets. I told them that I informed their front desk at check-in that I had a small dog and that was the room they assigned me. They told me they would credit my account $30.00 but that they were keeping the other $20.00 as a pet fee. I told them that the front desk had informed me at check-in that the pet fee was $10.00. $10.00 is what is currently on their website as a pet fee.

It’s been weeks since Econo Lodge said they would credit my account and my account has not been credited. I am working with my credit card company to get a refund.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is nothing less than DISGUSTING. We went for the weekend to shop in Syracuse. We had to move rooms SIX times because the beds were full of hairs and sweat stains from previous guests and eyelashes and hairs all over the pillows. There was also hairs in the folded towels in the bathroom and the toilet paper rolls in every room were not fresh and were near the end of the roll. When I went to tell the owner about these issues, he was totally unconcerned and I had to ask him how he was going to compensate me. He said he would give me a "discount" for the one of two nights we stayed. I said no I want a full refund and he looked pissed off and just issued the refund and rudely passed me my receipt. As well, the old man who works at the desk was sitting on the couch in the lobby in bare feet (his bare feet on the couch). So gross.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Tammy was extremely friendly, we had some really good conversations about Syracuse area since we were originally from there. One thing I would suggest is that the carpet in, at least, our room be cleaned or replaced. There was a fairly good sized black stain just inside the door. The location was great since the motel was quite near our daughter's house and we stayed for several days. Thank you and say "hi" to Tammy for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse

Address: 5396 South Bay Road, Syracuse, NY 13212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Syracuse
North Syracuse Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge North Syracuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.