We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby & decrepit place - best avoid it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5396 South Bay Road, Syracuse, NY 13212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Syracuse
Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shabby & decrepit place - best avoid it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Since 2nd floor with no elevator is not an option for a family with kids & baby - had to take a smoking room on 1st floor. However a smoking room should not mean that the room smells like a stale ashtray and has cigarette burns all over the place.
Carpet was filthy and could not walk barefoot. Electrical wires banded up with tape, air-conditioner terribly noisy, holes in walls, torn carpet, light in bathroom not working properly.
My family members refused to use the shower.
Sheets were clean, some of the staff were friendly.
Cut my leg on a sharp piece of metal jutting out from the bed - the hotel does have a first aid kit.
Best thing about the hotel is the Denny's withing walking distance

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSura, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
At the time of your visit it seems that we were not able to provide you with the experience that
you had hoped for. The next time you stay with us here in North Syracuse, simply notify the front desk, and we will be happy to assist you with bringing your items to your room. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to earn your business back in the future, as we have addressed the concerns that you pointed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    12
    6
    13
See reviews for
21
17
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the TripAdvisor recommendations and it seemed a good idea to stay outside Syracuse. This was proved because the town was under siege with roadworks, pouring rain and yet another graduation day. The owner and manager (Peter) were extremely helpful with my many questions and the room was exactly what we needed. It was clean and comfortable and big enough for us. We drove into Syracuse several times and walked around after finally finding somewhere to park. The EconoLodge is a in a good position if you want to drive around the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSura, Manager at Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words in your review. Our staff is very pleased to know your stay went as planned. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Peter Cole
Manager
Econo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe VVermont, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My experience began with calling about a hotel. It was the first person that sounded genuinley hospitible and that won me over. After arriving, I was greeted by Tammy who was a friendly face to see on a late night after a long drive. The room was fresh and clean and after kicking on the A.C. I felt right at home. It was a litle warm, but on my four day drive all the hotels I stayed at were initially warm. Overall a great experience and I highly suggest staying here when you're out Syracuse way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSura, Manager at Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind input.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay stay with us. We take pride in customer service and helping make a tough day easier for weary travelers!
Hope to see you again in future, whenever you come we will try our best to keep you happy and smiling

Best regards

Peter Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I booked the more expensive suite because I was leaving very early in the am to catch a flight and wanted a coffemaker. when I got up at 2:30 to get ready to leave the coffeemaker didn't work! There wasn't time to deal with the issue but I was mad. Also when I arrived the room was very hot and it took a while to cool down with the ac on high, I had to get to bed early so I couldn't just put the ac on and then go somewhere to give it time to cool down. Also, the toilet was dirty, very dorty! I was too tired to deal with it so I cleaned it up myself. Yes(to the critics) I could have called the front desk and had them take care of it but as I said I needed to get to sleep. Also it should have been clean, a dirt toilet in a pubic place is just nasty. I just needed a decent place to sleep and other than the things mentioned above the room was ok;however sometimes small things make a big difference ESPECIALLY when I paid more for this type of room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSura, Manager at Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your input.
We are determined to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay and we will make sure your next stay is excellent!
Hope to see you again in future, whenever you come we will try our best to keep you happy and smiling.

Best regards

Peter Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

After an initial mishap our stay was fine. The management upgraded us to a suite which was just what we were looking for. Everyone was wonderful. The "continental breakfast" was more than that and got us on our way when we left.

Room Tip: Book a suite if posible, if not one with coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. We have to have coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSura, General Manager at Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
May 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind input.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent graduation stay stay with us.
Hope to see you again in future, whenever you come we will try our best to keep you happy and smiling

Best regards

Peter Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We returned to Econo Lodge again after visiting last April for the Park and Fly program. Again, we had a very clean room. What was definitely different this visit was the entire feel of the property. Sanjay has come in as the General Manager, and has made some really great additions to this hotel. Sanjay checked us in efficiently when we arrived. As soon as we entered our room we realized that someone had recently been smoking in a non smoking room. Sanjay immediately moved us to another room, which was perfect, and asked us to fill out a form detailing our problem with the room. To us, it was not a big deal as the hotel cannot control smoking that goes on in rooms-but it was very obvious to us that this Econo Lodge values its guest satisfaction and is willing to go the extra mile to make sure that all guests are satisfied.
As we were again parking and flying we had to leave very early (3:45 AM) to get to the airport. Last year we had to ring a bell to wake up someone to drive us to the airport. Now, there is staff at the front desk 24/7. We felt valued, rather than an inconvenience. The girl who took us and picked us up from the airport was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is now out all day (with the exception of the waffles) to accomodate early trips to the airport. There is also a very nice breakfast room. Last year the "breakfast room" was a small counter, and was only available during the breakfast hours.
Our pickup from the airport was equally efficient, and she was actually out there waiting for us as soon as we picked up our bags.
Overall, we think this property has really blossomed in the year since our last visit. It was clear to us that Sanjay understands the small things that make a big difference in guest satisfaction. We certainly will stay here again for our airport travels in the future.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSura, Manager at Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind input.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent "park and fly" stay with us.
Hope to see you again in future, whenever you come we will try our best to keep you happy and smiling
Best regards

Sanjay Sura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

When we called to book a room and mentioned we were flying out the next morning, I was informed of their stay and fly package. This gave us a great deal since we were away 14 days. Also had great help with restaurant directions that night, and their shuttle service was convenient and reliable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSura, General Manager at Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to review us and also for your kind input.
It was pleasure to have you with us, please keep coming.
We are updating our rooms and next time when you will come,
I assure you that you will have better feel about rooms

Best regards and best wishes

Sanjay Sura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Syracuse
North Syracuse Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge North Syracuse
Address: 5396 South Bay Road, Syracuse, NY 13212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.