We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in town in this beautiful building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Parkview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   713 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Best deal in town in this beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Booked via Hotwire for 73$. This one is next to the Renaissance, in that no so great location. This was made up by a great room with 2 comfie doubles, flat screen TV, oldish but noce bathroom. Gym was very basic. The best touches were the free parking and the nice little deli on premises, with good breakfast sandwiches for less than 4$. This also can be had on PL for a good price. On par with the Renaissance, in my book.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagment, Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback in regarding The ParkView Hotel. We make it our goal to ensure you have the most pleasant experience as possible. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed Stefon,s Cafe & Wine Bar. Stefon's is a great place that offers breakfast assortments, sadwiches, wraps, salads and soups. We offer a relaxing atmosphere in which you can sit back and enjoy the complimentary wi-fi and the view of the park.

Sincerely,

The Parkview Hotel Managment & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    115
    38
    14
    3
See reviews for
78
65
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

What you see is what you get. Nice renovation, no pretensions, no frills. Clean, quiet, working Wi-Fi, helpful desk staff, good rates. I don't ask for much else. It's technically downtown but not at the commercial heart nor at University Hill, but you can get to either one easily by car or on foot if you're hardy. Really convenient to the Interstate, and the area around Genesee St. is slowly redeveloping with university-affiliated facilities. Urbanites will not mind the setting a bit. 50 feet down the block is the Renaissance Hotel, with a more full-service business-class restaurant. Sufficient parking in back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagment, Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
We truly appreciate your lovely comments. We take pride in customer service and are always looking new ways to make your experince one to remember. Your comments will be shared with our staff. We look forward to your next visit with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Parkview Hotel Managment & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

While the building is very old, it's only been a hotel for about 10 years. It was an office building or something like that before someone bought it and turned it into a hotel.

I pricelined this hotel for $55, not sure what the rack rate was, but my guess is it was probably a $100. The area, is pretty old and beat up, but not unsafe. I did not see any bums loitering around or anything like that.

You park in the back of the hotel and it's unlit, so I can see if a female would be creeped out because it was dark and pretty isolated at night. I admit, I did myself walk a little brisk to the front desk myself, bascially you have to walk by a "metal coated" car repair shop, then through an alley to get to the front of the hotel.

The hotel itself was fine.It's funny, before I knew it was a office building turned into a hotel, I thought the place was a little off. I was looking around, wondering who in their right mind would design a hotel like this?

Rooms were large, but almost too big. They really need more furniture because the only way you can watch TV is on the bed, and you are pretty far away. But the beds were fine and it was clean. Water pressure in the shower was fine.

For dinner, I walked over to the Marriott Rennisance a block away. The Parkview has a sandwhich shop on premise that serves a limited dinner, but its more like a coffee place.

The workout room is buried in the basement. It was nice, but man, you are really buried down there.

Look there was nothing wrong with the place. Its just a little creepy. I'd stay there again, but I would not suggest to a friend who was looking for a "Marriott" type experience.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagment, Guest Experience Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Thank you for your observation and making the Parkview your choice of hotel while you were in Syracuse. We appriciate your feedback and would like to welcome you back for your next visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelfox27
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel and the rooms were nice for a night. I went there to take my friend out to see Wicked for the first time. However, we asked for direction to the OnCenter, the front person at the desk gave us directions to the Spaghetti Warehouse! We had to call them again for directions which again, gave us wrong directions. We eventually made it to the playhouse but missed the first 15 minutes of the play which was an utter disappointment. Never again ask them for directions! We would not stay here again due to this experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagment, Guest Experince Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered while staying at the Parkview Hotel. We pride ourselves on great customer service and are displeased to hear of your less than satisfactory experience. Please know we are taking this opportunity to retrain our staff.
We would love to welcome you back to the Parkview Hotel again in the future, should you be in the area. Special requests can be accommodated prior to arrival to ensure a flawless stay.
Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Parkview Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010 via mobile

This was a very clean hotel near Upstate and Syracuse Universities. It was perfect of my interview at Upstate Medical. It's within walking distance of the hospitals, and offers a free shuttle to and from the airport, and close by areas of Syracuse. They were very nice at the front desk, helping me schedule shuttle rides and pointing out interesting places to see in the downtown area. I would definately recommend the hotel for anyone heading to the hospitals for interviews or any other reason.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagment, Guest Experience Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Parkview Hotel. We set high standarts for ourselves on exemplary guest service and we are pleased to hear that we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Parkview Hotel Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

When we first drove into Syracuse, looking for this ho\tel we were a bit worried about the location, we were pleasantly surprised at the location, it wasnt as bad as we expected. The hotel was clean, fresh looking. The free parking is at the back of the hotel, you do have to walk through a side alley that is well lit. Once you are registered, you can use your door key to access to the back door. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were going to get a cab to a local restaurant (The Dinosaur BBQ.. MUST), the driver from the shuttle took us there, gave us a brief history of the area, pointed out some interesting buildings. When we were done dinner, we called the hotel and the driver was there within minutes o takes us back to the hotel. WILL DEFINTELY BE BACK. We used Priceline to get the great rates, and there wasnt a problem or any 'tude' from the front desk staff. A most enjoyable stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagment, Guest Experience Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2009
Dear Exrsa,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our property and staff. We greatly value you taking the time to write up such a wonderful review. Please know your comments will be shared for all our staff to enjoy. We look forward to see you soon.

Esra Ertas
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

I had made a reservation at this hotel for today, just finishing up a Government contracting job in the area. As we (husband and self) went to check-in the clerk, Veronica, swiped my Credit Card and government ID. After we signed the registration paperwork, she announces, "Because you are using the Government rate, even though there are two people in the room, we can only give you a continental breakfast for one person". Are you kidding? The website, where I made this reservation, clearly said that continental breakfast was offered WITH NO RESTRICTION. We stated that we were not interested in staying at the hotel if that was the case, and we were told that we would NOT be charged a cancellation fee. At this point, I do not know whether the hotel will honor this statement, but with American Express to back me up, there will be no problem. So, needless to say, I would never stay at this hotel, would never recommend it to anyone and would certainly not recommend it to someone using Military rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: 713 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Property Upgrade Complete as of March 1, 2013! Hot breakfast now included!Chic downtown Syracuse NY hotel. Those three words just go together, don't they? Here are three more words: The Parkview Hotel. This is contemporary meets art-deco; funky meets comfortable, and the end result is a boutique hotel atmosphere where you feel just fine about kicking off your shoes and relaxing. Once you check in, you're not going to want to leave any time soon. All rooms and suites are equipped with complimentary upgraded WIFI internet access, speaker phones with voicemail, digital cable, flat-screen LCD televisions, and a really comfortable bed! Just completed, new in-room window treatments, ergonomic chairs and bedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Syracuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.