We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very historic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Parkview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   713 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Vlaardingen, netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A very historic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is old, elevators are old fashion style no high tech buttons but old fashion push buttons. Hall ways, reception area makes you feel as if you travelled back in time. Overal the hotel is maintained ok but it could be better. The room we had was large but felt somewhat empty.

When we arrived checkin was good and fast but didn't give me a feeling of being welcome. Nothing more asked or told then what was necessary. Hard to explain it wasn't bad but it just didn't feel well.

The Park which is located in front in the hotel isn't maintained at all and it is a small park.
The room was clean but the beds had some strang carton like paper on the mattress. During the night it was very there, strange why they put it there it made sleeping less comfortable.

The area of the hotel isn't very inviting to walk around.

So we won't stay here again not because it wasn't a bad experience but it just wasn't good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We greatly appreciate your evaluation of the Parkview Hotel. We are deeply disappointed that your overall experience was not what You or the Hotel had anticipated. We thank you for bringing these deficiencies to our attention. This review will assist us in providing a much higher level of service to our future guests. Hopefully in the future you will give us another opportunity to impress you.

Best Regards,

The Parkview Hotel
Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    115
    38
    14
    3
See reviews for
78
65
25
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

It is an old hotel, but very tastefully decorated and immaculate. The rooms (one facing the street, and another on the corner room) were huge. This was a big plus as we were traveling with small child and many bags.

We arrived late, so we were a bit concerned about the dark parking lot among the empty looking buildings. It would have been nicer if the cafe (which is quite good) stayed open later.

Overall, we were very happy to find this hotel and definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that Parkview Hotel met your needs during your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of your company at the Parkview Hotel again when you are in the Syracuse area.

Sincerely,

The Parkview Hotel
Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My daughter's flight was cancelled and we put her up here for the night. What a lovely place this is. Excellent service, the lobby was really cosy and comfortable, the room spacious, clean and comfortable. The cafe was excellent, convenient and great food. We also got free wifi and an airport shuttle. We booked this on Hot Wire and we not disappointed.

Room Tip: Listed as a Boutique hotel on Hotwire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAvdisor regarding your stay at the Parkview Hotel. We are elated to hear that the Parkview Hotel was a pleasant surprise for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again at the Parkview Hotel next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

The Parkview Hotel
Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have to agree with the majority of the people here - this a very good hotel, and great when one considers the price. I stayed for 3 nights, so feel I got a pretty good look at the place.
Highlights: I stayed on the 3rd floor facing East Genesee street. I thought the location was convenient, and the area seemed safe, I never worried. The halls leading to the room were bright and well decorated. The locks on the rooms were good, and each floor had an additional lock on the stairwell door. My room appeared to be fairly recently redone. The carpet, tv (probably 32 or 36 inch flat-screen), wallpaper, appeared to be new, entire bathroom as well. The furniture wasn't new, but was certainly still in very good condition. The room was large with a desk, dresser, refrigerator, microwave + coffee machine, king sized bed, and plenty of space left over.

By far the thing that impressed me the most was the cleanliness of the place. When I check into a hotel room I give it a once over because cleanliness is important to me. I tear off the sheets of the bed to see if there is dirt or any pests. I look at the carpet, I open all the drawers... I kept looking for something that wasn't clean and not finding anything, eventually went into the bathroom - it was sparkling. Finally, I thought to look for dust on top of the bathroom cabinet (which people shorter than 6 feet tall would have difficulty seeing) - even that was spotless. My congratulations to the cleaning staff (and management) for doing an excellent job.

If there was anything negative, I'd have to say the air conditioner was a bit louder than some other units I've seen, but it worked great I didn't complain because overall the room was so good, I didn't want to move. I heard no inter-room noise, and there was just inconsequential street noise - and I was right above the main street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay at the Parkview Hotel. We are very proud to hear that your stay was exemplary. We are especially happy to hear that cleanliness of the Hotel and the room exceeded your expectations. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when you are in the Syracuse area.

Best Regards,
The Parkview Hotel
Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

If you are looking for something fancy, Parkview is not the place. Pictures on Parkview website embellish look, feel, and the area. Hotel is clean. Fine for a College visit or short stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We would like to welcome you to come and try our sister property the Genesee Grande Hotel. Parkview is a boutique hotel which incorporates the more casual, comfortable, homelike atmosphere; whereas the Genesee Grande is a more distinguished big city style Hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

The Parkview Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great hotel in downtown Syracuse. Only a few minutes drive to the mall. The room my wife and I stayed in was great. Everything in the room was nice, especially the AC!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Kirkby84,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location does make it very easy for our guests to travel around Syracuse. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

The Parkview Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed in the king room, non-smoking. Room was spacious and quiet. Loved the fact that there was a dormitory sized refrigerator in the room.
Upon arrival, our room was ready and the air conditioner was already on, the room nice and cool.
Heat lamp light in bathroom was also a plus.
Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
There is a guest kitchen in the basement with stove, microwave, cooking utensils...nice touch, great to heat up the leftovers stored in the room fridge.
Coin-op laundry is also in the basement, another nice option.
Fitness room has cardio equipment only, but it appeared clean and the treadmill and eliptical worked just fine.
The fan in the bathroom turns on automatically when the light is turned on. This was a bit noisy, but not really too annoying. I notifiied the front desk upon departure.
No thermostat in room, had a wall unit for heat and AC. It worked very well but this type of unit stays on all day/night unless you turn it off, which can make it a little difficult to regulate temp. This really wasn't much of an issue, though.
One thing I would change: I would add an in-room safe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Mariago13,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Parkview Hotel. Please know your comments and recommendations will be shared with the staff and appropriate managers. We look forward to seeing you soon next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

The Parkview Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: 713 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Property Upgrade Complete as of March 1, 2013! Hot breakfast now included!Chic downtown Syracuse NY hotel. Those three words just go together, don't they? Here are three more words: The Parkview Hotel. This is contemporary meets art-deco; funky meets comfortable, and the end result is a boutique hotel atmosphere where you feel just fine about kicking off your shoes and relaxing. Once you check in, you're not going to want to leave any time soon. All rooms and suites are equipped with complimentary upgraded WIFI internet access, speaker phones with voicemail, digital cable, flat-screen LCD televisions, and a really comfortable bed! Just completed, new in-room window treatments, ergonomic chairs and bedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Syracuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.