We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hafner's Restaurant & Tavern

Hafner's Restaurant & Tavern
5224 W Taft Rd, Syracuse, NY 13212-2735
(315) 458-5108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 608 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hafners has a nice atmosphere, but the real prize here is the food. Everything is good,fresh,well made and far above average at reasonable prices.I always make it a point to eat here whenever I am the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Looking for a good meal or a great time, hit Hafner's Tavern!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The four of us stopped here while visiting a family member at a local rehab facility. This place was so well located and visible, and it appeared well liked before we joined in. With a nice atmosphere we were seated next to the fireplace, very warm ambiance. Having a vegetarian among us, we were hoping for a varied menu, and this worked out well, as several options existed. We enjoyed each having a different sandwich or burger, and we received pleasant service and witnessed it provided to other patrons as well. Getting in after a busy rush was over, the place did have a bit of used appearance, but we understood it had been stressful, and we we not disappointed with the food either. Hope to have a chance to stop by again in the near future, as other options sparked interest but we lacked room to try them all. Give these folks a try, and enjoy a good time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like a big hug”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Walking in to Hafner's resturant, is like walking in your own front door and getting big hug,You are greeted as thought you are an old friend, and that warm welcome continues through out your entire dining experience.
The wait staff is warm, welcoming and very professional.The menu is huge,and everything is cooked to perfection.The atmosphere is so cozy that you feel like you are at a freind's home for dinner.
The prices are so reasonable that you will want to return again and again.After all, who doesn't welcome a big hug.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent family spot to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a great spot to eat in North Syracuse. Great wings, drinks, and steaks. The staff is friendly and the food quality always high.
Will definitely go again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, Service needs a little work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stopped here last night .The hostess seemed very disorganized and seemed a bit overwhelmed. She sat us in one of the booths right near her station. Not great as people are walking by you and talking loudly constantly. The food we ordered was great, however. The Shrimp Scampi may very well have been the best I have ever had. Unfortunately our waitress missed some critical service steps as we had to ask for utensils and napkins and practically had to beg for drink refills. The entrees came out before we were done with salads, so that was a little annoying.The breads that came with the salads were very stale and tasteless. Overall though, the food was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hafner's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Hafner's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hafner's Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.