We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Large Portions!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's Diner

Stella's Diner
110 Wolf St, Syracuse, NY 13208-1225
(315) 425-0353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 608 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Large Portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

On a recent visit to Stella's I had to wait for a table for 40 minutes. Knowing the quality of the food I was prepared to sit and wait. When seated our waitress came right over and introduced herself and took our drink orders and returned for our meal order. I ordered the waffle with strawberries and whipped cream with a side of bacon (soft). My aunt ordered eggs, homefries and bacon. When the food came her eyes bugged out at the size of the portion. Our waitress was very attentive and came by several times to refill our coffee. Everyone here is very friendly. I must say that the prices are great for the amount of food one receives. I would highly recommend this Diner to anyone traveling to Syracuse. Just be sure you don't mind waiting for a table. But know that if you do - it's definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    64
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old school goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place is crowded and noisy and fantastic. Old school diner specialties, great hash browns, Italian sausage with your breakfast. Great club sandwich, very extensive menu. Open early for those who work hard and wake up hungry. Definite must try in the Syracuse area,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Diner For A Canadian To Eat At”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great food that reminded me of a home cooked meal after being out in the snow for hours. Server was great. Ambiance was exactly what you'd expect of a diner. Had the turkey dinner which was good, but my colleagues chicken on biscuits was amazing. Going to stop by for lunch on the way back in a few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a diner should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a great diner in the tradition of what a good diner should be. Nothing fancy and just good food - breakfast and lunch items. Stella's is serious about coffee and it seemed like every waitress had a pot of coffee to top off your mug almost constantly, not just the waitress for your table. It is a team effort and service is quick and efficient. It is a popular place and you can expect a wait for peak periods. Good food, people and prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem with a great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a very busy place - apparently not so hidden. We sat at the counter as the wait for a table was too long. Service was good - only complaint with the counter seat is the load girl calling the waitresses when their food was ready - but at least the food was getting delivered fast and hot. The place is very clean. The food was delicious. I am not a big breakfast fan but the home fries and omelet were absolutely delicious. We did not feel rushed even though they were very busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Diner also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Stella's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.