We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel takeout” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Pizza House

Acropolis Pizza House
167 Marshall St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1716
315-472-4876
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 546 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hotel takeout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We ordered takeout from Acropolis the last time we stayed in Syracuse. I thought the pizza was okay and wasn't a fan of the wings. Pretty affordable but I think there are tastier options in the area. The Marshall Street location is really convenient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greasy food, slow service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Recently placed a delivery order, was estimated food would arrive in one hour. Two hours later, it finally came and was cold. I feel bad for the delivery driver; his excuse was that he was the only driver working on a Saturday night.

Even when I visit the restaurant during the day and it is dead inside, the service is abysmally slow. The food is sub-par, overly greasy and not very flavorful. Will not be ordering from them again; the only draw is the convenient location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I don't know why...but I still go here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Acropolis Pizza on the hill at SU has been in this location severing the same great hot subs for as long as I remember. In fact I remember the guy behind the counter when he was Zorba's assistant. Zorba's was "THE" sub and Pizza place (along with The Varsity) back in the 80's when I went to school here. In fact the great subs I have been eating here for the past 25 years are the same sub recipie that they use to serve at Zorba's.
It just seams this place is getting old, the service is slow, the decor is boring but the subs are still great. With all new places to eat on Marshall Street I'm just not sure that Acropolis is still worth the stop?

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pizza alright, wings are TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

For somewhere claiming to be a "pizza house" their pizza is alright (we didn't order it last night but I've had it in the past), however some friends and I ordered wings from there last night (because they were pretty much the only place open after 8pm on a Sunday for wings) and we were all disappointed. Our ordered was screwed up. We got charged extra for splitting an order of 36 wings even though they didn't give us 3 flavors we wanted (only two). They weren't crispy. They had this weird like batter on them, the sauce was terrible, they weren't even that saucy anyways, the breaded ones were gross. Just overall disgusted in them. We also ordered cheese fries to split and they put the cheese on the side which I thought was weird, but those weren't terrible if you don't mind your cheese fries with processed cheese sauce instead of fresh cheese. I've had better chicken wings from a corner store. These looked at tasted like they were microwaved or something. NEVER again will I order wings there. Totally didn't satisfy our craving for wings. When we ordered we were told 15-20 minutes. And had to wait when we got there too. That was annoying, they didn't look busy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Exuma
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Canned mushrooms on pizza?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A late night meal and there isn't much in the area so we stopped here to pick up a pizza to take back to the hotel. It seemed prefab and had canned mushrooms instead of fresh ones - never had that before and it was yucky.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acropolis Pizza House also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Acropolis Pizza House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Pizza House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.