We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food, Exceptional service, Exceptional experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant

Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant
301 W Fayette St, Syracuse, NY 13202-1201
315-424-1974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 608 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, Exceptional service, Exceptional experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Was in Syracuse to visit my cousin and made a point to visit this little gem. We of course ordered the Reuben fritters were probably one of the best things i've ever eaten. They were simply amazing! Loved that they also had Magner's Irish Hard Cider as you can't normally find that. Our waiter was wonderful and Schmoozed us all into giving him a good tip but he deserved it! Didn't realize the owners were from KilKenney which made it even cooler. When I asked my waiter what a certain word in Gaelic meant he had the owners write it on my "To-Go" box. Exceptional food, exceptional service, and an exceptional experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    88
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Irish Experience at its Best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was in Syracuse for and appointment. Decided to eat in downtown area called Armory Square. Very nice area for shopping and eating. Can't wait to go back again. Because of my Irish ancestry I looked for a Irish Restaurant and it was very easy. I found Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant and I am glad I did. The experience was excellent. The menu was loaded with plenty of traditional Irish Pub & Restaurant offerings. The decor was very interesting and pleasant to look at. I had a specialty called Irish Meatloaf. It was featured in Diners, Drive-in's, and Dives on the Food Network show. My had a salad made to order just for her. Wish I could be there for Saint Patrick's Day.
http://www.kittyhoynes.com/
I would recommend it to anyone for the experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
se ct
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This was fun with daughter & college friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I opted to hit Kitty Hoynes - I have to be honest - after I caught Triple D and saw the "Irish Cannonballs," aka Reuben Fritters. They sounded like something well worth trying, and any menu with these had to be at least a little fun and interesting. Well, it was partly true.

The place is cute and the scotch and whiskey lists more than adequate. Everyone enjoyed their dinners, for the most part. The food was fine. Nothing outstanding, except, of course, the cannonballs. My husband's fish and chips were "fine" ... That was sort of the prevailing statement. My lamb stew was okay. The lamb was VERY well cooked as far as the basic prep, but the salt level in the dish was borderline offensive. It actually seriously detracted from what would otherwise have been a wonderful dish.

I'm not sure if the crab dip went mostly uneaten because we were eating the cannonballs, or because the chips were too bland or again, the dip was a little too salty. It was just okay.

If you're going for a bar dinner, this is good but not great. Service was good, scotch sour needs more kick. That said, you want to chill with a beer and great appetizer, stop in for the Reuben Fritters - you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been here in years but was in town on business so it was a must stop. Great atmosphere and friendly service. They were rubbing a monthly price fix menu with a choice of appetizers, entree and dessert. I ordered the broccoli and cheddar soup, Irish steak and cheesecake dessert. All were very good although the potatoes came out Luke warm. A few pints of Guinness topped off the meal. Only wished my favorite Irish band, Old Friends were playing that night. If you love Ireland than this is a pub you must visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Warm Pub Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stopped in to Kitty's while we were on our way home and enjoyed it thoroughly! They have a great variety of Irish whiskeys, and lots of hearty beers on tap. Smithwicks & Harp were our choices. The bartender, Shane, was knowledgeable and so friendly we had a great time. Lovely wood throughout, and many smiles from the staff. Rugby was on the television and we all enjoyed the game!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.