We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Irish Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub

Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub
100 S Lowell Ave, Syracuse, NY 13204
(315) 476-1933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 609 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: American, Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Enjoyed eating in this unique restaurant. When you go, look for the special door for leprechauns. Good selection of Irish beers. Enjoyed the food and the atomsphere. Will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Almost 100% Blarney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

As a resident of Tipp Hill, I sometimes have a tough time separating fact from fiction, truth from blarney.

That being said, blarney is one of the things that makes Coleman's "Irish". I have not ONCE seen a leprechaun enter the establishment, even though Coleman's has a leprechaun taxi stand, a little leprechaun door, and a leprechaun phone booth. So, are there really leprechauns that go there? The whole leprechaun bit might be blarney. And this is not the only thing about Coleman's which might be blarney, but I will not spoil the secret.

The food is decent. I usually get a great bowl of chili at a good price. When I'm really hungry, I'll get the Beef O'Flaherty. Even though I try to save half to take home, it's so tasty I'll keep eating it until my stomach says "ouch."

The free popcorn is a nice touch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More than an Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great food, great staff. Try to be seated in main eating area, the porch seating is a bit chilly in the winter and hot in the summer. Reasonable in prices and the Sunday buffet is great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“The Irish Pub Cathedral of Sausage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The decor in this place is outstanding. It has the look of a grand Victorian combined with a lot of wood and glass. There is a stately, classic bar that greets you upon arrival in addition to several dining rooms that are visible but separate from each other. If you needed a picture to describe an Irish Pub Cathedral this would be the place. I was seated just off the bar at a two person window seat with a drop lamp / light bulb literally two feet from my face ... I felt like the roast beef at a carving station! Lol! I started with a pint of a local Middle Ages brew and place my food order, the soup, bangers and mash, and meatloaf.

The traditional Irish potato soup in a crock ($4.50) was thick and served piping hot. It contained various sizes of cubed potatoes that gave it an authentic feel to it. It was very good on its own but I did add some black pepper to it. If it has some small pieces of onion, celery or bacon in it I would have given it an excellent.

The Bangers & Mash ($10) was listed as homemade Irish style sausages served with mashed potato and rich onion gravy came with three 4 inch pork sausages. I asked the waitress what they were made with and she said pork, fresh made today. They had a crisp casing and appeared to be oven roasted. The texture was fine and there was not presence of fat or oozing grease … very tasty. The mashed potatoes had lumps which led me to believe they were fresh made however they did taste more like instant potatoes. I found if the at them with a piece of the sausage it tasted better. The brown onion gravy was tasty and not too salty.

The Mile High Meatloaf ($8) was listed as homemade meatloaf served on toasted sourdough topped with brown gravy and fried onion straw, served with homemade mashed potatoes. The slice of meatloaf was about 6”x3”x1” and came piping hot. The thin onion rings were piled high and looked good but tasted greasy. I only ate about half and didn't eat mashed potatoes. The meatloaf itself was very salty and did not “meat” my expectations.

My ratings in order of preference were the sausage (excellent), soup (very good), onion gravy (very good), meatloaf (average), mashed potatoes (average) and fried onion straw (below average).

Total bill with two beers, tax and an 18% tip was $39, which is a very good price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tipp Hill's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Coleman's is an authentic irish pub located in the heart of the Tipperary Hill district. A must stop for anyone looking to have a traditional Irish meal and a delicious drink. Good prices, great food, and wonderful staff. Gets a little rowdy on weekend nights.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.