We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, Just plain awful...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Danzer's Restaurant

Danzer's Restaurant
153 Ainsley Dr, Syracuse, NY 13210
(315) 422-0089
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 546 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful, Just plain awful...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a HUGE disappointment this place was. We brought our daughter back to school at SU and this was close and had German food, but, this place was absolutely terrible.The waitress was a bit on edge and not very attentive as well I spoke with a woman who said she was the manager, but didn't seem to care. Just a dirty, greasy table feel about this place. The food was disgusting as well. How does anyone not care what they serve? They need to go to Germany and revisit what German cooking is all about. Huge letdown.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good German food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Whenever we return to the Syracuse area, we try to "work in" a visit to Danzer's because we've always enjoyed the German food served there. We were a bit hesitant this trip because our family and friends who had been there recently told of poor service and food quality. On the evening we were there, our server was prompt and pleasant and our Sauerbraten sandwich was huge, tasty and lived up to our expectations....which are pretty high because I can cook up an old family recipe for sauerbraten and do a pretty fair job of it!!!! We were there on a Friday night during regular dinner hours and saw many empty tables and had no wait at all! The food was very good, as was the service and we'd be happy to recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty Bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just a short trip down the road from my house made it very convenient to eat at Danzer's. For 20+ years we've totally enjoyed their menu items on a regular basis until one evening about a year ago I found the bathroom dirty with sticky floors and toilets that would not flush as well as lacking in hand soap. Enters the barmaid who uses the facility, accepts our request for bringing us some hand soap and then she leaves without even washing her hands. Haven't been back since. I've been craving a Reuben so maybe I'll give it another chance - just maybe.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Reubens!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This review is for their Reuben sandwiches only!! That's all I will order from this once awesome spot. If you're not getting a Reuben don't bother going.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The BEST German food around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you love German food, you will absolutely LOVE this fantasy trip to Germany before the wars! The place knows how to serve up good food and remarkable quantities of it! I first discovered Danzer's at it's north side first location, now it's south of Syracuse University, not the easiest of places to get to, but no doubt about it -- well worth the effort. Sauerbratten? Sandwiches?? OH! The Reuben???? Taste heaven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danzer's Restaurant also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Danzer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danzer's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.