We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catfish is the Big Fish in the BBQ Pond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
246 W Willow St, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-476-4937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 607 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New Jersey
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Catfish is the Big Fish in the BBQ Pond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have only been here once before a couple years ago and remember it as being hard to get a seat and having better than average grub. Although the place was full we only had about a five minute wait which was not bad. I started with a beer and got our appetizer order in quick. They offer Jumbo BBQ Chicken Wings (spice-rubbed, pit-smoked, then finished on the grill) served with bleu cheese dressing, celery sticks and a choice of sauce. We went with the combo of BBQ and Jerk wings ($14). There were 13 wings of mixed size. They had a nice but not overpowering smoke taste and were juicy. We also ordered Catfish Strips (Mississippi farm raised, cornmeal dusted, southern fried, with their spicy tartar sauce). The catfish strips were very good and left us wanting more! Our main course was the Pork & Brisket plate which included pulled Bar-B-Que pork and four slices of Texas beef brisket ($18). For our two sides we went with cole slaw and collards. The brisket slices were tender as was the pulled pork but not close to the best I have had. Of the two Dino sauces at table side I liked the hotter (peppery) one. The collards, made with turkey necks, was minced rather than traditionally cut. I didn’t like the texture and the taste was OK yet not over salted like most places. The cole slaw was too tart and made my eye go down every time I took a fork full! Lol! It also came with a small piece of cornbread which was very oily.

A comment that came from my wife was that the help didn’t look too happy here. I guess it may have been a long day. The place does do a lot of business and it is somewhat of a fast paced place. Total tab with tax and 18% tip was $52.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    326
    98
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
577 reviews 577 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“some of the best BBQ ever, though getting expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

the famous restaurant that began in Syracuse, here you will have some of the best BBQ that is as good as it gets anywhere in Texas even with a wide array of delicious sauces. It's been over 10 years since I last ate here and have to say that the portions have decreased in size as the prices have gone up, which was my only disappointment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our first visit to the Dinosaur BBQ. The best part of this restaurant is the atmosphere, not the food. Definitely a 'fun' place, but the food was average at best. Portion sizes were smaller than expected and way too much smothering of the bbq sauce on the food -couldn't differentiate between the different types of meat. Also, we were seated in a back corner under an air vent, where all we could smell was the overpowering odour of ash from the bbq. The service was very good though.
For us, this restaurant was not worth the hype.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Worth the wait for BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a Sunday night. We arrived at 6:30 pm. We were not seated until 7:50 pm. That being said, it was some of the best bbq I have ever had. The bbq brisket was tender and delicious. The ribs were so tasty! We liked the mac n'cheese. The baked beans were good. The carrot raisin salad was too vinegary. Overall it was worth the wait!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Waited four years, worth the wait!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have wanted to go to this restaurant since hearing about it four years ago. Well I finally got there and although there is always a long wait, the staff is very accommodating and actually seated our party of 30. We had to be separated but we all ate and the food is amazing, well worth the wait. Wish the town of Syracuse would allow them to expand to the surrounding vacant buildings!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinosaur Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.