We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who'd have thought I'd like ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
246 W Willow St, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-476-4937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 609 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Who'd have thought I'd like ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a recommendation by the barman at our hotel. We were warned that it was very popular even mid week in winter but was a must if you liked ribs, as my husband did.

It was packed. We were told we'd have a table in an hour and a half and decided we liked the atmosphere so started our wait. We just watched the people around us, talking (shouting more like), eating, drinking, servers jostling between waiting patrons with trays held high above their heads.

We were standing quite close to the bar (people were eating there as well) and after about an hour a couple who were sitting at the bar left. We ditched the table idea and took their seats instead.

We ordered ribs and some sides. It was delicious, and I'm not a big meat-eater. There was a lot of food but we made a pretty good dent in it before giving up.

This is not the place to come to if you want a quiet, romantic dinner in a fine dining establishment. It's loud and busy and a great night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    328
    98
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If in Syracuse this is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

In Syracuse for bussiness and everyone said you gotta try this place. We went on a week night and the place was packed. They get you seat in pretty good time considering the amount of people they had waiting. The service once seated was not great but they do run around like crazy trying to keep up with the flow. Food was excellent, the BBQ beans are the best I have ever had. I will definetly go again if I'm ever back in Syracuse.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best BBQ / The best restaurant in Syracuse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We're working in Syracuse and for the last several months we have been eating out for dinner every night. We've been many places and hands down, Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is the best meal you'll find in Syracuse. Often difficult to get a table but worth the wait. Everything great on the menu. I thought the coleslaw was fantastic and the steak was perfect!

Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A fun place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place was hopping even at 5 p.m. On a Sunday evening in the winter. There must have been 30 people waiting but they seem to have it down to a fine science seating people.
Nothing fancy here, just great food, big portions. We both had the ribs with cole slaw, fries and corn bread, excellent .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Great BBQ at a great place! We wanted to eat some down home BBQ and they did not disappoint. Large portions and tasty sides made for a memorable dinner. They don't take reservations so planning and timing could be a gamble! Not to be missed if you're in Syracuse.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinosaur Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.