We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and obnoxious - but the food is good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
246 W Willow St, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-476-4937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 607 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Syracuse, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loud and obnoxious - but the food is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a joint primarily catering to bikers, and this fact will be shoved down your throat even before you enter. Went with family, had to wait an hour. The staff is obnoxious and they wear it like a badge of pride. We were seated outside on the sidewalk, almost in the road...and were forced to inhale smoke from people smoking right next to us....UGHHHH! Then they started playing what sounded like (incredibly bad) live music over the speaker. The food was quite good (especially the ribs!!), but the bad/rude service, the trashy atmosphere and the long wait make you wonder if it's really worth it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    326
    98
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would you wait 2-hours to eat at Dinosaurs BBQ? YES!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Dinosaur's BBQ in Syracuse NY is a fabulous experience! Well worth the wait - 2-hours (especially true on Friday / Saturday nights). I would recommend going during the weekday to expedite the food to your mouth! This well awarded, noted, and recognized Dinosaur's BBQ has not changed in years and should be it's own food group! Everything was delicious, hot and well priced. Service is equally noted as great for such a busy night. Portions were just right.
It is very noisy on the weekend nights - so quit talking and get on feasting!
I have done BBQ all across the south and if you haven't done Dinosaur's - you haven't done BBQ.
My only complaint: why isn't there a Dinosaur's BBQ in all 50-States?

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good... But...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

Both my wife and I had the brisket plate. It was pretty good, but we've had much better. We were both kind of disappointed as we were looking forward to the meal after hearing about the place on Man vs Food. The atmosphere is good, a little loud but it isn't the type of place you go to have a conversation.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Boy were we glad we visited Dinosaur BBQ for an early dinner as the line up of people waiting for a table was huge for a rainy Wednesday at 5:30pm! Yes the blogs and foodies are correct this is an amazing place for great BBQ ribs, brisket and even a simple roasted chicken was the best! Kick myself for not trying the wings with wango tango sauce. Even the sides were great, usually they are just fillers but trust me, Cole slaw, corn bread that had a perfect balance of sweet to salt not to mention the Mac and cheese. If you order too much don't worry you will not stop eating it is that good, yikes, I better not say too much or the wait time for a meal may even be longer!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must go to experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

After reading all the reviews, we had to go. The food was very good and huge portions,but it was not the best you will ever eat. I have worked in the industry for over 15 years and could see what was coming out of the expo line. The food comes flying out and NOT hot, but lukewarm. To feed that busy restaurant out of a 5 foot window, the food is coming out of chaffing dishes. Waitresses were always moving which was great to see.
Fried green tomatoes- alot of breading. Tres Hombres- Great value and huge.
NO KIDS MENU- Very bad since they order off the adult al a carte. If I can't eat my portion how can a kid?

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinosaur Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.