We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy Hot Tomato Oil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pastabilities

Pastabilities
311 S Franklin St, Syracuse, NY 13202
315-474-1153
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 546 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spicy Hot Tomato Oil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

There is nothing to say here... It's simple and easy to say that the food is just amazing. One of the best places here in Syracuse, NY that I highly recommend visiting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    136
    46
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papillion, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Molto Bene!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Plane ride home to Nebraska was delayed a day due to mechanical problems..... NO PROBLEM! We decided to hang out in the Armory Square and enjoy some outstanding Italian food at Pastabilities. Despite a bit of a wait (which I now understand!) we had a terrific meal in Syracuse. Erik, our fantastic waiter, was most helpful.
Started with their complimentary bread and Hot Tomato Oil (which I was afraid might be too hot, but it was not - provided a nice "kick" not a serious blow to your palate) with a glass of Sangria (delish!). I had the Carbonara, one of my favorites, and this restaurant did not disappoint - the peas were so fresh, sauce was delicious.... was in heaven. Hubby had their Wicky Wicky Chicken Riggies, he really enjoyed it - spicier than the Hot Oil, but right up his alley. Son had his favorite Fettucine Alfredo and his girlfriend enjoyed the Chicken Parmesan. Everyone extremely satisfied..... although no one could finish. Bit of a shame, because I would have enjoyed sampling a bit of dessert, but seriously could not do it.
Recommend highly - this was a great place, thoroughly enjoyed every bite.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner Fell short!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Have been more then few times and defiantly fell short. I'm use to waiting for a table but the food and new menu wasn't good. Service was fast and friendly but the consent kitchen staff moving through the patio where we sat was both disruptive and inconvenient as kitchen staff past by/ around our table. The menu seemed smaller and uninteresting. Also dessert (butterscotch ice cream Sunday) was disappointing and lacked any butterscotch. I mixed in the peanut butter pie in the Sunday to make it more then just vanilla ice cream. I probably won't go back or recommend this friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pastabilities, Manager at Pastabilities, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for communicating with us, and we offer our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had. We did just change our dinner menu on Thursday, August 7 - a change made every two months or so - and it is always helpful when we get feedback on the changes. In between the bimonthly changes, we do make minor adjustments to the dinner menu to make sure we continue to offer the best food possible. We will communicate with your privately to gather more specifics about your experience and use that information to make the necessary changes to our menu. We also offer our apologies for the disruption caused by our staff moving through the courtyard during your dinner. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and thank you for visiting us in the past. We will hope to see you again at Pastabilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The service was a little slow even at 4pm. The food was very good and don't underestimate the chocolate pudding, it's somehow amazing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Pasta, Fun Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you are in Syracuse and are looking for a fun neighborhood and solid Italian food Pastabilities should be on the top of your list. Located in the heart of the hip Armory Square section of the city Pastabilities offers traditional Italian favorites with a twist. They start you with a complimentary plate of their famous Hot Tomato Oil with freshly baked bread and you are hooked after that! The tomato oil is both spicy and sweet at the same time! We were a party of four and all ordered pasta dishes that were plentiful. We did not order a second plate of the Hot Tomato Oil, but the bread refills kept coming and we enjoyed a delicious dinner after a long day of walking the Syracuse University campus, which is less than ten minutes away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastabilities also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Pastabilities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pastabilities, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.