We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same as ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Coffee Shop

Varsity Coffee Shop
802 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1715
(315) 478-1235
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 609 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Same as ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stepping into the Varsity is like stepping into a time machine. The place looks, sounds, and tastes the same as it did 40 years ago. The pizza is good, the wings are good. If we want upscale dining this is NOT the place for you, but if you want an authentic campus eatery I recommend stepping back in time and ordering a pizza

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montvale, NJ
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great wings, pizza, beer and memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the place to be after a night out my 4 years at Syracuse many moons ago. This is not crispy NY pizza but it’s the closest you’ll get in central NY. The wings are the best and the guy with the hat is still taking orders – 30 years later. Yes every college has one of these but not like the Varsity. They have spruced up the décor, a little. It really is the heart of Marshall Street. If you’re visiting the University, I highly recommend a stop in for a slice or a dozen wings. Watched many a NCAA basketball game, football banner flip and met my future wife playing quarters here. Yes, they have salads and sandwiches also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Bumped into Varsity when Funk n Waffles was closed on a labor day weekend Friday? REALLY!? :-(.

Best value meal I've bumped into in a long time. Kids liked the pizza and grill. Salads were fresh and crisp. Wifee loved the wrap. Thanks Varsity for not being closed. :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's - A College Burger and Pizza Joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you ever went to college, you probably ate a lot at places like Varsity Coffee Shop whenever you had money to "eat out". It's a cafeteria-style place with burgers, fries, sandwiches, wings, breakfasts, coffee, tea, beer in bottles - and a sister pizza parlor tucked in a corner.

It's okay food cheap, and the ambience is "College Burger Joint" - vinyl booths, plastic chairs, old wooden tables with decades of graffiti carved into them, lots of pennants and banners for Syracuse University's sports teams. It's oddly comforting, and I go there for breakfast or lunch every couple months because - hey, college students need places like this to hang out, right?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“A Syracuse Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Pizza still tastes yummy here after all these years. It was also a gorgeous day, so it was nice that we could sit outside. And while it's not a common feature in a college pizza place, I was surprised to see baby changing tables in the bathroom. Hey- probably a nice aspect for families visiting or a grad student or professor with a family.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varsity Coffee Shop also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Varsity Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.