We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Their Mind?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PF Chang

PF Chang
Destiny Mall, Syracuse, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 608 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wine Country, north of San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Out of Their Mind?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Okay, I don't know what the problem was with the previous three contributors giving PF Chang's, Destiny, a poor to terrible review, other than a deliberate character assassination. I am a pretty good judge of food from working in the restaurant industry, being a food inspector, a home baker and soup maker and from being raised on good Cantonese food in Chinatown, Oakland and Chinatown, San Francisco. I am afraid the previous reviewers would not recognize good food even if they were in Canton, China.

Speaking for myself and my family, our first visit to PF Chang's in the Destiny Mall was encouraging as I expected only a "food court" quality selection. The restaurants on ground floor of this mall may be of a higher quality if they are as good as PFC's. First off our service was as good as any fine restaurant with adequate attention without being smothered. The prices were more than fair in light of the meal we just had. I ordered the "Dragon Eye Oolong" tea. Very good and they provide cups for everyone and keep it filled. For a party of five we started with two appetizers; the crab filled won tons (decent) and the Korean Spicy wings which was outstanding. We ordered four à la carte items; almond and cashew chicken (our second favorite of the four), and Mongolian Beef (our favorite). The Pork Fried rice was just so so and the Vietnamese Steak and Shrimp Noodle was tasty but was lacking in sufficient beef or shrimp. Pass on this one.

Like most restaurants there are hits and misses. So you just have to glean over the reviews and try the dishes that keep popping up on the "excellent" scale. It takes more than one visit to give a balanced review. I am guilty of reviews on just one visit but they are usually while traveling and I only get one shot.

Try PFC's for yourself and make up your own mind. I just wish we had one in Washington, Oregon or Northern California.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    14
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, USA
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great food and service. We really loved it. Totally would recommend too others. The restaurant had a really great scene too. We liked the lettuce wraps and spicy shrimp the best.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Took my mother to lunch last Saturday , waited thirty minutes, they forgot us on a bench, oh sorry we called you, waited an hour for the meal, food was just awful. Brown rice, mush and the chicken with an orange sauce was as bad.

Would not go back. What was all the hype about???

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food ok- service poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second time here. The first was a lunch-the food took forever to arrive. We tried it again around 5 pm on a Sunday. Again, the food took a long time to arrive. We had the lettuce wraps- tasty. Then we waited. The manager came by and said the main dish wouldcomeshortly. They did, but the empty dishes from the appetizers were not cleared first.

Then, the used dishes were not cleared at the end of the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

* Food Arrived very late
* The starter dishes were not cleared for around 15 minutes after it was over
* The servers were more interested in how to increase the tip (too talkative, seem to have an attitude that she was the owner or proprietor - very disappointing)
* A guest with us received her entree before all of us did and hence had to wait till ours arrived which was 15 minutes later (very embarrassing for us as she continues to wait)
*The Manager noticed all this and came to us and apologized,(very courteous), and promised to take off the entree for our guest from the bill. ( that was almost the saving grace)
* I checked the bill and confirmed they did take it off bill
*But the straw that actually broke the camels back was this morning, 2 days after the messed up experience the credit card that I used reflected the bill which had the entree charged. ( PF Chang's should look into this franchise and pull them up for their lack of genuine hospitality)
No matter how successful you get all it takes is a few bad customer experiences to destroy the equity that is created over years.

*

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PF Chang also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to PF Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PF Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.