We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Shot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Biersch Brewery

Gordon Biersch Brewery
304 Hiawatha Blvd West #J-101, Syracuse, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 608 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: American, Californian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth a Shot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited here with a group of friends for a night out. There were many pros and only two cons I can think of are: The table size was pretty small and uncomforable for a party of 8 and the appetizers are kind of expensive. The pros: the menu is pretty decent and you should be able to find something for your entire party with prices the vary from very affortable to outgragous. The microbrew beers they offer are pretty decet and the prices are awesome for a restuarant, you get a decent size as well. They also offer samples if you aren't sure what you want. Not one person had a complain about their food and there overall experience was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    17
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Square, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food! Great beer! Great service! Best in Syracuse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

How can you top a great meal, great draft beer(there own) and fantastic service( Thank you Karissa!). This is a very welcome addition to the Syracuse community. Keep up the great flavors!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
660 helpful votes 660 helpful votes
“Service was not good at all. Food was just ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Service was not good at all. Food was just ok. We were not waited on until seated 10 minutes. Server did not know enough about eh menu (or cared) to answer questions. This was in the afternoon and not full at all. When we received our food, both dishes were overdone. Server advised she could get us replacements however kitchen was busy and it would be awhile. will not be here again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“1st time eating, the beer is delicious...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have had a few beers here before...very good! We also got a phone call to confirm our reservation the morning of our lunch.We were seated on the mall side terrace, not really in tune with any biersch ambiance, just people watching...
Great service by Kevin. Celebrated my son's 21st birthday... He had the beer sampler 6- 2oz variety offerings. He had the stuffed chicken a full plate and a take home box, I have the steak frittes--- a little sparse on the meat, served over fries... My daughter had the pasta with shrimp, once again a sparse plate, drowning in oil/butter, the meatloaf plate was large required a doggie bag ...my wife enjoyed the pot sticker -shrimp/chicken and the flat bread pizza. Its too bad there are not any beer/ german offerings: spaetzle, brats , schnitzel, etc... Not impressed by the food , but great service and beer over all...free birthday cake slice for the birthday boy was a great touch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate here during a recent day of Shopping at Destiny USA. We wanted to try one of the new eateries and weren't disappointed. We went in about 5:15 on a Saturday, and were seated right away. Given the lowdown on their home brews, I had to try one - their Summerbrau- which was very good. Not too heavy, lighter in colour, and just refreshing. We were seated just near the big brewing tanks, so that was kind of cool. The air is permeated with the smell of garlic (yum!), and my daughter wanted to try their famous garlic fries, so we ordered some as our appetizer, and thoroughly enjoyed every last one of them ( and I'm not a real big fry person, so that is saying something!). She ordered the Brewmasters Chicken, and I had the Turkey and Mushroom Meatloaf. Their beer based gravy was very good, and both plates were excellent, but large portions in my opinion, including garlic mashed and green and yellow Zucchini. Neither of us could finish all of it, and because we weren't going home, couldn't take it with us - too bad! Very enjoyable meal, not badly priced. Would definitely eat here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Biersch Brewery also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Gordon Biersch Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Biersch Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.