We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek to Me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Olive

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Black Olive
316 south clinton st, Syracuse, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 595 restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Info on the downtownsyracuse.com website for this restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Info on the downtownsyracuse.com website for this restaurant
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Greek to Me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Let me start by saying that I don't know much about authentic Greek food. I can say that I've enjoyed several good meals with large groups of friends and never been disappointed. The wait staff has always been great and I am looking forward to checking out their new location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    6
    8
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CAMILLUS
1 review
“delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

exellent place for saturday night dinner they have belly dancers,great delicious food , romantic atmosphere and the best broiled actopus i ever had . people that work are very warm and hospitable. five stars every time i go there !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Meeting With Our Financial Advisors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

When we knew that we would be driving up to the Central New York area and Thousand Islands, Guy got in touch with our financial advisor at Morgan Stanley, and she and her partner took us to lunch and gave us information on stocks and bonds. This is a nice place, which will be moving into much larger quarters in the future. They serve Greek cuisine and cater to the lunch crowd there in the Armory Square area. Three of us had souvlaki, and the fourth a Greek salad. It was delicious, and quiet enough that we could have our discussion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great service, great food. no wait even on a friday night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

walked in, we were seated and waited upon immediately. fantastic dinner specials, great drink service. attention to detail. Thanks

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Greek Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this great reasturant by chance. We were able to get a seat outside on a nice summer evening. Michelle was our server and was effecient and so very pleasant.
We have lived in Greece and enjoyed the food. This food was on a par with our Athens experience
We got talking with the floor manager Scott and the bar manager Danny and heard about their fundraising efforts with their pink tutu project for breast cancer. We will stay in touch.
Great place and good luck with the move to your new location

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Olive also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.