We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeting With Our Financial Advisors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Olive

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Black Olive
250 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
+1 315-399-5599
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 607 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Greek/Mediterranean Restaurant Belly Dancer every Saturday 8pm-10pm Friday and Saturday 10pm-2am we turn into a nightclub
Restaurant details
Description: Greek/Mediterranean Restaurant Belly Dancer every Saturday 8pm-10pm Friday and Saturday 10pm-2am we turn into a nightclub
Rome, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Meeting With Our Financial Advisors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

When we knew that we would be driving up to the Central New York area and Thousand Islands, Guy got in touch with our financial advisor at Morgan Stanley, and she and her partner took us to lunch and gave us information on stocks and bonds. This is a nice place, which will be moving into much larger quarters in the future. They serve Greek cuisine and cater to the lunch crowd there in the Armory Square area. Three of us had souvlaki, and the fourth a Greek salad. It was delicious, and quiet enough that we could have our discussion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great service, great food. no wait even on a friday night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

walked in, we were seated and waited upon immediately. fantastic dinner specials, great drink service. attention to detail. Thanks

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Greek Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this great reasturant by chance. We were able to get a seat outside on a nice summer evening. Michelle was our server and was effecient and so very pleasant.
We have lived in Greece and enjoyed the food. This food was on a par with our Athens experience
We got talking with the floor manager Scott and the bar manager Danny and heard about their fundraising efforts with their pink tutu project for breast cancer. We will stay in touch.
Great place and good luck with the move to your new location

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My food was brought to me cold and undercooked. The place is small so your inches away from the next table. The service was slow and not welcoming. I do not recommend to others!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, music and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have enjoyed good food, spectacular desserts and well chosen wines here. Keep up the good work and much good luck with the expansion/relocation plans. Please consider having a dance floor/belly dancers/traditional live music at the new place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Olive also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.