We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5414 South Bay Road, Town of Salina, Syracuse, NY 13212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
ny
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Ok - I'm going to begin by saying we had a bit of an unpleasant experience which was then rectified very quickly and very efficiently.
We stayed at this hotel for two nights when we went to pick up my son from college.
We got to the hotel on the first night after 11pm and I was extremely tired.
We got a room on the first floor (127) and as soon as we walked in I noticed a smell that to me smelled like smoke. I dont smoke and neither does my husband and i am very sensitive to the smell. Thing is - I was too tired to go and ask to switch rooms so we decided to just unpack and deal with it. We did call the front desk just to let them know there was a smell so they don't say we were smoking in the room. They immediately asked if we want to switch rooms and we said we were too tired.
As i was unpacking I started noticing more things and again - I was too tired to switch rooms. The main thing was that the bedsheets looked clean and the bathroom was clean as well. BUT - there were little particles all over the carpet and the sofa. Like no one had vaccumed. We lifted the sofa cushions bcs my son was going to sleep on the sofa bed the next night and it was all dirty as well.
In the bedroom - there were reciepts and some left over things from the previous guest in the top drawer of the dresser.
So - in general - it seemed like the room had been cleaned but not the way it should have been.
In the morning when I was less tired I decided we had to move rooms bcs I wasnt going to shower in a room where I felt the cleanliness was lacking.
We spoke to the houskeeping manager at the front desk - unfortunately I don't remember his name but he was fantastic. Without even one question he apologized and said of course this should never happen and he personally took us to a room on the third floor which was immaculate, smelled good and was just fine.
The room we took was a queen bed with a sleeper sofa and the queen bed was in its own room so we had privacy (this was true for both rooms we were in). we didnt use the kitchen but its a nice size and there is a table that seats four easily. Bathroom is a nice size as well.
All in all - exactly what you would expect from a candlewood suites. No breakfast of course bcs you have the kitchen.
Good location among all kinds of eateries in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    48
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
61
37
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed May 16th &17th in room 201 with my family and had an other great stay at Candlewood. Stay here every time we are in Syracuse. Hotel staff are all wonderful. Thank you again Nancy and Megan for your wonderful service. Ed you should be proud of your staff you have. See you next time.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Candlewood Suites is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean and have been remodeled recently. The staff is wonderful - courteous, friendly and helpful.
Jay is usually manning the desk when we check in and always greets us as friends. The van drivers are the best - always willing to lend a hand! This is truly a home-away-from-home as it has all the amenities you could want from kitchenettes to a shop with snacks and toiletries. Did I mention the fitness center and the laundry facilities???

You will not be disappointed with your stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

It was very clean.Kitchenette was very nice.By far the best stay for your money.Staff was very professional and pleasant to deal with.Conveniently located to awesome Gino and Joes pizza and many other great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Brent9245,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review! The team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Edward Buczek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

the out and about is very helpful along witht the night time counter ladies. they always help you with a smile and are prompt.

complants: the wi fi is hard to connect to unless you are in the downstairs lobby or in your room bathroom.
-also if you have to do laundry or dry cloths you had better get there early, because there is only two working washers and dryers.
other than that is is a nice cozy place to stay

Room Tip: lower floors have better wi fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Seymour B,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I have shared your comments with the team and will have the wi-fi connection looked into. The washers and dryers have since been fixed. They get a lot of use during this time of year and sometime have to be repaired. The out and about board is a great way for us to communicate to our guests what is happening in and around the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Edward Buczek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very clean!!! Has anything and everything you'd need to be very comfortable however long or short your stay. Also wonderfully central to all the main attractions in Onondaga county, Interstates 81, 90 and 690. The property is well appointed and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Loads of shopping and dining within walking distance. We'll be frequent guests here

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Meggs 12,

Thank you for your great review of our property. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us again.

Edward Buczek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here for a shopping trip. We asked for and received a non smoking room. I smelled like someone had just smoked in there. The room was in poor condition. We ended up with a kitchenette. The counters were stained and chipped. We asked for another room an told none were availible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sunshine 311971,

We apologize that the room you were put into seemed to smell like smoke. We do have a few smoking rooms located on the 4th floor of the hotel. We have started updating the rooms with new bedding and soft seating in all of our rooms and will be moving to the counter tops soon. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Edward Buczek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport

Address: 5414 South Bay Road, Town of Salina, Syracuse, NY 13212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. We are the closest hotel to the airport. This quiet gorgeous hotel is not only neighboring Hancock International Airport (SYR), but also offers easy access to I-81 and I-90, which gives you convenient access to all of Syracuse including Syracuse University, The Carrier Dome, The New York State Fairgrounds, Carousel Center-DestiNY USA, The OnCenter, and much more.Candlewood Suites-Syracuse Airport offers 124 spacious suites with amenities including full kitchens, DVD players, and free high-speed Internet. The Candlewood Suites hotel features a large and well equipped fitness center, free guest laundry, as well as the Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites-Syracuse Airport also gives you a variety of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well as access to our complimentary Airport Shuttle providing transportation to the airport or any of the immediate area restaurants. Pets are welcome with a fee.Current vaccination record must be shown, and pet policy must be signed at check-in. Typically room cleaning once checked in, is provided once every 7 days. Visit with our friendly Guest Service Representatives for information on Syracuse anytime as our Front Desk is open 24 hours day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport Hotel Syracuse
Candlewood Suites North Syracuse
Candlewood North Syracuse
North Syracuse Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.